We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just needs a bit of fine tuning...”
Review of Trim Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trim Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed overnight, Sat 19th jan '13 for a quick break from the city, our late check in was painless and extra friendly(thank you karla), we had an overnight with dinner deal booked at a really good price, The 5 course meal in Jules restaurant was pretty dam good and the service was outstanding. We had a couple of drinks afterwards in the lobby bar and found it comfortable and reasonably priced and again staff were above par, despite being busy with a party and a wedding on the same night, which incidently hardly changed the running of the hotel dispite a warning on check in that things could be a little louder than would be usual at the weekend.
On retiring we found the room to be very well fitted out, however dispite turning down the thermo on the radiator the room remained very warm through out the night and it was nessasary to open our window as wide as possible even though it was well in the minus's outside, a shame to see a hotels overheads wasted on excessive heating given that im sure their margins are narrow enough in these recessionary times. The only other critisism we had to what was a very enjoyable stay was that we chose to rise early for breakfast and dispite being one of the first guests in the well appointed breakfast room, we were left sitting for almost 15mins before I was forced to rise from my table and ask one of the waiting staff if we could have some toast and coffee to our table, everything else with exception of these items were available in selfservice form and in ample and varied supply, unfortunatly the young man forgot our order and it was nessary to ask again, a bit annoying but we put it down to youthful inexperience and did not let it spoil what overall was a very enjoyable stay. Well done and Thank you Trim Castle Hotel. Will we be back again? A sound possibility, I'd say,

Room Tip: Its quiter at rear of hotel, but rooms have excellant views of trim castle lit up at night from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okitoastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear okitoastie

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us...... we really appreciate your comments. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Noel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

855 - 861 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

Checked in the 18-01-13 for 1 night ,At the check in desk the staff were very polite ane curtious a very good first impression in the restruant that the night the staff were very polite and efficent and allways had a smile when serving you. the food was excellent and great value for the price we paid. I would total recommend The Trim castle hotel and I will be returning again. to the management of the Trim Castle hotel your staff are your main selling point cherish them as they are your vital assset and are very well trained at their jobs

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dermo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear dermo59

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and I appreciate your kind comments regarding the staff here.

Many Thanks

Noel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I got the romantic pack with dinner and breakfast. I looked at pictures and it looked really romantic but it was not romantic at all. It was myself and my girlfriend and we got all dressed up to go for a meal and then when we got down for dinner we were way to over dressed and it was like eating in a pub that served food. We booked to go for a swim and went down to the hotel early so we could go before dinner, when we went to go we were given a time table were there was only a couple of hours a day that you could go and then there were set times so we ended up we could not go. The best thing I can say about the hotel is the staff were grate, anything we asked for at anytime they were more then happy to help.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Robert G

Thank you for staying with us and i appreciate your kind comments regarding the service in the Hotel.We will certainly review our Romantic Package and where it can be improved upon.

Warm Regards

Noel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had our wedding here in June 2012. Although every couple has concerns about how the reception goes down for family and guests, we need not have worried. The hotel came highly reccomended from some of our friends but the management and staff still far exceeded our expectations and people still talk to us about the fantastic service, food and presentation that this hotel provided on our wedding day. From the reception lounge overlooking the castle, the layout of reception room, music and timing of bridal party introduction to the presentaion of food, everything was amazing. We also had a wine inclusive package and it was refreshing to see that at a time when hotels are cutting back that Trim Castle really let it flow. Even a little too much for some of our guests - in some cases, made for good entertainment! The restuarant and hotel bar are also top notch for food and drinks. When we needed help before and during wedding, Noel, Jillian, Patrick and Cassandra were always understanding and willing to help. Compliments to you all. Thank you very much. Tina and Brendan.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear TinaBren

I hope married life is treating you both well. We appreciate you taking the time to review your special day at Trim Castle Hotel.I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards

Noel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We attended our daughters wedding earlier in the month. The hotel is situated adjacent to the ruins of Trim Castle, hence the name. The setting for a wedding is second to none. Great Photo opps etc. The hotel is well laid out, modern & clean. The bedrooms very comfortable as were the beds. The atmosphere throughout the hotel was warm & relaxing. Of course this was due to the fantastic staff who were at all times courteous & attentive. The Hotel & its staff delivered in a first class manner throughout the weekend. Being a biggish wedding (160 guests), the staff were under pressure from the time of our arrival but not once did they fail in delivering the service. I discovered that ours was the 5th or 6th straight day of weddings but you couldn't tell as they just simply delivered. The Staff are a great credit to the hotel, especially Mags, who assisted one of the bridesmaids who was having a difficult time with her bay daughter. The food at the event was top class. We used the restaurant the night after the wedding and once again the food was excellent as was the service. we even used the carvery on the Sunday ( our final day at the hotel) and once again the food & service did not disappoint. All in all a great weekend for the family & the guests. Well done to the Staff & thanks for a brilliant weekend.

Room Tip: A room on the third floor facing the castle will give you access to a wonderful balcony area complet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear LucanBlueNose

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your daughters wedding. We were delighted to have the opportunity of hosting your family and friends. Hopefully we can welcome you back to Trim soon.

Kind Regards

Noel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a wedding which wad brilliant including service but found it overpriced... really expensive bar. Room was expensive too. Nice looking hotel and the food was nice but high prices left a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frjackhackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear frjackhacket

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Although i am pleased that you very much enjoyed the wedding you attended,i am disappointed that you felt that the hotel was expensive. We always offer competitive rates and good value in our bars and restaurants.

Warm Regards

Noel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My daughter's wedding reception was held here after Christmas and I would like to compliment this hotel under all headings. Well designed layout, beautiful location beside the castle, clean, modern, spacious, top class bedrooms, excellent food, courteous and well trained staff, Will definitely go back and would really recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Larry D

Thank you for your kind comments.We were delighted and honoured to host your daughter's wedding. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back soon.

Kind Regards

Noel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
1.1 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
414 reviews
16.0 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,555 reviews
8.1 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
657 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trim Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trim Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Trim, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Price Range: $116 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trim Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Trim Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing