We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local eaterie”
Review of Shank's Mare - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shank's Mare
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: Irish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Navan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent local eaterie”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent food, three of us enjoyed it immensely. Chips are to die for! Friendly welcome and good service, highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeH478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice place, great pints and hearty food”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A perfectly done filet, fabulous spicy chicken wings, and roast of lamb all with wonderful pints! Super busy and the poor waitresses were running ragged, our meal was a bit delayed but I have to truly compliment them on that as the food was not sitting on a warming plate waiting to come, they have the sense to wait to cook it and deliver perfectly timed and hot. Then we were given free dessert and Irish coffee for our tiny wait. Too kind. I would highly recommend eating here, nice place close to Trim but with a country feel.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scattershot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quality homemade food at a decent price”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We arrived just as they were opening to serve food so it was very quiet. There were 2 nice stove fires to warm the place and give the homely country pub feel. The lady serving was very friendly and efficient, couldn't fault the service.

I had the butternut squash soup to start which was gorgeous accompanied by some warm fresh brown bread.

For main course I went for the fillet steak. The cut of meat was perfect. It was really tender and very very good. The only reason I would dock a mark was that it was overcooked. I asked for medium rare and it came out well done.

All in all a very positive experience and will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scoobywrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Country fare”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Nice country pub not much to look at from the outside but please do go in you won't be disappointed staff are freindly and kids were welcome with an art comp kept them bizie, food was off a very high standard good value too will be back;-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark mckissock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trim, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Shanksmare is a gem in the country”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I visit Shanksmare at least once a month as from my first visit I was hooked. At this stage I have found my favourite item. Their Chicken Curry!!!! Yum. Always friendly service, and good food! Try the chicken wings. They rival the best wings out there. My girlfriend loves the stir fry which thankfully has returned to the menu. I have brought many family members here and we have alway been happy leaving. Well worth the visit and not over priced.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shank's Mare also viewed

 
Trim, County Meath
 
Trim, County Meath
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing