We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and cozy B&B!”
Review of Tigh Cathain

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tigh Cathain
Ranked #1 of 9 Trim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed at Tigh Cathain for our last two nights in Ireland last week. The location was perfect for our morning flight out to the USA--the drive was under an hour and the roads were easy to navigate in the dark.

Marie is a lovely hostess and the B&B is cozy and cute. Our room (#1) was large and welcoming--it could have slept four people, but we were only two. The double bed was comfortable and Marie had an electric blanket on to warm it even before we checked in. The room was comfortably warm and large enough for us to spread out our stuff for re-packing for the trip home. The bathroom was also large and well-stocked with everything we needed. The shower was strong and SOOOOO hot...we actually had to turn it down to the lowest setting!

The house is filled with flowery-themed knick-knacks and reminded both of us of our grandmas' houses...in a very good way. It's anything but sparse or institutional--which is a welcome contrast to impersonal hotel rooms.

Breakfast in the dining room was generous and traditional and ready just when we had requested. On our early check-out morning (we left before 6), Marie had set out a continental breakfast for us to help ourselves.

Marie was also very helpful in suggesting places to explore and find food and drink. We took her suggestion to go to Marcie's pub and are so glad we did!

All in all, this was a great B&B stay--a visit to Trim and to Tigh Cathain is definitely worth including in your Irish travel plans!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taravb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 549 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2012

Stayed here before Christmas with my partner for a night, and I have to say its one of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed in, and I've stayed in many B&Bs across Ireland. Close to town but in the countryside down a laneway, the house is nicely landscaped and beautiful inside, in a cosy, traditional way. Marie and Jim were wonderful hosts, couldn't do enough for us, lit a nice fire in the lounge in the evening, gave us good food and pub recommendations (try Marcies outside town on the river, lovely old pub, Adrian is a great guy).

We got home to a warm bed after a lovely evening (Marie had put the electric blanktet on!). Breakfast in the morning was an absolute treat, I had a full breakfast, good coffee, my partner had a fabulous fruit salad, all fresh fruit and berries, and none of the stuff from tins swimming in juice that you normally get. We also got freshly baked croissants which was a nice surprise! Overall a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BullMcKabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We spent an extra night in Trim and Tigh Cathain B & B, becuase it was just too homely to leave! Lovely warm fire to "put the feet up" after a long days walking, in a beautifully decorated home. We were well advised by our host Marie on the local attractions, best places to eat and drink, and enjoyed a beautiful breakfast each morning, with amazing home made preserves, and pleasant chats. We will definitely be returning to Tigh Cathain and Trim again! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful stay for 2 nights in Tigh Cathain. Marie was the perfect hostess, with lots of information at hand about local history. Her son Sean was also very friendly and was able to tell us lots about the pubs and restaurants in the surrounding area. Our room was spacious, clean, warm and nicely decorated- as is the whole house. Breakfast was top class with a wide range of options for all. Cannot fault this b&b, highly recommended if you are staying in Meath!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Just came back from 3 lovely nights at Tigh Cathain, we were definitely very happy with this place that made us feel at home!
The room was super cosy and lovely decorated, the bed was sooooo comfortable and the electric blanket was the extra touch we loved.
Breakfast was also very good, plenty of choice, amazing pancakes, warm croissants and great choice of jams, the best start for the day.
Marie was a lovely host, always had great tips for the day! We had a pretty bad episode with our little one vomiting during the nigh, all over the cot and linen and I was mortified to have tell her this in the morning...Marie was super supportive and did not for a second, make us uncomfortable, she actually ended up doing some laundry for us, that's how kind she was!!! We really felt at home!
I can only really recommend this place, sure you will love it!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InesV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

A warm welcome.. a warm fire and and gloriously warm bed! This B&B is a peaceful rural retreat, it made the hustle and bustle of my home in London feel a million miles away. Marie is a great 'bean an tí' (hostess) she gave me lots of useful tips about the general area/pubs/restaurants etc. Added to this the hot croissants with fresh fruit and homemade jam, and I would have happily stayed another week! I'll definitely be back..

Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
Thank EmT155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This was our last B&B before an airport hotel. We wound up staying three nights. This is Irish hospitality at its finest and what a lovely, lovely, home. Marie was an amazing hostess. Her homemade jams and jellies for breakfast were absolutely delicious. She always had a fire going for us when we returned at the end of the day after dinner. She was so very helpful, encouraging and kind and a wonderful conversationalist. She is a fantastic cook. Our room and bathroom were really very large and so clean and neat. This is a must B&B for anyone visiting Ireland. You will immediately become fond of Marie. We will miss her!!!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any room in this home!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trim hotels
0.8 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
1.6 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
0.8 mi away
Highfield House
Highfield House
#2 of 9 in Trim
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Boyne View Bed & Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Crannmor B & B
Crannmor B & B
#4 of 9 in Trim
311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh Cathain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Cathain

Address: Longwood Road, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trim
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tudor style country house ..1km from Trim Castle..location of movie 'Braveheart'...Large luxury ensuite rooms with all amenities.. Free high speed wi/fi internet access, Dublin Airport 40 mins...Secure private parking ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing