We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant. Dirty Bedroom”
Review of Trim Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trim Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We were staying here as part of a wedding group. The wedding was fine, food grand and bride and groom had ensured we were all entertained.

However there were a few problems with the room
The least problem was that you could hear every sound from the wedding to the point that I had tried to make a call in our room in private but music from below could be clearly heard

A MAJOR problem was that when we went to get into bed and pulled back the sheets, it was clear that the bed had not been cleaned at all since previous visitors, except maybe for the top sheet. The sheet (undersheet) we were due to sleep on was very clearly soiled (it looked like urine stains) and there were "bodily" hairs all over it. There were also other "pieces" in the bed. What they were I don't want to guess. ...
Also hairs all over the pillows. I actually felt sick. It was late, we had been up until 3a.m with the wedding and so we had to stay. We rang reception and a member of staff came up. When he saw the state of the bed he went and got a new bottom sheet and pillow cases. And they were replaced.
It was disgusting that we still had to get into that bed after what we had seen and the top sheet which had obviously touched the soiled bottom sheet was left on.

We complained (when we woke up) to a manager. My husband was told that they had "problems with the company doing the laundry". Although the staff apologised and we did get a discount I still feel this was not adequate. The problem goes beyond "laundry" issues as it was clear the bed had not been changed between visitors. Disgusting.

In the bathroom the flusher was loose from the wall as was the light socket in the bedroom.
There was no airconditioning and no window. If we wanted air we would have had to leave a balcony door open. The balcony was accessible to three or four other rooms, so you had to chose between security or a stuffy room.

All in all an unpleasant experience. For a new hotel this was a real let-down.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,149 - 1,155 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2008

Twenty of us have just stayed for a week at the hotel whilst golfing in the area. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and have everything that you would need. Mine had a balcony with views over the 12th century castle that the hotel is named after. The breakfast was excellent and the food available at the bar was very good. I could not find any fault with the hotel and we all enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank merseygolfnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

Got a wonderful night in this fantastic hotel, did not expect to find such a nice place in such a small city (<7000 inhabitants).

First thing you see when you arrive in Trim is the splendid castle, from the 12th century ; very impressive and really breathtaking the first time. Lots of other must-see sites are located close to Trim: Newgrange, Tara...

The hotel is located just in front of the castle, the view from the rooms is unique. And as the castle is surrounded by a huge park you really get an open outlook.
Rooms are huge, clean, and very well fitted. Everything seems to be new. You get a huge king size bed, a round table, a sofa, a desk, big bathroom, lots of nice closets, flat TV, free wifi (ask for voucher at the lobby)....
The hotel is very spacious, in particular the lobby.
There are three restaurants : jules restaurant (high-quality), barista café (smaller but very nice to take only a course), and a bar with open grill. Got a yummy course at the Barista Café on the evening ; same thing for the irish breakfast next morning. Staff is very friendly.
Parking (secured) is complimentary for guests, more than 100 places are available on the back on the hotel.

And finally the price: normally the room is between 130€ to 190€ depending on season (reasonable given the standard offered), but when I made my reservation I got from their website an "internet special" price of 65€ with the breakfast included: unbelievable !
I definitively recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank tarik80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

I stayed here in july of this year and i loved it! all staff were excellent especially Karen on reception,very helpful!! We ate in the Barista restaurant and the food was gorgeous! we had a room facing the castle and the view at night time was excellent!!
All in all we would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Princesjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

We were happy to find the Trim Castle Hotel late one afternoon. The B&B's we checked out were all full. The hotel is right in the middle of town, directly across the street from the old castle.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. They warned us that several weddings were taking place over the weekend. No problem for us. We stayed a total of three nights. The room was large, ,modern, and very nice. The food was very good. There was party atmosphere and it was fun. The terrace overlooking the castle was a great place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine late in the day.

This town was a great base for driving to all the ancient sights in the area: Newgrange, Knowth, Dowth, and the Hill of Tara. Lovely area. Theresa

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

Stayed there for one night for a wedding. Really nice hotel.
Our room was huge and very clean and modern.

Upstairs garden is a nice idea.

One of the better hotels we have stayed in recently.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dalysontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

We were on our way to Cork and decided on passing to stay here.I'm glad I hadn't read some of the reviews before or we probably would'nt have. We asked if there was a room with a view of the castle and were advised that there was a wedding in the function room below and it would be noisey so they gave us one overlooking the car park.The room was very comfortable spacious and modern with a balcony,large comfortable bed ,widescreen tv,tea maker etc. We ate in the restuarant and the service and food were excellent.I thought all the areas in the hotel were very clean and well decorated and I loved the roof gardens,Unfortunately it was raining when we were there but I'm sure it would be nice to sit and enjoy a drink overlooking the castle.We only stayed one night but definately intend to return for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LA.CO.ANTRIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
1.1 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
430 reviews
16 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel & Spa
6.1 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
951 reviews
15.6 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trim Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trim Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Price Range: $110 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trim Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trim Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing