We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looks nice - but...”
Review of Highfield House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highfield House
Ranked #2 of 9 Trim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“looks nice - but...”
Reviewed June 25, 2008

While we had a pretty-to-look-at room with a terrific view...I would not ever recommend this B&B to anyone. Our bed was extremely uncomfortable as the mattress was very broken down. Not only was it very saggy, it was covered with a plastic sheet!! Very icky. Also the shower was downright filthy - covered with pink slimy mold that I could wipe off with the washcloth, indicating that it had not been cleaned recently. The final blow was that the shower didn't drain, and filled up so quickly, we had to turn the water off between getting wet and rinsing off. We discretely mentioned it to the hostess, and were told "We will look in to that." Of course, no one checked it at all, and our 2nd morning we again had to shower in filthy surroundings while standing in dirty water. The owners were busy preparing for a family party and were too preoccupied to pay attention to our complaint. The host never asked if we enjoyed our stay when we checked out...very business-only and unfriendly.
The place looks nice, and is in a great location and the breakfasts were decent...such potential but I will never stay here again and will tell my friends and family to steer clear of Highfield House.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — uncomfortable & dirty
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gaelic3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    66
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
116
241
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

This was a great place to stay outside of Dublin. There were some Polish construction workers laying stones and mortar on the place who showed us how they cut EACH INDIVIDUAL STONE! Then lift it by hand to make the walls. Holy cow.

We stayed 3 nights. Spent a day exploring the town and Trim castle. Spent another day going to the mound tombs of Knowth. Definite must see. The third day we went to a hurling match in Dublin. Not much to eat in Trim, but the Judge and Jury pub down the road is awesome. Sit at the bar if you want to talk to locals. They talk about anything with you and are intrigued you came to visit. Buy some fresh fruit at the grocer to feed the mules across the street from the B&B. You can hear them at night, very cute.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyinsocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2008

This was by far the prettiest B&B that we stayed in. It's literally right across the street from Trim Castle which made it easy to find. Geraldine, the owner was a very nice woman. She helped us with directions and advice on where to eat (there are not a lot of places to eat in Trim in the off season). The breakfast was wonderful. Geraldine mentioned that she loves Ralph Lauren shirts and if a traveller from the US could bring her some shirts, she'd give them their stay for free (those shirts must be pretty expensive in Ireland!)

  • Liked — The house is so elegant and the rooms and very tastefully decorated
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elfi919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2008

This place looked nice initially but it was awful. No soap or shampoo. The beds were not comfortable. The owner took 45 minutes to serve us toast in the morning. He reminded me of Basil from Faulty towers, but without the charm. There was major road construction the night we stayed and they closed the roads, however the owner made no mention of this. The noise was unbearably load. The walls are thin between rooms and you can hear all noise from your neighbors. It was an awful B&B - many better to be found. Can't recommend this at all. Rick Steves strikes out again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The owners/staff
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LilBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

The Highfield Guesthouse was once the Trim maternity hospital. Now a B&B, there are no longer any sounds of the newly born infants. This B&B is a great value for the location (40 euros per person sharing per night) and is an easy walk to Trim town center. In addition, the
Dublin Town Center is just 45 minutes away making this a great location for your last night in Ireland before flying out of Dublin or if you are looking for a place to stay near Dublin in a smaller and more quaint town. Eddie and Geraldine, proprietors, will take nice care of you on your stay and their staff of two young ladies will prepare a wonderful breakfast for you each morning giving you the option of the tradtional irish breakfast, oatmeal or a selection of fresh cheeses.

The rooms are above average in size and overall decor with each room decorated differently. Some rooms include a clawfoot bath while others have only a stand up shower. The doors are thin and you do get
some noise from the hallway as other guests come back to the room at night, but nothing that would be discouraging from staying here. Be sure you know how to use a skeleton key though - as this B&B is one of many in Ireland that use this type of lock system. This can take some getting used to as I have not had to use since I was a child at my great grandmothers house.

The B&B is also just beyond being across the street from Trim Castle (the castle used in the movie Braveheart starring Mel Gibson and also
the largest Norman style castle in all of Ireland). With the town center being close by, there are plenty of evening dining options as well as Pubs within the area for evening pub crawling. If you make it
to this place, be sure to take a walk toward Trim castle and stop into a pub on your left named McCormacks and ask for a local man by the name of John Bligh. Also known as Cap'n John Bligh, as he is a decendant of the famous Captain Bligh of stories from childhood, he is quite popular in the town and many of those at the Highfield have enjoyed a good craic session with him that will make you want to return night after night. If he isn't there, then have Richie or Jack
behind the bar give him a call as he is less than a five minute drive from the pub and is always looking forward to good conversation.

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location to both local town of Trim and good non-Dublin spot to still visit Dublin by day.
  • Disliked — The bathroom did have some small spots of mildew in corners of the shower.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManFromIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2007

We really enjoyed our stay at Highfield House. The location across from Trim Castle is excellent, the room was lovely, and the breakfast was very nice with a great selection of food.

I can't say as we had much contact with the owners, but we came in around dinner time (generally family time for B&B owners) and left just after breakfast the next morning.

We thought Highfield was wonderful and plan to stay with them again when we revisit Ireland in 2008!

Cheers!

  • Liked — The location across from Trim Castle and near Brú na Bóinne .
  • Disliked — Not many good restaurants close by.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreaming_of_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

We stayed at the Highfield House on our last night in Ireland. The location was great, as we were able to explore Trim Castle and County Meath, while still only 45 minutes from Dublin Airport.

Despite the name, this is a guesthouse and not a B&B. If you are searching for a small or quaint location, you should probably look elsewhere.

Our rooms were capacious, beds comfortable, and bathrooms modern--we even had a remote controlled skylight in our room! The host was friendly, and was able to offer great advice on local restaurants, tourist sights, and transit to the airport. Breakfast was good, though nothing special, certainly when compared to B&Bs we have experienced in Ireland. The only negative about our stay was the renovation/construction noise in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbwn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
0.2 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
396 reviews
1.0 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
854 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
8.1 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House

Property: Highfield House
Address: Castle Sreet | Trim Co Meath, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highfield House is an elegant 18th-century period residence situated on an elevated site, overlooking Trim Castle and the River Boyne. Located in a perfect position for you to enjoy the magnificent views of medieval Trim, the historic Boyne Valley including nearby Newgrange, Hill of Tara and Bective Abbey. Tastefully decorated with antiques, art and history, you can expect a relaxing and friendly place to stay. All the bedrooms at Highfield House are en-suite and furnished to a high standard and have been designed to make your stay a comfortable and memorable experience. Family rooms are also available.Conveniently located within 2 minutes walking distance of Trim town and Visitor Centre. Motorist travelling North from Dublin Airport can park in our private car park before visiting the many quaint shops, first class restaurants and magnificent medieval ruins to be found in the immediate area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Highfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield House Hotel Trim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing