We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice location....pity about street noise from disco and fast food outlets” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Headfort Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Headfort Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Certificate of Excellence
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“nice location....pity about street noise from disco and fast food outlets”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

nice hotel...room beautiful and very clean....plenty of heat....nice telly....ensuite top class....noise from street was bad until 4am....fast food outlet nearbye holds the crowds,which means shouting and roaring till 5 am.....other than that grand spot....breaky was good too

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    140
    39
    19
    13
See reviews for
116
178
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2010

Stayed here recently with my boyfriend. Stayed 2 nights. We were going to a wedding. From start to finish the whole experience was wonderful. Excellent value. The rooms were very well decorated and very clean. Staff were extremely helpful. Even met the owner. Function room was wow, would totally consider having my wedding here. Hear there are great deals. Had dinner in the restaurant, the Vanilla Pod the first night. The food was exquisite. Top quality and great atmosphere. Had drinks in the bar, the Kelltic, which was very enjoyable. Trendy and yummy cocktails!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmelLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

We went here as part of a mature hen do group - around 20 of us. The Causey Farm near by does a fab hen day. A little put off by the exterior and reception but all our rooms were decorated to the high standard of a 4* hotel. Bespoke curtains with matching cushions & bed throws. 2 pillows as standard, safe, iron board, hair dryers, tea facility. Great rainfall powerfull shower. No bathrobes though or bath sheets though but in comparison I can't complain. I also saw a sign for a spa but didn't try it as we didn't have time. Cosy warm rooms, flat screen TV's. The Vanilla Pod restaurant downstairs served up an excellent 3 course dinner and a good, full cooked breakfast too complete with white & back pudding and hash browns. Wasn't offered a selection of teas though. They seemed very busy the weekendnd I was there so the staff were not always as attentive and I did hear from one of the 'hens' that they could hear the night club after they went to bed. I was in Room 24 and didn't hear a thing. The 'Hens Nest' room was huge. Don't let the exterior put you off! Overall a fantastic one-stop shop venue for such as occasion. I've stayed in 4*'s that came no where near the standard as the Headfort Arms.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LousArchive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

My wife and I travelled down over the Easter weekend - we only booked it on Good Friday and arrived late that night - the nightporter was only too kind and helped us in any way.

This is a great hotel for a lazy weekend, the staff look after your every need and the food and drink is superb. A must for anyone who wants to chill out.

The complaints about the nightclub are slightly exaggeratted - it's a lively bar with a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMcG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

From the initial booking by phone to arrival I compliment the staff of this hotel for their helpfullness. The dining room staff were most helpful also. We were allowed to stay in our room beyond the checkout time at no extra charge. Security arrangements were also excellent with secure parking to the rear.

No hesitation in recommending this hotel if only on value for money alone.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFJGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

We booked into this hotel for a last minute night en route back from Waterford and were delighted at the warm welcome at reception, the spacious bedroom and bathroom which were decorated and furnished to a high standard and the general feeling of quiet efficiency that the hotel was run with.

We'd noted the comments on the noisy disco and asked for a room away from the disco, which was accommodated but with the caveat that they couldn't guarantee no noise - it was so quiet we slept with the window open - so absolutely no complaints on that front.

All in all the room standards and the service was brilliant at reception and at the bar. The quality of the food at dinner was ok - a bit hit or miss - but the hearty irish breakfast included in the extremely reasonable rate made up for this.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

Just returned from a fantastic weekend at the Headfort Arms - a group of us went on their hen weekend package, including a trip to Causey Farm and we had a whale of a time!
Rooms were spotless and very tastefully decorated - we had a problem with one of the lights, phoned reception and a maintenance man was there within about 5 minutes to look at it.
Food - breakfast, food in the lounge and food in the restaurant - were all excellent quality and very tasty.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kells
13.1 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
12.4 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
23.4 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
10.8 mi away
Tankardstown
Tankardstown
#1 of 3 in Slane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
9.8 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Virginia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headfort Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headfort Arms Hotel

Property: Headfort Arms Hotel
Address: Headfort Place | Kells, Co.Meath, Ireland, Kells, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Headfort Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heritage Town Kells, the Duff family celebrate 40 years at the helm of one of Meath’s hospitality landmarks in the Heart of the Boyne Valley of Ireland. The hotel boasts 45 bespoke rooms, Headfort Spa Rooms, Vanilla Pod Award Winning Restaurant, Cafe Therese Casual Dining Cafe, Kelltic Bar Traditional Pub, Banquesting Facilities and beautiful gardens . Those years of commitment to excellence was recognized not only by its Gold Medal Award for Best Three-Star hotel Ireland, but also most recently at the Kells Chamber of Commerce Business Awards, when receiving the award of ‘Best Customer Service’in Business. ‘We were delighted with this award said Olivia, as it is thanks to all of our loyal team of staff who offer the Headfort welcome and service to our guests, old and new’. The Headfort is the life and sole of the Kells social scene. It offers so much to its visitors in it’s selection of outlets from the Award Winning Vanilla Pod Restaurant to the thriving Kelltic Bar and the Headfort Spa Rooms which focuses on using only Irish products. According to the Duff family, it’s not easy doing business at the moment, price competition is relentless and the customer has never had such choice but the Headfort is committed to providing value, supporting local producers and retaining the personal touch on every guest encounter. The hotel is delighted to report an upsurge in bookings for 2013, according to Vincent ‘the customer really wants the personal touch, the knowledge that you are there on their special day and that family run atmosphere, they have been and tasted the large branded chain hotels and we feel there is a return to good Irish hospitality and a guarantee of freshly prepared local food’ As a member of Irish Country Hotels, the 26 Independent hotel marketing group, the Headfort is one of only 26 hotels in Ireland and the first service industry in Ireland to receive the accreditation of being ‘Guaranteed Irish’. This is demonstrated in the hotels commitment to using local suppliers, employing local and using local and Irish produce at every opportunity. In this way the hotel serves as an even greater support to the local economy and there is no doubt that this is what the customer wants for the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Headfort Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing