We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trim Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trim Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Certificate of Excellence
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Attended a party in this hotel and stayed for 1 night. Meal at party and breakfast were fantastic and rooms were lovely, very comfortable. Nice gift shop at entrance. Pleasant staff and great service at meals. Beautiful views of the castle from the 3rd floor balcony. Expensive but lovely for a special occasion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear sjmc30

Thank you for choosing to stay at Trim Castle Hotel and sharing your experience.I am delighted that you had an enjoyable visit and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    329
    96
    26
    20
See reviews for
239
530
21
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in Trim castle for a family wedding, the staff where pleasant and attentive. The food at the reception and breakfast was lovely. The rooms where bright and clean. The only fault I would have is there where 2 broken tiles onthe bathroom floor but this didn't take away from our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifitricksabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Fifitricksabelle

We are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding you recently attended at Trim Castle Hotel.We have fixed the broken tiles as mentioned in your review.Thank you for your feedback which i will pass on to the team.

Kind Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a very well run hotel with helpful staff, good food and nice atmosphere. I attended a wedding and was impressed whit how well things were run.

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear John S

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to Trim Castle Hotel.We are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Following a week-end stay with a group of friends I felt I needed to write a review . We paided €155 pps that included 2 b&b plus 1 dinner which was a little pricey for a hotel with no leisure facility , then on check out some of the group where charged €3 per night for car parking while others in the group had their tickets validated . We were all very annoyed over this inconsistency and a number of the group would not recommend this hotel to others .
Rooms are very small with very poor lighting leaving it impossible to apply make-up and some very noisy residents running round corridors following wedding reception .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1981Mags1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear 1981Mags1957

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.I apologise that there were issues which effected your enjoyment of the Hotel and i appreciate you highlighting them.

Kind Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stopped in for a one night stay in September, and I couldn't have been happier. We made sure to get a castle view, and it was truely amazing to see the castle lit up outside of our room at night. If you are passing through the Meath County, I highly reccomend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Justin K

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is THE place to stay in Trim...you won't be disappointed! A clean, modern, spacious facility with all the amenities needed for a comfortable stay. As others have noted, it is right across the street from fabulous Trim Castle and many of the rooms have wonderful views of this historical place.
Our hotel floor had access to a large patio with numerous tables and chairs and some potted plants; there appeared to be a smoking and non-smoking section. The patio area had a direct view of the castle right across the street--it seemed so close that you could almost reach out and touch it! There was another smaller patio area on our floor, one with a few tables and chairs, but no view of the castle. Seemed like a lovely place to just sit outside and get some quiet time and fresh air.
Our rooms had unique step-up balconies that provided a gorgeous view, esp. at night. The rooms were spacious enough for our needs, although the bathroom was a little on the small side (no big deal). Lighting not up to our liking in either the room or bathroom, but we find this is quite common in many hotels now. Bathroom had a beautiful bowl as a sink, but unfortunately it didn't drain very well. We were there only one night, so didn't speak to management about it. Parking was available in a large, convenient lot for 3 euro/day.
The buffet breakfast had a wonderful assortment and staff was pleasant and attentive. We ate dinner elsewhere, but did stop into the large bar/lounge area for drinks later in the evening, where staff was equally pleasant.
Upon check-in, the receptionist was handling phone calls and quick questions from fellow guests, so we were a bit delayed in receving attention and our room keys. She appeared to be the only one on desk duty for our late-afternoon arrival, which surprised us a bit, but she was apologetic and courteous.
If Trim is ever in our travel plans again, we will definitely stay at this fine hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mejulaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear aldalebr

Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us.I am delighted that you enjoyed the Hotel and we look forward to your next visit to Trim.

Warm Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel was an unexpected gem for a small town. Fantastic location close to the town centre and across the road from Trim Castle. There are breathtaking views of the castle from the bar/lounge and the upstairs deck. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were well appointed, spacious and spotlessly clean. Parking was right next to the hotel and free when you get your ticket validated at reception. We ate in the lounge, with a window seat overlooking the castle, and the food and service were excellent. This was the best hotel we stayed in during our Ireland trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Tracy B

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Trim Castle Hotel.We very much appreciate your kind comments.

Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
1.1 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
15.6 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
6.1 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
8.1 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trim Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trim Castle Hotel

Property: Trim Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Trim Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trim Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing