We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treasure surrounded by water”
Review of Hotel Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mare
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Agropoli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This quaint hotel in Agropoli was called " home" for 2 weeks in May 2013. We were priviledged to receive such great service from Luana and her staff. The ocean view was
spectacular, watching the sunrise and sunset. The rooms were kept very clean. Breakfast
was always served well, staff were always ready to meet our special requests. We loved
the fact that we were very close to all amenities, such as restaurants, grocery stores, the
boardwalk, town piazza and the train station. Valentina and Gennaro were extremely helpful
in providing information to ensure our day trips were safe and enjoyable.
Until we meet again! Mary, Michael and Lucas

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 265 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

It is a small hotel held in a family spirit. Upon arrival, you simply feel like home. The service is friendly and personalized. In addition, owners / employees recognize you each time, which make your stay enjoyable and safe. The food, wine, desserts are excellent. One of the advantages, which makes it all the more personal, is the choice that we have to make for lunch and dinner the next day. My room was beautiful, with access to a fridge, safety deposit box, flat screen TV, walk-in closet, comfortable bed and a bathroom to dream for. I was blessed. With that said, I would like to thank again Lu Ma La, Valentina, Gennaro and Mohammed. You are really great. It is sure that I will return. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MartineN999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

A very nice little hotel in Agropoli. About a 10 minute walk from the train station and a 15 minute walk from the town centre. Close to restaurants, stores, groceries; service was amazing and great food; hotel is clean. Thank you Luana, Valentina, Gennaro, Virgilio, Sergio and Mohamad for making out stay memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A quaint little hotel in the city centre. Five minutes to the train station, close to the piazza and marina. Our room facing the sea was spectacular. The service was impeccable. And the food was amazing. Thank you to Valentina, Virgilio, Sergio and Gennaro for making our holiday a very memorable one. We look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yellowstar4810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We booked through sell off vacations. This was a small hotel, centrally located within a 10 minute walk to the train station,and 15 minutes to the centre of town. The staff at this hotel are wonderful and extremely helpful and friendly. Thank you to Genaro for all the train schedules, to Valentina for letting us know about the free bikes to explore Agropoli and providing us with towels for the beach! To Frank, Mohammed,Sergio and Virgilio and Louanna from the dining room for wonderful service and amazing meals! The rooms are clean, the beds firm, we slept well, the view stunning! Only concerns our room did not have hot water in the early morning, shower at night. The air conditioner dripped. The family friendly atmosphere made this place great!!!!

Room Tip: Absolutely book ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hamiltonnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel June 15 to June 29. Transportation to the hotel took about 6 hours as there was an accident on the highway and delayed our arrival. Once at the hotel it was lovely. Very tropical nice looking pool and the room which was an ocean view which we requested gave us a breathtaking view of Capri and the amalfi coast.
Unfortunately the towels were like sand paper. Very rough and so were the hand towels. I don't know how they could seriously make them that way. They hurt your skin to use them. My husband would wet them to make them a little softer. Although there is a hair dryer in the bathroom it was horribly loud and not strong enough. If u have any length of hair or thick hair and shoulder length or longer best to bring your own.

The meals were delicious. Although pasta for lunch and pasta for dinner every day for two weeks was toooo much plus all the bread. A good recipe to gain a lot of weight not to mention carb overload. If u like fish this is the place for u lots of it. Some meat. If u don't ask u don't get. In the second week we started asking for salads in the evenings with either a meat or fish. If u don't ask for things they don't tell u. There also seems to be confusion over when u have to pay for coffees. We were told on trip advisor coffees are free for breakfast And dinner. Not the case. Even though they make them for u they do not tell u there is a cost until u go to check out. Make sure u don't have any surprises and ask if there is a charge

On our first evening there we had a great time. Dinner was in the garden. There was music and dancing and the staff was fun and very attentive. The next day and after that it all changed. We don't know what happened whether the staff got into trouble or why that evening was not repeated again.

There were also many mornings early evenings and late evenings when there was no hot water to take showers. And had to take cold showers. The beds were extremely hard and the pillows were so thin. The bed was very difficult to sleep on as it was so hard and I woke up aching all over every morning. Toilet paper was hard to come by and u have to ask for it.

All in all we had a great time because of where we were. The dining room wait staff tried and sometimes they were good and other times they seemed very unhappy and felt like they really didn't want to be there.

The pool was never cleaned the entire two weeks we were there and had gotten so dirty we didn't feel like going in it by the end even though it was so hot there. We would just get wet under the out door showers.

Hopefully management can address the issue of no hot water, soften up their towels, give extra rolls of toilet paper, change their mattresses and pillows, clean their pool, add salad to one of their meals, advise clients when a coffee is being charged to their room, or perhaps offer it at breakfast and dinner without charge, keep breakfast consistent as stale croissants from the previous day just doesn't cut it, nor does just cake and cookies and some days u will get eggs and other days u don't or some days there is a cold cut and cheese. Always inconsistent and also try keeping your staff happy so that they treat guests warmly and respectfully on a daily basis as opposed to not knowing what u are going to get from day to day. It seems like the owner has no clue what is happening there. Hopefully someone on his staff reads trip advisor and will advise him of these inconsistencies.

My review is only based on hotel mare. The rest of our trip and the beauty of the amalfi coast was spectacular and we had a wonderful time regardless of these set backs but I would not recommend going to that hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We just came back from 2 weeks at hotel Mare in Agropoli, we were there from June 15-29. The weather was wonderful, sunny and hot with a few days of light rain in the morning then sunshine.

The hotel is small and well maintained and kept clean. The only visible problem was the pool, when we arrived it was clean but over the next two week you could see the build up of dirt having never been cleaned while we were there, it came to a point that l would no longer swim in the pool which was too bad as the weather was great. There was a time that I felt like cleaning it my self just to use it again.

The room was cleaned every day. The rooms are small and the beds hard but I could live with all that if only the towels were not like sand paper. I think you would have to work at making towels so hard, some thing that management needs to work on.

The food was well prepared, thank god for their chief, he work wonders with what he was given to work with. If you like pasta, bread and fish you are in the right place if not complain and they will make substitutes for you but you have to ask. It took us a week before they started serving salad at dinner time.

The wait staff is hot and cold, you can see they are not happy which I again blame the management for, as they do not properly oversee their activities.

This could have been an over the top vacation if the management gave the hotel a little attention. The first night we were there we ate outside music playing and everyone have a great time. For some u/k reason that was the last time it happened, I guess they did not want us having to much fun? I guess they just do not repeat business.

I just want to thank the new friends from Hamilton that we made that made the afternoons and nights fun as the hotel did not help at all.

The hotel needs to get the polish out to make this diamond shine.

Room Tip: great views from rooms 238, 239
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sergiolovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agropoli hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#3 of 14 in Agropoli
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Serenella
Hotel Serenella
#2 of 14 in Agropoli
248 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Il Ceppo
Hotel Il Ceppo
#7 of 14 in Agropoli
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Civetta
La Civetta
#10 of 14 in Agropoli
107 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Insonnia
Hotel Insonnia
#8 of 14 in Agropoli
171 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Colombaia
Hotel La Colombaia
#9 of 14 in Agropoli
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mare

Address: Via Michelangelo, 84043 Agropoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Agropoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Agropoli
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agropoli
Price Range: $89 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Hotel Agropoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing