We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening”
Review of Trim Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trim Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Certificate of Excellence
Enfield, Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great evening”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Trim castle really pulled out all the stops for this event. A Gathering.
The meal was part self service. One served yourself the salad and breads. The hot food was in great big dishes and each had a staff member to attend to it.
There was beef bourguignon with rice and this was fabulous. There was also Salmon and the reports on the that were as good.
A terrific range of salads, everything tasty and very fresh.
The service was friendly and efficient. There was staff moving around the room, clearing dirty plates and keeping the water jugs full. Tea and coffee was served . One of the party was celebrating a birthday. After the candle ceremony the cake was taken away ,cut up and then brought back.
We had a great night, thanks in no small part to the staff and food of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellslow18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Travellslow18

We are delighted that you enjoyed your Gathering celebration here at Trim Castle Hotel. Thank you for your kind comments.

Warm Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    337
    96
    26
    22
See reviews for
250
543
21
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My main complaint about this hotel is the price. You do not get what you pay for. The room I got at check in was an inward facing room, that overlooked a small (tiny) courtyard, along with an adjacent room. The window only opened marginally and I didnt see any aircon. (didnt need it, but I'd not have been happy if I did need it)

Toilet flush was horrendous. I was only there one night so didn't complain. Shower head was a bit unattractive.

the room was nice. comfy. nice bed. bathroom was nice enough. Hotel, as a whole, looks pretty decent. Service was fine, and ran smoothly. Breakfast was good. Basically, I just wouldn't pay that price again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Marcus2000

Thank you for your comments and we appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us.

Kind Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed with three young kids in a family room July 17th.
Clean and tidy room, well presented and roomy.
Good idea to have fresh water supplied every day in the room, ESP given the recent heat wave
Good breakfast, good service. Ate in the bar the first night and food was fine, only thing was my son asked for the kids chicken wings from the menu and could only have salad with it (no chips/potatoes) not sure if any other 6 year olds would be happy with that so I ended up swapping my potatoes and ate his salad, not ideal.
Great central location overlooking the beautiful castle and grounds and the roof garden was lovely in the summer evenings, kids could play and amuse themselves while we had a cold beer looking at the castle. There is a kids park in the town, donkeys to feed, shops and takeaways too. We visited tayto park and rathbeggan lakes, not too long a drive to either place
There was a function on one night with a live band which played till after 12 midnight and a wedding another night which had music again till after 1am we aren't normally early to bed on holiday breaks and kids slept ok but if you are a light sleeper it might be worth checking the other functions happening during your stay.
Given the kids salad and the music issue I would still be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanith2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Tanith2013

Thank you for your feedback and helpful comments.Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Was not disappointed by this hotel. The hotel is very modern and staff were very helpful. We had our dinner in Jules restaurant and it was really good. We stayed in room 117 and it was very spacious and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear stevie1977

Thank you for staying with us. We very much appreciate your kind comments.

Kind Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Not knowing much about the area as it was our first visit, we selected Trim Castle Hotel because it overlooks Trim Castle... figured a view of a castle and the convenience of being across the street from the attraction would be great. We were totally spot on- amazing choice!

But the view and location were merely the icing on the cake. The staff service was superior! They were helpful, friendly, knowledgeable and caring. We had a very early flight out in the morning and the breakfast buffet would be closed. The staff called us and asked if we'd like a bite of breakfast before we left and arranged to have a personal spread for us in the lobby prior to our check-out. As indicated in the title- top notch!

The room was clean and spacious with comfortable beds. The hotel lobby is gorgeous, the gift shop is charming, and the view of the castle at night from the roof-top bar is simply incredible.

Our only regret is we didn't have more time to spend here. Certainly hope to return!

Room Tip: Ask for second floor or higher room facing the castle, if possible. Spectacular view! Be sure to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Barb W

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cavan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Beautiful hotel, nicely furnished and clean. The rooms were really nice and I liked the selection of tea,coffee and hot chocolate. The view was lovely and the rooftop bar is nice to relax in. The bar was very busy at night and with the different waiters coming to table all the time, they didn't know what deal you were on. Steak wasn't cooked right but overall the hotel was really beautiful. Didn't feel the full attention of staff. Breakfast was also amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear rachel h

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for your comments. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is first class! Service is fantastic! Attended a wedding here and the entire team went out of their way to ensure each guest was taken care individually! Our waiter (can't remember his name, I want to say Darren but can't be sure) Tall, dark haired young Irish guy - his attention to detail and customer service was outstanding! The food for the wedding was exceptional for any hotel, let alone a large function for 150+ people!! The view and setting of this hotel is gorgeous, I will certainly be back and singing this hotels praise for a long time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013June14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear 2013June14

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed the Wedding that you recently attended. We appreciate your kind comments which I will pass on to the Team.

Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
1.1 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
391 reviews
16.0 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
844 reviews
15.6 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,424 reviews
8.1 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trim Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trim Castle Hotel

Property: Trim Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trim Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Trim Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing