We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it very much”
Review of Highfield House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highfield House
Ranked #2 of 9 Trim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Right across the street from the Trim Castle, this B&B is in a stately old building with lots of history and character. The facility is tastefully and elegantly decorated. The landscaping around the place is beautiful and impressive. We had an upstairs room with a high ceiling and an old-fashioned bathtub and water closet. Everything was clean and worked fine. We were served a great breakfast in a very nice dining environment. Our hosts were pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlephdpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for Highfield House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 472 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

The Trim Castle is a wonderful place to tour, but a night in Trim would not be the same without staying at the Highfield House. This B&B is wonderful and has a great view of the Trim Castle. The Highfield House is just beautiful and the breakfast was outstanding as well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curt60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Lovely home recently expanded. Nice sitting area to relax, lovely gardens and decor, with nice view of local sights. Convenient 5 minute walk to Trim Castle.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

This is a good choice for your first night in Ireland. 45 min. from Dublin airport and easy to find.
It was so nice to be able to park the car and walk everywhere. The grounds are lovely, the sitting room and dining room very elegant.

We had the room with the antique white headboard (#9) and it was comfortable in every way. We loved the 14ft. ceilings with the gorgeous crown molding and ceiling plaster work. The bath was a bit small, however we voted it the best shower of our trip. I won't include photos because our are so similar to what is already posted.

The "chubby" donkeys across the street and the castle where "Braveheart" was filmed were just what we needed to start our trip.

When we fly into Dublin, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paytons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Geraldine s the epitome of hospitality. The place is gorgeous. Enjoyed being able to be in town and walk to so much. Extremely well appointed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenowlhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

I booked a room here for our last night during our 16 day stay in Ireland based on being listed in Rick Steves' Ireland guide. The fact that we could reserve with a credit card on a secured site, http://www.bnb-network.com/, and not give our cc over email was a plus also. We chose to stay in Trim to be close to the airport without having to go back into Dublin.

We left Belfast and visited Newgrange before heading to Trim. We arrived to the B&B earlier than we did at most places on our trip. We checked in about 2pm and rang the bell a couple of times before someone greeted us. We were shown to our room, which was a triple room on the top floor (I can't remember the number) and had huge windows facing the Trim Castle. We couldn't see the castle, but could see the Yellow Steeple. Our bed was a little smaller and lumpy, but comfortable enough that we had no problem sleeping. The bathroom was also on the smaller side. The wi-fi didn't really work, but there is a computer by the front door for guests to use.

It was a lovely sunny day in Trim that as soon as we got our stuff to our room, we went out walking around. The Castle didn't open until April, but we could walk up to it and around it on the outside. Trim has nice paths along the river and there were lots of people out walking around and sitting in the grass. We walked the River Walk from Trim to Newtown and checked out a lot of the ruins along the way. It was 3.5 miles to and from our B&B.

The guy checking us (I can't remember his name) in made a recommendation for dinner at Fanzini O'Brien's. The food was ok, I didn't like my tortellini. The hubby had fajitas which were good. This was the only place in Ireland that we found the attire to be dressy. We didn't know and were in jeans. We tried to find a pub for music after dinner, but James Griffin's music wasn't starting until 11pm. We had to be up early to go to the airport the next morning.

Since we had to leave early for the airport, we missed breakfast. The guy that checked us in wasn't the host, so we couldn't make arrangements for an earlier breakfast or even knew if that was an option. We checked out the night before and he didn't mention anything about trying to get us an earlier breakfast. We made the drive from the B&B to the Dublin airport in 45 minutes on a weekday morning. There were no traffic issues. We were able to turn in our car, check in and go through customs and passport clearance in about an hour once we got there.

Overall, this is a decent B&B. I wish we would have been able to experience the second B (breakfast). I would recommend this place and would probably stay here again. I really liked Trim and think it's worth going back to to visit the Castle and to see more of the Valley of the Boyne sights.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreqTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Highfield House is just as you enter Trim from Dublin, lovely location overlooking the river Boyne and within walking distance of Trim Castle with a beautifully landscaped garden and the house itself is 18th century themed with timber floors and many interesting paintings. The Rooms are spacious immaculate and authentic save for one piece of 20th century technology a nice wide screen television.
The breakfast was adequate and the staff were courteous.
This will suit anyone looking for a quiet getaway and is not to far from Dublin its location is perfect for anyone for anyone who wants to do activities in the Boyne area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesleyk81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
0.2 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
1.0 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
649 reviews
2.9 mi away
Boyne View Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Crannmor B & B
Crannmor B & B
#3 of 9 in Trim
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House

Address: Castle Sreet | Trim Co Meath, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trim
Price Range: $106 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highfield House is an elegant 18th-century period residence situated on an elevated site, overlooking Trim Castle and the River Boyne. Located in a perfect position for you to enjoy the magnificent views of medieval Trim, the historic Boyne Valley including nearby Newgrange, Hill of Tara and Bective Abbey. Tastefully decorated with antiques, art and history, you can expect a relaxing and friendly place to stay. All the bedrooms at Highfield House are en-suite and furnished to a high standard and have been designed to make your stay a comfortable and memorable experience. Family rooms are also available.Conveniently located within 2 minutes walking distance of Trim town and Visitor Centre. Motorist travelling North from Dublin Airport can park in our private car park before visiting the many quaint shops, first class restaurants and magnificent medieval ruins to be found in the immediate area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Highfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield House Hotel Trim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing