We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Highfield House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveler rating
403
70
14
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
403
70
14
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesmaternity hospitaldublin airporttrim castleb bbreakfast was deliciouswithin walking distancethe river walkboyne riverlast nightfirst stoprooms are comfortablestayed longerrental carweek tripleave earlya great place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
398 - 403 of 498 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Extra helpful hosts who went out of their way to help us. Food was excellent, with wide variety of foods that were well presented and well prepared. Room was nice and comfortable.

We highly recommend this very well run B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LGH_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Very impressive entrance and exterior, matched by the glamorous interior. Beautiful grounds and flowers everywhere- overflowing hanging baskets and window boxes. Our host, Geraldine, extremely helpful, informative,friendly and charming.Great location, so close to Trim castle and a short walk to the center of town. Great base from which to explore the site of the battle of the Boyne, Bru Na Boinne and the hill of Tara. Close to Dublin so a good location for a first or last night out from Dublin. Loved our evening stroll along the river path out to the ruins of the cathedral. This was our favourite and best B&B experience in 2 weeks in Ireland and then a week in England. Ranks as one of our best B&B experiences and value ever. My husband was sure that I'd read the rate wrong!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diwaldo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We received a welcoming reception upon arrival, with fresh baked scones and tea. The B & B itself is beautifully decorated. We stayed in the family room suite. It was beautiful and roomy. The breakfast in the morning was fabulous, especially the fresh bacon and sausage. Geraldine provided my 5 year old daughter with some tasty treats for the Trim Donkeys that live across the street. She really enjoyed giving them a snack. The owners were very friendly and accomodating. The bathroom was ensuite and spotless. The town of Trim is a great location, especially if you are starting your tour of Ireland. You can easily walk to the castle, abby, and Sheep's Gate. The B&B is right next to a beautiful river walk that you can take to a ruined abby about 10-15 minutes walk away. It was a stunningly beautiful setting. We loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifesabtthejourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

The price is very good, and everything in the town (the castle, the main business district)is in easy walking distance, including the path along the river, our favorite part of Trim. Magical view out our room window of the ruins in town, all lit up at night. Parking right outside the door. Hostess was friendly and gave us good suggestions for food and drink. Landscaping around the front very beautiful. Breakfast was quickly prepared and top quality, good choices on the cereal/fruit buffet and the hot food menu had all you would expect. A few drawbacks, rooms are small, bathroom and shower tiny, mattresses a little lumpy but we did sleep well. Everything exceptionally clean. Walls a little thin in terms of TV noise from other rooms, could see how this would be a problem on a busy night. Location is right at a busy intersection, so early morning traffic noise was a negative.

Room Tip: Front rooms noisy in morning but good view.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NashTNtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We are a young family with 2 children ages 10 and 14. We travelled from Clifden thru Cong and into Trim for 1 night at Highfield House. We stayed at 8 different B and B's thruout Ireland; Highfield House was the most elegant. Driving up to the Inn, I was taken in by the grounds and the exterior of this grand building. Upon entering, I knew instantly that we were in store for a great stay. This Inn is BEAUTIFULL!!! I mean Ritz Carlton beautifull. Attention to every detail; draperies, art, light fixtures; even heated towel warmers in the bath. The owner; Geraldine, welcomed us with coffee and scones; Geraldine is one of the prettiest women in Ireland we met (and kind as well). Trim is a great town as well. Trim Castle is 200 yards away. We left the Inn at 8am, bought gas, returned our rental car, and we were inside the Dublin airport all within 1 hour. Highfield House comes with my highest endorsement!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCLAN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews