We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spa, Great rooms and great food but This hotel is let down badly by a small number of it's staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent spa, Great rooms and great food but This hotel is let down badly by a small number of it's staff.”
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Asked for a rooM away from function area on check in and was given a room directly above the bar which played music until after 4 am. Very disappointing. Would thoroughly recommend the spa and the food was great, if a bit expensive. Bar manager was downright rude and no wifi is disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcurran, General Manager at Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Dear Omb1,
Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy every element of your stay. More care should have been taken to ensure your requests were followed and your room was not situated over the bar area. Please note that we do have complimentary wifi in the lobby area and broadband is available in all our hotel rooms.Regards, Patrick Curran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    399
    184
    67
    51
See reviews for
465
641
19
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

I had bought a citydeal which included a night stay and massage for both of us. When i called up to book the night back in Feb i was told the hotel was full but something seemed a bit off as you could book a room online alright, so i had a friend call up and he managed to book a room ok. Then in March i called up to book the room and they said they wouldnt be able to honour the massage and we would have to just use it for the nights stay. When asked if they could offer an alternative, we were blanky told take it or leave it. Very disappointing from a so called 4 star hotel. Before we went to stay i wrote a letter to the manager expressing my disappointment and asked for him to contact me. I got no response and nothing was mentioned when we arrived and no one approached us to discuss which i would have expected at least. Ive written him another letter and I see he is very active on here commenting on posts so hopefully i will get a positive response.

It does seem from recent posts that the standard is slipping somewhat. The whole experience was a bit bland and the energy/enthusiasm of the staff seemed non existant.

We had been considering this venue for our wedding but while in trim we discovered another more welcoming hotel that we are now considering for the day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanmaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcurran, General Manager at Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Dear Lanmaner,
Thank you for your review. If you would like to contact me directly at the hotel, I would be happy to discuss this personally with you.
Regards, Patrick Curran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Having read such good reviews on this site I was expecting a lot more from this hotel. It is based in a housing estate and our room overlooked a car park. The hotel has a very impressive lobby/reception area but overall it definately does not live up to a 4 star standard in my opinion. The food was average, the service was slow and I felt the Thermal Spa Experience lacked a lot of lustre compared to a number of Spas that I have visited in Ireland and abroad. We were also shocked that there was no running water in our bathroom on the morning of our departure. I will not be rushing back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcurran, General Manager at Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear sasbailey,
I am sorry that your were disappointed with your stay at Knightsbrook Hotel and that the experience did not live up to your expectations. We strive to provide excellent customer care and service and on this occassion we obviously had some shortfalls in some areas. We will certainly be reviewing the areas you have mentioned and I hope that you would return to Knightsbrook in the future to see the improvements and give us the chance to exceed your expectations.
Regards, Patrick Curran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

What a disappointment . . .We came here for a relaxing stay however it didnt work out that way. The reception staff made us feel like we were an inconvenience (just another guest to be assigned a room), the noise coming up from the function room at night couldnt even be drowned out by the TV and the shower leaked. These are not problems you would expect in a 2 star let alone this 4star hotel.
These problems could be partially overlooked if the hotel had other top class elements. However the bedroom was the exact same as all others in modern hotels in Ireland and the breakfast was just ok. I didnt try the hotel for dinner since its reviews on this website were so poor. Also its location was a drive to the town. . a little inconvenient.
The hotel was very busy during my stay, however a hotel this big should be able to cater for large numbers of guests and not let standards drop in the process.
Would not recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishGirl-late20s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcurran, General Manager at Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear IrishGirl-late20s
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. If we had been made aware of the noise and shower issues during your stay we could have organised for you to be moved to a different room and perhaps you may have had a more enjoyable visit.
Kind regards, Patrick Curran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2011

very disappoointed, course was very damp - no drainiage at all it appears
food not of a good standard and teh restaurant is not open Mon-Wed which were not told about

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eoreil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcurran, General Manager at Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Dear Eoreil
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay
Regards, Knightsbrook Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

If you are looking for a place to stay for a romantic weekend near Dublin this is it with both a golf course and spa both will be happy! Lovely rooms and loved the robes a lovely touch.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theseasidegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcurran, General Manager at Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2011
Dear Theseasidegirl,
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Knightsbrook Hotel in the near future.
Regards, Knightsbrook Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Hassle free check-in. Rooms spacious with complimentry bottled water, tea and coffee facilities, toiletries, robes and slippers.
Staff all very friendly and pleasant.
Located in the historic village of Trim, plenty to do and see.
The hotel itself has everything one could need for a break. The Spa facilities are first class and the Golf Course is championship standard.
We dined in the Rococo Restaurant, varied menu and delicious food. Also good value at 40Euro a head for 3 courses.
Relaxed atmosphere in both the Terrace and Swifts Bar with food available in both.
All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcurran, General Manager at Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Dear LynnNorthernIreland,
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review on Knightsbrook Hotel. Delighted you availed of all the facilities we have to offer. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards, Patrick Curran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
1.1 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
1.3 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
402 reviews
14.5 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
7.9 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
641 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Dublin Road, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the historic Boyne Valley, Knightsbrook Hotel Spa and Golf Resort welcomes you to sample our beautiful 4 star luxury accommodation. The Knightsbrook is one of Ireland's most prestigious and exciting life style developments, promising a combination of luxury and modern sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knightsbrook Hotel And Golf Resort
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Trim
Knightsbrook Hotel Trim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing