We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely georgian hotel”
Review of Highfield House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highfield House
Ranked #2 of 9 Trim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

across the street from Trim castle and 35-ish Km from Newgrange. wonderful breakfast. reasonably priced. the furniture and art in the room are reproductions but the feel of the building is real. The people and the location are great!

Room Tip: we were in the front but it was very quiet although it is on "the" roundabout into town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 487 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our room was very spacious and clean. The owner showed us to the room and went over the details and even showed us how to use the electric screen to cover the skylight at night, what a deal. Our bed was very comfortable. The facility was very attractive and well maintained. Trim Castle is virtually across the street. Very easy walk to town and several restaurants. There are also river walks. The breakfast was very nice, we did not order any of the hot dishes but saw several that looked good. We drove to Newgrange and back and I would say it was about a 45 minute one way trip.

Room Tip: Looks like all the rooms would be protected from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The owner welcomed us with a full Irish tea served in a beautiful room. Staying in this old stone house festooned with gorgeous flower boxes is like staying in a castle. You an see the ruins of Trim Castle right across the street.Guests will feel as if they have stepped back in time in this lovely place. The rooms were beautifully decorated and all town attractions are very close by.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banditblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I loved this B&B. We had a lovely room overlooking the front so we could see the ruins across the street and the donkeys. We had a comfortable bed, high ceilings, a gigantic window, a TV with lots of cable channels which I wasn't expecting, tea pot of course and the bathroom was nice. Breakfast was fantastic - the best omelet I ever had. The owner was extremely helpful. It has a great spot in town. We walked around a lot, saw the castle and church ruins, we walked along the river and went to some great pubs. Trim is a really charming town and it is a great base for Newgrange and sites all around that area and it is close to the airport - 40 minutes. It was also an incredible value!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the front and we loved the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trarvelchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

After a long plane ride, we drove about an hour to Trim and easily found he lovely large Highfield House set in a beautiful garden. Our room was very nicely decorated, lots of hot water for much-appreciated showers, and a very comfortable bed. The location, across the street from the magnificent Trim Castle, and a 10 minute walk from restaurants, was perfect. After a beautifully presented breakfast, we enjoyed a walk around the castle grounds and village before touring the castle.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandL60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent two nights at the Highfield House, and used it as a base to explore the Boyne Valley and other nearby areas. The owner, Geraldine, is a great hostess and her house is an easy walk from Trim Castle and other sites. It's also convenient to jump onto nearby roads to visit Bru Na Boinne and other sites. Plan on taking carrots, apples or bread across the street to feed to the donkeys.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reattig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine D, Owner at Highfield House, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your review and your time to give us your feedback. We were delighted to have you at Highfield House. Hope to see you back in Ireland and at Highfield House soon. Geraldine & Staff from Highfield House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for our final night in Ireland, before heading to the Dublin airport the following day. Geraldine is a very warm and hospital hostess who greeted us with tea and scones which were delicious. The grounds are lovely and a 5 minute walk to the Trim Castle, which was well worth a visit. As we were leaving for an early morning flight, she kindly arranged to have a breakfast tray outside our bedroom door which was greatly appreciated. It was a short and lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugabtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
0.2 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
416 reviews
1.0 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
664 reviews
2.9 mi away
Boyne View Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Crannmor B & B
Crannmor B & B
#4 of 9 in Trim
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House

Address: Castle Sreet | Trim Co Meath, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trim
Price Range: $92 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highfield House is an elegant 18th-century period residence situated on an elevated site, overlooking Trim Castle and the River Boyne. Located in a perfect position for you to enjoy the magnificent views of medieval Trim, the historic Boyne Valley including nearby Newgrange, Hill of Tara and Bective Abbey. Tastefully decorated with antiques, art and history, you can expect a relaxing and friendly place to stay. All the bedrooms at Highfield House are en-suite and furnished to a high standard and have been designed to make your stay a comfortable and memorable experience. Family rooms are also available.Conveniently located within 2 minutes walking distance of Trim town and Visitor Centre. Motorist travelling North from Dublin Airport can park in our private car park before visiting the many quaint shops, first class restaurants and magnificent medieval ruins to be found in the immediate area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Highfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield House Hotel Trim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing