We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant value and fun for a hen night”
Review of Castle Arch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Arch Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Trim
1 review
“Brilliant value and fun for a hen night”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Great deal with the hotel and causey farm. We had a great day/night. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again. Can't go wrong with the niteclub next door! Great value for money. Waitresses were great and very helpful

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Sinead O C

Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to look after you all and I hope that Heather's Wedding is every bit as enjoyable as the Hen was. We wish her & her future husband all the best in their future lives together.
Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    110
    43
    16
    21
See reviews for
86
157
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely time here from the staff to the food and the hotel its self was lovely. The staff were so nice and friend especially paddy the security. ....cudnt fault this hotel at all . Really enjoyed our stay. Thk u

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cathriona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Cathriona G

Thank you for taking the time to post up a review after your recent stay with us.
I will pass your kind words on to my team
We look forward to seeing you again in the near Future
Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We, the girls of the Convent of Mercy Roscommon had our debs/grad here on the 31st of July. Upon arrival at the hotel our bags were searched and guests were patted down. This was to be expected but the manner in which we were inspected was conducted by staff who were impatient and rude and is was extremely unprofessional. Trivial items such as chewing gum, deodorant and even body tape were even confiscated along with other items. After said inspection we were lead into the night club which was unclean. We were given no choice on the menu for dinner which was again disappointing and as soon as the meal was over we were bossed, shouted at and herded like cattle back into the nightclub out of the function room . Tea and coffee were not served and again staff were unpleasant. Back in the night cub people began to buy drinks. After a half a hour or so the floor was wet and there were glasses strewn across the nightclub. The bar was understaffed and there was no staff walking around the nightclub that were collecting glasses or cleaning up spills. This was not just unsavoury and unprofessional but dangerous as the floor was slippy in many areas. We were not treated as proper guests, perhaps the way wedding guests would have been treated. We did a lot of fundraising for this event as well as paying €50 each for a ticket and had greater expectations for the night. We had paid for a photobooth to be in the nightclub for the night. Said photobooth did not work once for any guest and was 'unavailable' for the entire night. In the nightclub there was a small stage where two exotic dancers were 'performing'. These women were dressed in very revealing clothing and there presence made many people uncomfortable. Their overall act did not go with the strong catholic ethos of our school. I would not recommend this hotel to students planning their debs/grad as we were treated as children for the majority of the night. It's safe to say that we did not get our moneys worth from the night out and all in all it was a disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank MaedhbhNiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleisland, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding recently and althought the rooms are pretty basic, and the views not great from the windows, the staff are excellent and the food was fantastic. Would recommend for a function and/or a stag/hen. Just not for a luxury break

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank nplaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Good Morning nplaw

Thank you for taking the time to post up a review about your recent stay. We are delighted you had a pleasant stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to The Castle Arch Hotel in the near future
Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I recently attended a wedding here as both a guest and a makeup artist to the bride so I got the chance to view the bridal suite with its lovely four poster bed. There were some lovely touches around the room and the bride was provided with the suite to get ready in which was a nice touch. There was however the bottle bank right outside the window of their bedroom and the continuous smashing of glass would not be conducive to a post wedding night!

The wedding was brilliant, the staff were so lovely and went all out to make Niamh's day special. All of the little touches she wanted were laid out, the civil ceremony also took place in the hotel which saved on travelling from a church and the ceremony room was beautiful.

The food at the reception was incredible, I really couldn't fault it, it was absolutely delicious top marks to all the chefs and the fabulous waiting staff on the day they were extremely professional and friendly. I really am surprised with how lovely a reception and the day in general was having been to other weddings it really can't compare. Castle Arch is definitely a fantastic wedding venue with staff that go that extra mile.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hello Katie

Thank you for your lovely review about the Castle Arch Hotel. We were delighted to be part of Niamh & Stephen's special day. We pride our selves on making every Bride & Grooms day a special day. I will pass your comments on to all the staff.
Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haverfordwest
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were in Trim for just one night and on one of their busiest weekends as there was a town festival. The rooms were lovely and very good value the hotel had a lovely ambiance. It was very busy with lots of local families eating in the restaurant I loved their "can do" attitude as they opened the ballroom up for diners. The staff were wonderful and so helpful even though they were working under huge pressure. We had a super meal. I want to go back when it is quieter and will gladly bring people there in future

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archaeo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hello archaeo13

Thank you for taking the time to post a review up about your recent stay with us in the Castle Arch Hotel. We would be delighted to welcome you back to us again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Meath, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We just got married in the castle arch and it was the best experience of our lives... Staff are amazing and couldn't do enough for us... My wife didn't have to lift a finger as Teresa made the place spectacular... Shirley,Ruth and all the staff we can't thank u's enough... Food was amazing too... Everybody had a wonderful day and it was all down to the hotel... We highly recommend the resident DJ he was excellent and made the night... Thanx so much to all...

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shylos7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hello Shylos7

Congratulations again to you both again on your recent wedding with us. We were delighted to part of your special day. Thank you for your lovely comments which i will pass on to Theresa & the team.We wish you both a lifetime of happiness together and look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future
Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
1.3 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
8.4 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
352 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
854 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Arch Hotel

Property: Castle Arch Hotel
Address: Summerhill Road, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Arch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Arch Hotel is nestled in the heart of the heritage town of Trim and over the years has become Trim's most established hotel with its genuine charm the elegance of this hotel will captivate you. The Castle Arch Hotel is surrounded by local history and the famous castle of King John is only a short walk away.With 21 bedrooms the Castle Arch is an ideal venue for a break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Castle Arch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing