We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It wasn't our first choice and we wouldn't choose it again.”
Review of Tigh Cathain

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tigh Cathain
Ranked #1 of 9 Trim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“It wasn't our first choice and we wouldn't choose it again.”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We were one of a few people that booked with Highfield House and were told they were renovating so we were sent to Tigh Cathain. We had booked a nice looking professional guest house from pictures on the internet and ended up in a different B&B in the owner's daughters old bedroom. While we were there, we drove past the Highfield House and they had guests with luggage going in. We asked the other guests in Tigh Cathain and they were aware they were overspill sent to another B&B and were heading back to Highfield House the next day. After reading reviews on several sites, I realised this is usual practice to take a booking for higher quality accomodation, send you somewhere else and charge the same price.

The woman who owned the house was very nice but a little chatty. On the last day however, we were gathering our things about to ask what time was checkout when she banged on the door and told her it was "Time to get out girls" We weren't impressed by her attitude. I have never been asked to get out even if I have cut it fine with regards to checking out time.

The breakfast was quite nice, a good selection of cereals, cooked breakfast, plenty of jams etc. She was only too glad to make you extra tea or toast. She chats about your day but goes back into the kitchen then. She asks you to fill out a little sheet the night before and tick what you want for breakfast. You can also choose from three sittings and she will have it ready the night before.

The double bed in the room was comfortable enough but the single bed was very poor. The television was very bad, couldn't hardly see RTÉ 1 and not a hope of any other channels!

The bathroom was very small but with plenty of towels. There was shower gel but shampoo and conditioner would have been handy.

The house is a little noisy as it is an old house but it is nice. It had beautiful gardens and lovely little dogs. It had ample parking and space to turn. It is well signposted. It is close enough to town.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs as the wooden floors are very creaky and if you're in the downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philthyfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    42
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
158
222
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tubingen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed there the night before returning to Dublin Airport. We loved the landlady, the grandchildren and the walking distance to town. But the breakfast beat all breakfasts we had had during the whole week: Best black-and-white pudding, best sausages, marvellous gooseberry jam...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbelandjurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This is a brilliant, very friendly, comfortable clean and well appointed b&b. I was travelling for work and wadn't concerned that it wasn't a hotel. The rooms were big, clean and comfortable. Marie warmly welcomed me and made me feel like family. It is a little way from the centre but this isn't a problem if you have a car, on the plus side you can escape to the country and its not a long walk. The breakfast was great, fresh fruit from the garden. Local information and guides are available. I would definitely stay here again and will recommend to others travelling to Trim.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maztower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Ideally located just outside of historic Trim, which is a short motorway trip from Dublin, this lovely old house and garden, with its warm and experienced hostess, gave us all we could want. Marie made sure we had all we needed each day, from helpful sight-seeing tips, to researching where to find the best local music mid-week, to recommending 3 fine restaurants, all the while serving us the loveliest of Irish breakfasts. After returning from a day's Boyne Valley sight-seeing, we four could meet up for drinks or tea in the garden or in the sitting room, or nap under down quilts in the complete silence of rural Ireland. Apart from the weather -- the only thing Marie could NOT provide--- it was an ideal vacation for all of us.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. Ours even had a tub :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed as 2 mature couples for a week. The rooms were spacious with good bathroom/shower rooms and the breakfasts excellent. It was particularly nice to have an option of fresh fruit salad with good yoghurt and honey as well as the full blown fry up.
There was a large sitting room available and plenty of guide books etc. We particularly enjoyed the garden which we were able to use to practice some acoustic music.
Mari, the owner, was very helpful in suggesting places to visit but excelled herself in keeping us posted as to where we could find a ceilidh in the area and which pubs we should go to to find music. She even managed to find a guitar for one of our party to borrow.
It would have been quite possible to walk to Trim - 15 to 20 minutes where there were some reasonable restaurants and pubs and we found it an excellent location from which to visit the places we were interested in.
We would all recomend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We loved the traditional decor, wonderful linens, and picturesque location just outside of Trim. The room had a beautiful view of the garden, and was very comfortable. The breakfast was superb, especially the Traditional Irish. Our hostess was wonderful to chat with and provided helpful information regarding Trim and the Boyne Valley. I hope to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellieKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Location is perfect: close to town but quiet, countryside setting. Beautiful guesthouse and furnishings. Nice gardens to enjoy an afternoon tea. Room was spacious with comfortable beds. Considerate, friendly, and helpful hostess. Excellent breakfast. Plenty to do in nearby Trim and Newgrange/Knowth. We stayed at several places on our trip to Ireland and Tigh Cathain was in our top two. No complaints (wish we could have stayed longer).

Room Tip: Any of the 3 rooms would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
0.8 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
1.6 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
0.5 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
845 reviews
2.1 mi away
Boyne View Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Highfield House
Highfield House
#2 of 9 in Trim
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh Cathain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Cathain

Property: Tigh Cathain
Address: Longwood Road, Trim, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trim
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tudor style country house ..1km from Trim Castle..location of movie 'Braveheart'...Large luxury ensuite rooms with all amenities.. Free high speed wi/fi internet access, Dublin Airport 40 mins...Secure private parking ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing