We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing, easy going farm holiday for a family...”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Kiltale House

Kiltale House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kiltale House
Dining area The Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Kiltale House
Dining area
The Lounge
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Lounge with table Football
Activity/Games room for everyone
Alex having a chat with Emma the Goat
Aodhan bring the pony for a little trot
Fishing in Meath
Addi from India having a chat with Billy Goat Gruff
Addi with Nelly our dog
Addi with our little deer called Doe taking time out
Playing with Molly our goat
Addi with Sally Jane our pony and her new baby boy
Priory of John the Baptist Trim
Pony and Trap
Trim Castle
The front view of Kiltale house
Local Golf course
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Trim, County Meath

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muusihuus...
Rovaniemi, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing, easy going farm holiday for a family with young children.”
Reviewed June 14, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

When we decided to have our holiday in Ireland, we just needed to find suitable cottage. We never look for hotel or apartments, we wanted to have more space. When browsing around altervative properties, Kiltale House became all of our favourite. One thing effect more than anything; the animals. I have always dreamed to have farm holiday, where you can do some farm works and take care of the animals while enjoying good and relaxing vacation. And big thanks goes to our host's, Mary and Micheál Lydon. They really made our holiday so special. If you need anything, you could ask Micheäl. Thanks on behalf of my family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Athmosphere
Liked least: TV program
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigMike42
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kids paradise in Ireland's historic Meath”
Reviewed February 7, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

We wanted to visit sites like Newgrange, The Hill of Tara, Trim Castle and Kells and prefer to stay in self catering accommodation with our three children aged 8,6 and 5 years old. We opted for Kiltale House near Trim and it was a really wonderful experience. The home we stayed in was the original farmhouse and was huge and homely. The owners Mary and Michael were wonderful hosts. There was a jam sponge, fresh homemade scones and 6 fresh eggs awaiting us on our arrival. One morning, Michael took the children out onto the farm to meet and feed the animals and it was very much the highlight of their stay. There were baby goats who they bottle fed, Connemarra ponies, geese, ducks, hens and lots of sheep. There is also a great undercover play area for wet days and lots of board games are provided in the lounge room.
It is close to all the main attractions we wanted to visit and close to Dublin also. We would recommend Kiltale house to any family wanting to explore the area while enjoying a "farm stay".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners Mary and Michael were lovely
Liked least: The energy charges were high an additional 10% to the cost
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codie P
Cottonwood, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Irish Experience!”
Reviewed October 31, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

6 golfing gals from the USA went to Ireland for the 2011 Solheim Cup ( USA vs. Europe). We stayed two weeks in Kiltale House near Trim, 10 min. from the tournament @ Kileen Castle. The house was perfectly located; only 30 miles from Dublin. We each had our own bed, plenty of room to sprawl, and a nice big country kitchen, where we played games and planned the next day's activities. Mary and Michael became our 2nd parents; taking care of us like we were their children! They provided home-made bread and jams, fresh eggs and cream, lined up our driver and van, suggested places to visit, and restaurants that pick you up and bring you home!! Mary even took our injured friend to a therapist!!
We golfed famous Irish links that were to die for - literally! ( Royal Co. Down, Portmarnock, European Club, Island Club, Royal Dublin, K Club) We sissy Yanks had a very difficult time on links courses. Would we do it again?? You bet - in a heart beat!
The best part of the trip were the friendly Irish people!! What a treat for us - If you want a taste of true Irish hospitality go to Kiltale Holiday Homes! Michael and Mary are the BEST!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mary and Michael and the farm house!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRLW001
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic farm experience for the kids”
Reviewed July 30, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We've just concluded a thoroughly enjoyable 4 nights at Kiltale House in which the highlight was undoubtedly the kids enjoyment of the farm animals with regular morning & afternoon feedings plus plenty of "petting" time in between, plus the use of a large games room. Mary & Michael are wonderful hosts, providing a delicious cream tea on arrival & plenty of suggestions for where to visit or local restaurants to eat at. The house is rustic but clean albeit closer to the (main) road than light sleepers might prefer. The location is great for local sights. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, as the kids were kept so well entertained by all the animals.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jomacle
Saint Germain du Puy, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: la ferme
Liked least: pas de connexion internet
Traveling group: En famille élargie
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40RMY
Valencia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Todo. Desde las instalaciones hasta el trato personal
Liked least: El menaje de cocina
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$1,016
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing