We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class and Elegance”
Review of Highfield House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highfield House
Ranked #2 of 9 Trim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
528 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Class and Elegance”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you are looking for class and elegance you should stay at Highfield House. It is a 200m level walk from Trim Castle and convenient walking to most places in Trim. Furnished in antique style, and hosted by the gorgeous and well dressed Geraldine, this B&B is a class above the rest. On arrival you will be offered coffee or tea, and there were hot scones. Breakfast is superb, with great table service, excellent coffee, and the Irish breakfast generous and one of the best.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view of the Boyne river and castle you should specify the 1st floor. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveller195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    66
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
112
236
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our first B&B on a 10 day tour around the southern part of Ireland. It was a very enjoyable stay - tea and scones on our arrival to a full Irish breakfast the next morning on our departure. The room was large and comfortable, The bath was large and modern. All the staff was very helpful and friendly.

All in all, a very delightful stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim2453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this b&b. The location is amazing, the rooms and lobby are beautiful, and the service was fantastic! Right when we walked in, the owner knew immediately who we were. We explained that we'd be leaving early the next morning before breakfast time. She offered to make us a tray of breakfast and leave it outside our door so it would be waiting for us when we woke up. My only complaint is that you can hear everything that is happening out in the hallways. We got woken up by the people in the next room over coming in at 4 a.m.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reagan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

As we were travelling in early April, we did not make reservations in advance. When we pulled up to the Highfield House we were greeted by Geraldine enthusiastically and warmly. She had 2 rooms available for us (we were 2 couples). She brought us warm scones on a cold rainy afternoon. The rooms were beautiful, breakfast was delicious. The hostess was helpful, cheerful and charming. We had a really delicious dinner in the off the beaten path Dunderry Lodge, 4 miles away. Sipping drinks and eating our appetizers by the fireplace, an amazing gourmet dinner. Our stay in Trim was a highpoint of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on June 1st and had a really positive experience. The guests I was traveling with really hit it off with Geraldine. They also raved about the homemade scones. I was happy with the location, easy on site parking, and the breakfast in the morning. I cant imagine a better place to stay in Trim. Only complaint was a small shower, but in the scheme of things....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becker, Minnesota
Level Contributor
435 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at the Highfield House April 17 & 18 2013. Our experience could not have been better. Geraldine and her husband were out of town. Their son greeted us upon arrival and carried our luggage to our room. He gave us good advise on activities, restaurants, and pubs in town. We were looking for live music at a pub and his advise was spot on. The next morning he provided a fantastic breakfast. The "buffet" was more than enough and additionally, we could order off a menu. The scones were amazing. Geraldine returned the next day and told us that was the first time their son had been in charge of the B&B on his own. He definitely upheld the family tradition...and more!

The decor is classic, tasteful, and charming. The rooms were very clean. Beds comfortable. Showers great. Ample parking. I would highly recommend the Highfield House. I stayed two nights. We were on a family trip with my father and my daughter.

Room Tip: Both of our rooms were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curioustravelor2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We started our week in Ireland with two nights at the Highland House on the recommendation of friends who had stayed there a few years ago. We were not disappointed!

Our GPS had a little trouble finding the location as I don't think a street number was provided but it got us close and we figured the location out by the views of the castle that other people had posted. There is plenty of parking in the front of the building.

Our room was very comfortable, although small, and the bathroom was very modern with a nice shower. We had a wonderful view to the front of the castle and the surrounding area. It actually snow one evening and we had a glass of wine while watching it snow out our large windows.

Breakfast was awesome! It was more than enough to tide us over until an early dinner.

We used Highfield House as our base for the two days we spent touring in Dublin. It was very nice returning to Trim in the evening for dinner and a few pints at the local pubs.

A few of the pubs had pictures of Mel Gibson on the walls as the movie "Braveheart" was filmed at the castle.

If we return to Ireland we'll stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
0.2 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
392 reviews
1.0 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
845 reviews
21.3 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
2.9 mi away
Boyne View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House

Property: Highfield House
Address: Castle Sreet | Trim Co Meath, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highfield House is an elegant 18th-century period residence situated on an elevated site, overlooking Trim Castle and the River Boyne. Located in a perfect position for you to enjoy the magnificent views of medieval Trim, the historic Boyne Valley including nearby Newgrange, Hill of Tara and Bective Abbey. Tastefully decorated with antiques, art and history, you can expect a relaxing and friendly place to stay. All the bedrooms at Highfield House are en-suite and furnished to a high standard and have been designed to make your stay a comfortable and memorable experience. Family rooms are also available.Conveniently located within 2 minutes walking distance of Trim town and Visitor Centre. Motorist travelling North from Dublin Airport can park in our private car park before visiting the many quaint shops, first class restaurants and magnificent medieval ruins to be found in the immediate area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Highfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield House Hotel Trim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing