We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authenic Irish B&B”
Review of Tigh Cathain

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tigh Cathain
Ranked #1 of 9 Trim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Authenic Irish B&B”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Owner is extremely hospitable, friendly & funny. The electric blanket was a nice touch. Comfy & Cozy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brecke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    42
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
158
222
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Best B and B in this area. Host was so accommodating and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. House is well decorated, you feel you are at your grandmothers house, being attended to at all times. Bed were comfortable, shower was great. You don't need to look at any other B and B's this is the best in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaglerock13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oud-Turnhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

After staying in a 'design-hotel' in Dublin, our next stay was the contrary, an authentic irish break and breakfast ... and we loved both.
Tigh Cathain in Trim was a lovely place to stay. Don't expect too much luxury or wellness. But, in place of it, you receive a warm welcome of Marie Keane (what a nice woman, no jaccuzzi can compete with her 'warmth'). The breakfast was excellent. The full irish breakfast was delicious, but also the fresh fruit salad was very good.
The rooms were very clean, and have the typical Irish or English style (wallpaper in roses, ..), the beds were not very wide, but were comfortable.
Trim itself is a nice location, full of old interesting buidings. When we will visit the Boyne-region again in the future, we surely will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank postiljon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Because I had emailed our arrival time, she actually pre-warmed the bed for us, knowing we'd be tired from our Vancouver flight. It was a thoughtful and much appreciated gesture! Location is perfect, breakfast was delicious, and she is full of helpful advice. A great B&B.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soccersusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Lovely spot, homely. Rooms are nice, clean, not very modern but well equipped with everything you could ever need. Owner is lovely-very friendly and helpful. Lots of local travel information and a library of books available. Breakfast made to order, was delicious. Quiet location and lovely small garden. Stayed one night for hot air balloon fiesta...weather wasn't ideal so fiesta was dissappointing, as not much to do without balloons. Trim has nice scenery, castle, nice leisure centre but not much else...glad we were only in trim one night.

Room Tip: Lovely but little out of town if walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcnyl t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis, mo
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Location was great as was the owner, she is a very nice lady! Breakfast was amazing, cooked to order and delicious. The only caveat for me was that it was too frilly for my tastes. Lots of pastels, flowers and doileys. However, if you are looking for a clean place to stay for a decent price this would fit the bill.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jawsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This is a great spot, close to town but feels secluded, nice lawn and garden, we had a lovely sunny morning outside after relaxing by the fire the night before. We were in Trim to catch up with Friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zedd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
0.8 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
1.6 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
0.5 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
845 reviews
2.1 mi away
Boyne View Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Highfield House
Highfield House
#2 of 9 in Trim
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh Cathain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Cathain

Property: Tigh Cathain
Address: Longwood Road, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trim
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tudor style country house ..1km from Trim Castle..location of movie 'Braveheart'...Large luxury ensuite rooms with all amenities.. Free high speed wi/fi internet access, Dublin Airport 40 mins...Secure private parking ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing