We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Highfield House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highfield House
Ranked #2 of 9 Trim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family of four stayed at Highfield House for two nights in May at the end of our trip. My husband and I had a room on the second floor at the front of the house. It had a comfortable bed, nice bathroom and a beautiful view. Our sons had a room down the hall with two twins beds.

Geraldine was wonderful. She was very welcoming and recommended a great restaurant - Franzini's - for dinner. We ended up eating there twice!

Highfield House is in a good location close to shops, pubs and restaurants. And It is only a five minute walk to Trim Castle. Because Trim is about 45 minutes from the Dublin airport, it is the perfect place to stay at the beginning or end of a trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NGRG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 482 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

Highfield House offers an ideal location, impeccable service, lovely accommodations and delicious breakfast. We were welcomed with tea and scones, then ushered to our room to enjoy a view of the meadows and castle ruins. From the lush landscaping and comfortable common areas to the peaceful privacy of our room, this was a perfect place for our visit to county Meath with easy walking distance to everything in the town of Trim.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Highfield House is lovely. Beautiful views over the small river, the donkeys in their field and the huge Anglo Norman castle to the left. Lovely room and reception and breakfast area. We got a lift there from Irish friends who said ' Wow! You've done well.'

Lovely tea & scones on arrival. Couldn't believe the beautiful room, and it was a very fine breakfast.

It is a special place in a small town which despite its tourist attractions has kept its identity. Great walking too, even just for an evening stroll.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne_dixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were very surprised at how elegant Highfield House was. The room had high ceilings, an excellent view, and a cozy bed. I requested the room with the best view, and we weren't disappointed. The flowers out front are gorgeous, and it is situated in a convenient location for exploring Meath. This place is a definite yes.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alainasims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This fantastic mansion was built in 1805, and it definitely feels like you've stepped in another (maybe better) era when you walk through those grand front doors. Geraldine is a gracious and cheery host, and she's restored and decorated Highfield House beautifully. Rooms feel huge because of the high ceilings, bed linens are generous and luxurious, rooms are bright, clean, and quiet, and breakfast was terrific. I would return to Trim (a very quiet burg) just to stay here and feel like royalty for a very pedestrian price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you are looking for class and elegance you should stay at Highfield House. It is a 200m level walk from Trim Castle and convenient walking to most places in Trim. Furnished in antique style, and hosted by the gorgeous and well dressed Geraldine, this B&B is a class above the rest. On arrival you will be offered coffee or tea, and there were hot scones. Breakfast is superb, with great table service, excellent coffee, and the Irish breakfast generous and one of the best.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view of the Boyne river and castle you should specify the 1st floor. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avidtraveller195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our first B&B on a 10 day tour around the southern part of Ireland. It was a very enjoyable stay - tea and scones on our arrival to a full Irish breakfast the next morning on our departure. The room was large and comfortable, The bath was large and modern. All the staff was very helpful and friendly.

All in all, a very delightful stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim2453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
0.2 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
413 reviews
1.0 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
657 reviews
2.9 mi away
Boyne View Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Castleview House B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House

Address: Castle Sreet | Trim Co Meath, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trim
Price Range: $105 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highfield House is an elegant 18th-century period residence situated on an elevated site, overlooking Trim Castle and the River Boyne. Located in a perfect position for you to enjoy the magnificent views of medieval Trim, the historic Boyne Valley including nearby Newgrange, Hill of Tara and Bective Abbey. Tastefully decorated with antiques, art and history, you can expect a relaxing and friendly place to stay. All the bedrooms at Highfield House are en-suite and furnished to a high standard and have been designed to make your stay a comfortable and memorable experience. Family rooms are also available.Conveniently located within 2 minutes walking distance of Trim town and Visitor Centre. Motorist travelling North from Dublin Airport can park in our private car park before visiting the many quaint shops, first class restaurants and magnificent medieval ruins to be found in the immediate area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Highfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield House Hotel Trim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing