We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return”
Review of Castle Arch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Arch Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Haverfordwest
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Would return”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Three of us stayed here a few days ago; all our rooms were lovely and reasonably priced too. Unfortunately my window opened onto a large noisy extractor fan but was quickly changed with no fuss and full cooperation when I asked. The second room was quiet and just as clean and comfortable as the first. Staff remained pleasant, friendly, professional and calm even though they were under huge pressure that night, owing to it being father's day and also to a big event in town. We liked the atmosphere as this is very much a place used a lot by local families. There was plenty of parking. I would definitely return due to the attitude of staff and service received when I asked to change rooms.

Room Tip: Check for any potential noise nuisance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hi Shirley

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Castle Arch. We pride ourselves in our Customer Service, looking after our guests whether they are local or visitors. We shall look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle Arch in the near future
Kindest Regards
Shirley Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    110
    40
    16
    21
See reviews for
85
154
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clare
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a deals voucher for a 2 night stay with my husband and 5 month old baby. (first break away as a family, very disappointing)When we first checked in, our room was very basic and old, carpets had stains, etc. Got an option of another room which was no better finally we upgraded to the suite by paying a good bit extra which was a larger room with a Jacuzzi bath. Room was not that clean, found it quite dusty (have asmatha and allergies which it agitated). Found rubbish in press where tea/ coffee facilities were stored. Room overlooked a yard which was at the back of the bar and where rubbish and glass bins were stored. Not a pretty view. Found the bed as hard as a rock, back was very sore after two nights on it.
Had dinner one night which was included, wasn't to our taste. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Had no problems getting fresh water to make baby bottles.
Hotel is old, dated and dusty. Needs a total revamp. We were very disappointed with our break here and definitely would not return.
We went to their sister hotel knightsbrook hotel to avail of the swimming pool and that hotel looked fab!
This hotel is more for stag / hen nights I think than a family break.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank catiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Great hotel for celebration lunch for a wedding anniversary. The room was decorated beautifully. Custom menus, a lovely touch. My Auntie & Uncle got a wonderful surprise. Friendly & efficient staff.Wonderful food. We flew back to New Zealand the next day so it was a great way to celebrate & say goodbye.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilskyre999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hello kilskyre999

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your celebrations here in the Castle Arch Hotel. I will certainly pass your lovely comments on to the team. I hope you had a pleasant trip back to New Zealand
Kindest Regards
Shirley Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Staff are fantastic. But alot of the older rooms are terriable. The windows in the older rooms are single glazed aluminium 20 year old rubbish. They create mould which can be wiped away with a warm damp cloth with mould remover spray such as HG . Food was good but continental breakfast part was very poor . No fresh fruit not croissants no nuts and seeds .... cooked food excellent. Value for money is shurly there . But I wouldn't stay in one of the tired bedrooms again .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Visited Trim for the first time recently and stayed in the Castle Arch Hotel. was a very central location and the staff literally couldnt of been more helpful! the food was amazing and the drink was cheap (always great for a Hen Party). the hotel itself is a little bit old fashioned, but the rooms were big and airy. the location of the nightclub next door was also very handy, and even though in there the music was pumping...you couldnt hear a peep of it from outside. overall a great stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank StephDeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hello StephDeane

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us as part of the Hen Party. We hope that the wedding is a good a day for you as the Hen weekend was. We look forward to welcoming you back to t he Castle Arch Hotel in the near future
Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Spent one night early may, Hotel rang me mid week to confirm that i would be there on the sunday . Had a problem with the room and was quickly changed to another and a much better than we previously had.
Evening meal was great and a big hearty breakfast, great value for 79 euro for two, only problem was the noisy loud mouthed republic of ireland coaches male and female, we left the bar and went down town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hello Dublin Eagle

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay in the Castle Arch Hotel. Its always a pleasure to read such lovely comments about the staff here- I'm very proud of them all, they do tend to go out of their way to make each guest enjoys their stay with us .We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future
Kindest Regards
Shirley Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublín, Irlanda
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel! Excelent service from the staff! The only think i would like is the breakfast time a little but later! Couse we went to have a break! Wake up late! But was a good place! Staff very friendly and nice, recomendable 100% we love this place!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nashelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Hi Nashelly A

Thank you for taking the time to post a review up.
We pride ourselves on our excellent standards & consistent service so i was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
1.3 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
8.4 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
844 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
350 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Arch Hotel

Property: Castle Arch Hotel
Address: Summerhill Road, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Arch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Arch Hotel is nestled in the heart of the heritage town of Trim and over the years has become Trim's most established hotel with its genuine charm the elegance of this hotel will captivate you. The Castle Arch Hotel is surrounded by local history and the famous castle of King John is only a short walk away.With 21 bedrooms the Castle Arch is an ideal venue for a break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Castle Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Castle Arch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing