We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insulted from start to finish”
Review of Trim Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trim Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

I Don't know how this hotel got a 4 star rating the service was appalling and the food was even worse, we got here yesterday evening checked in went into the bar for a drink and ordered some food, the bar man brought over a bowl with water for washing our fingers as we had ordered wings( which were supposed to be hot and spicy but turnrd out to be fruity) and told us not to drink it as it wasn't fancy soup we laughed n then he went on to say that we mustn't get out of Dublin much, we thought this was odd but brushed it off, when he was bringing out the food there was a commotion And he nearly dropped the food, again when he came to the table told us our food nearly landed on the floor, my friend asked him if he had dropped some of it to which the bar man told him he was a "cheeky b*****d" we thought this was really out of place but again brushed it off, we went back that night for a drink the same bar man was still on he told us he would drop the drinks over to have a seat, so we did wen he came over I handed him the money when he brought the change back he handed it to my friend and said to him, " here you go mate that's for having to listen to her" I was absolutely disgusted, at no point did we have a conversation with this man or have any kinda of banter that could warrant all his comments, we ended up going up to our room early because we didn't want any more insults, the next morning we got breakast to the room, it was disgusting, the tea when it was poured into the cups had a residue at the top like the pot wasn't cleaned properly and then the sugar lumps couldn't melt because it was freezing,the eggs were hard, the rashers were like bricks and the sausages were bordering on being burnt, we then went to check out got handed our bill and change and that was it at no point did the receptionist ask us was everything ok or how was our stay i thought this was basic customer service?? we left feeling really let down and disappointed and highly insulted, surely staying in a four star hotel should be a good experience and a nice treat, instead it is the worst hotel experience I have ever had

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank DonnaMaguire12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrimCastlehotel, Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. I'm really sorry to hear you were disappointed with aspects of your visit with us here at Trim Castle Hotel. Your experience clearly does not meet with the standards we have set for ourselves. We do use guest feedback to find areas of improvement and I will be sharing your feedback with the team here at the hotel.

Kind regards

Patrick Reilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
There are newer reviews for Trim Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

866 - 872 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Trim Castle hotel before heading out early in the morning for the airport. The staff was extremely nice at every interaction. The price is very reasonable except you have to pay separately for parking. Our room and bathroom were large, but the carpet and sofa had seen better days. Everything else was quite clean. We had a room overlooking the parking lot which was very quiet. I heard the rooms facing the castle provide a beautiful view, but are over the street. The location of the hotel is great right in the middle of Trim about 45 mins from Dublin airport.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATL-travel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear ATL-travel71

Thank you for choosing to stay at Trim Castle Hotel and sharing your experience.I am delighted that you had an enjoyable visit and I hope to welcome you back soon.


Warm Regards

Noel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

A very nice hotel, centrally located and opposite the castle.The room was very spacious, with a TV. looking out of the window we had a fantastic view of the castle. The bathroom, with a shower / tub combination was also very tastefully furnished.
At night it was very peaceful in the hotel so that we could sleep very well.
Nice staff, a great room and the breakfast wonderful too!
We felt very comfortable!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Andreas J

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Noel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel was very nice and in a great location - everything was within walking distance. We had arrived a little earlier than planned, however they accommodated us and let us check in early. The woman as reception even went out of her way to try to get us a room with a view of the castle. You do have to pay for parking, but it is only 3 euro for the night, so it was quite affordable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Mary585

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and very much appreciate your feedback.I will pass on your kind comments to the team.

Many Thanks

Noel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had not meant to visit Trim on our trip but this hotel was a nice surprise. It was the cheapest place we stayed at (about $100 CDN/US for the room). Staff were very accommodating. For that price, we got a king size bed with a little sitting area. The bathroom had a bath/shower. We were right across the street from the castle and we took the guided tour. Don't be fooled by the website photos, which make it look like you can have lunch with a castle backdrop. If you want that type of experience, you will have to be part of a roof-top party. We had a pint in the bar but didn't eat here because of previous negative reviews. Instead, we had dinner at La Scala right across the street from the hotel parking lot. Very good!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hapcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear hapcan

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience.Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Trim Castle Hotel soon.

Regards

Noel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

First time staying in this hotel. We got the executive suite. Loads of space, Comfy bed. We have a 1 year old child and the staff were very accommodating to us when it came to meals. Would highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trckwhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Trckwhr

Thank you for staying with us.We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Noel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in July for my sisters wedding and had a fantastic time. The hotel has such a relaxed atmosphere and the staff are so lovely and helpful. The wedding itself was amazing, the staff and management really have this down to a tee!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryANYC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear a t

Thank you for your kind comments regarding recent stay with us.We were honoured to host your sisters wedding and we are delighted that it was a great success.

Warm Regards

Noel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
1.1 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
408 reviews
16.0 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
650 reviews
15.6 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,537 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trim Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trim Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Price Range: $107 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trim Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Trim Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing