We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely floored at any of the negative reviews, best B&B of our trip, and we had some great ones!”
Review of Highfield House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highfield House
Ranked #2 of 9 Trim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Eddie the host was very personable and welcoming. The location absolutely perfect. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great each of the three mornings we were there. The people that leave negative reviews about this place I can only guess they are part of the 2% of the population that are just impossible to please....

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tk7227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 491 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Surprised at all the positive reviews, guess we got them on a bad day. On arrival we were asked "do you want tea?" Not really a friendly offer of tea and scones. We had a large room with a double and a twin bed with the head of the bed right next to the bathroom door. Not very good beds at that. The bathroom was very large and modern, but did not make up for the noisy traffic outside at the busiest roundabout in Trim. Heavy truck traffic into the night. Lighting was poor. Breakfast was very good. We had a family emergency and had to leave early and cancel the other two nights we booked. Owner charged us extra 60 E. This was the least pleasant of all the B&Bs of a 3 week trip in Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddwildbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here the last night of our trip before catching a flight for home. Best B&B of our trip. Very comfortable rooms. Immaculate. Fantasic innkeeper. Scones and tea upon arrival. Arranged for early breakfast because we had an early flight with no trouble.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here the first two nights of a two week trip and were very pleased we did. After a long overnight flight from California, we were offered tea and scones upon check-in. The family room was comfortable and spacious. The location was excellent, a stone's throw from Trim Castle and the Boyne river. A few small easy improvements would get this 5 stars (circles?)--the faucets in the bathroom needed to be tightened and a little deeper cleaning around the shower door. But all in all, it is a great place and I will stay here again next time I visit Ireland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stepjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

For anyone visiting this area this ex maternity hospital is a value for money must.
The lady of the house is both welcoming and efficient .
Cleanliness scores a ten out of ten and the breakfast is served with a smile and is of high quality.

I would go out of my way to return.





.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful house, decor, room, view, garden. Right down street from trim castle. Family of cute donkeys across street. Disappointed in town. Hardly any gift stores and pubs closed for three days due to "travelers " being in town for funeral. Could not reccomend this b&b more. Also lovely hostess and great value.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ludwig001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

across the street from Trim castle and 35-ish Km from Newgrange. wonderful breakfast. reasonably priced. the furniture and art in the room are reproductions but the feel of the building is real. The people and the location are great!

Room Tip: we were in the front but it was very quiet although it is on "the" roundabout into town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
0.2 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
430 reviews
1 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
690 reviews
2.9 mi away
Boyne View Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Castleview House B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House

Address: Castle Sreet | Trim Co Meath, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trim
Price Range: $121 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highfield House is an elegant 18th-century period residence situated on an elevated site, overlooking Trim Castle and the River Boyne. Located in a perfect position for you to enjoy the magnificent views of medieval Trim, the historic Boyne Valley including nearby Newgrange, Hill of Tara and Bective Abbey. Tastefully decorated with antiques, art and history, you can expect a relaxing and friendly place to stay. All the bedrooms at Highfield House are en-suite and furnished to a high standard and have been designed to make your stay a comfortable and memorable experience. Family rooms are also available.Conveniently located within 2 minutes walking distance of Trim town and Visitor Centre. Motorist travelling North from Dublin Airport can park in our private car park before visiting the many quaint shops, first class restaurants and magnificent medieval ruins to be found in the immediate area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Highfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield House Hotel Trim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing