We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant stay”
Review of Tigh Cathain

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tigh Cathain
Ranked #1 of 9 Trim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My Husband and i enjoyed our stay at the b&b , Marie and her husband and staff were most welcoming and very helpful, Our room was traditional, with en suite, and that,s what we expected from staying in such lovely house, very crisp clean linen, and well worth the money.Breakfast was gorgeous, Hot, and top ups ready when we needed, homemade soda bread and scones very naughty but very nice. Highly recommended , thanks for the taxi service too, (which was no trouble)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 548 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very comfortable and inviting. Warm welcome from Marie, great breakfast after a great night's sleep. Quiet. Would recommend this B&B any time. Very comfortable stay and great information regarding local restaurants and places to visit while staying in Trim. Marie gave great directions for our next stop from her place. Our first visit to Ireland, but I'm certain we will return and return to this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadie594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Everything was outstanding!
We had a warm welcome, our room was spacious and elegantly decorated, we had a big bathroom with a lovely shower and even the toiletries were very nice.
And breakfast was one of the best I had during my Irish tour: not only fresh and yummy and rich but also very lovingly presented... highly reccomended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azulejoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Only stayed one night, but it was a wonderful experience. Tigh Cathain is located just a short drive or bicycle hop from town. The B&B is set down a quiet country road. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with cable tv and WiFi. Marie is charming and helpful. And what better way to start the day than with one of her full Irish breakfasts! Would stay again and again anytime I am back in Ireland in the Trim area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark45231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent our first night in Ireland at the Tigh Cathain B&B in Trim. Marie was so welcoming and helpful in our planning. This charming B&B is set about a mile outside of town in a lovely rural setting. We went to sleep listening to the cows "mooing" across the street. Our family room was lovely, clean and well appointed. Charming decor. Our breakfast was delicious! everything was homemade, including the 4 different kinds of homemade jam! We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larosaWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed one night at Tigh Cathain, when visiting Trim for a family event. Really impressed by the warmth of the welcome, the comfort of the sleeping accomodation and the truly traditional Irish breakfast. Heartily to be recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spanishcitytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The perfect B&B for our 1st night in Ireland! Quaint, pretty cottage and garden in a quiet, tidy little town. Just like Grandma's house: warm welcome, cozy and fluffy beds, very clean, all the little toiletries you may have forgotten to pack provided, absolutely spectacular breakfasts (the best we had on our 8 day trip) with place settings and tableware you find in fairytales. My adult sons were in awe when they entered to dinning room! As the mother of the group, it was just like arriving at Grandma's house where you are so well taken care of and all the troubles of the day disappear. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trim hotels
0.8 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
0.5 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
416 reviews
2.1 mi away
Boyne View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Highfield House
Highfield House
#2 of 9 in Trim
487 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crannmor B & B
Crannmor B & B
#4 of 9 in Trim
310 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brogan's Bar & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh Cathain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Cathain

Address: Longwood Road, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trim
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tudor style country house ..1km from Trim Castle..location of movie 'Braveheart'...Large luxury ensuite rooms with all amenities.. Free high speed wi/fi internet access, Dublin Airport 40 mins...Secure private parking ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing