We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four weeks in Ireland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trim Castle Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Trim Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Certificate of Excellence
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Four weeks in Ireland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

A very nice hotel in this small town. Close to the main attraction at Trim Castle and easy to walk around the town. Reception staff were helpful. Bar/Restaurant food was enjoyable but breakfast area and presentation needs attention. Almost no staff in attendance at breakfast and quality of food on offer very average. The Indian restaurant around the corner was excellent for food quality but almost no one in there and atmosphere was missing as a result. Of the ten hotels we reserved during our four weeks this one is in the top group allowing for the cost etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DukeWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Dukewill

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.I apologise that our breakfast service was not of our usual standard and I very much appreciate your comments.

Warm Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    326
    94
    26
    20
See reviews for
236
524
21
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

A must see in Ireland. Location of the filming of the movie Braveheart. The package that we had included breakfast and dinner at the hotel, and the food was absolutely exquisite. The hotel staff was charming and helpful. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamelag2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear tamelag2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Trim Castle Hotel.

Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry City
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed for one night on 21 August 2013
Family of four in a spacious, extremely comfortable family room unfortunately view directly over car park- disappointing.
Surprised we had to pay in the adjoining car park.
Check out took a long time due to only receptionist being on duty at desk.
Trim Castle provides a stunning view from front of the hotel. Hotel foyer very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrytraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Derrytraveller88

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted that you found the Hotel comfortable and we appreciate your feedback.

Warm Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Second time to stay in this hotel little disappointed the restaurant wasn't open had to have meal in bar, restaurant not open during week days. Got up graded to castle view. Trim is a lovely town worth a trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulc4036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear paulc4036

Your comments are much appreciated as is your feedback. I am sorry that you were unable to dine in Jules Restaurant.

Kind Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
563 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I'll start with the way they jockey their rates around in a dishonest way that misleads and overcharges the guest. Make sure you pay attention to the stated maximum rates posted in the room. Also, they have the most insane, convoluted internet access procedure I have ever encountered on four continents. Four different passwords, having to register, and then having difficulties accessing, and then being issued new passwords - wasted a lot of time navigating this simply stupid system. Also, controlling the water temperature in my shower was next to impossible due to the difficulty in turning the knob. We got a discounted rate of €65 due to a wedding we were attending, but they didn't offer that to other guests. The usual hotel items were intact, the cleanliness, room size, front desk (although checkout was a bit clumsy) efficiency and friendliness, location, parking (which was free during our stay but there's normally a charge). I can't see myself staying here in the future.

Room Tip: One facing the castle would be nice. But consider staying at the Crannmor House, where we stayed fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear John D

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I assure you that we do not 'jockey' our rates in a dishonest way. Our rates differ depending on day of the week and time of the year. These rates are shown on our website. The rates displayed in our bedrooms show minimum and maximum charges and the rate you were charged fell well within that scale.
The wifi provider we use (which is widely used throughout Ireland) requires a one off registration and then 4 passwords per 24 hour period.This process is a security measure for the Hotel and the customer.
Thank you for making me aware of the difficulty you experienced with using the shower, which we have checked in all bedrooms and they are working perfectly.

Warm Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I really must start this review off with a huge huge thank you to all the staff in trim castle, Patrick, Claire, debbie, Jill, Mags, Joyce, to name but a few... we had from start to finish the best expert care and consideration from all of you for our big day, no task was too big or small, the food was excellent and piping hot, the presentation was excellent, rooms spotless clean and breakfast too, dining in the bar was also excellent, we really had a fantastic day and I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is planning a wedding this year to go and see it on there wedding fair in sept. I am so happy I picked trim castle for my wedding day, thanks to all of you for making it perfect, everyone was made to feel like the king and queen that day!!!!!! Michelle and Declan xxx

Room Tip: over looking the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Michelle M

We were honoured to host your Wedding Reception at Trim Castle Hotel. Thank you for your kind comments which I will pass on to all the Team.

Wishing you both every happiness for the future.

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a one night stay at the hotel so I could see Trim Castle and the nearby Newgrange. My room literally looked over to the castle which made for a pleasant evening and morning walk. Trim is a nice little town and the Abbey ruins down the river are well worth the walk from the hotel. The room was spacious by European standards. The included breakfast was good.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank BartLasVegas_Nevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear BartLasVegas

I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Trim Castle Hotel and thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Trim in the future.

Warm Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
1.2 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
8.1 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
16.0 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
6.1 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trim Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trim Castle Hotel

Property: Trim Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Trim Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Trim Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing