We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUT OF THIS WORLD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Headfort Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014

we were at a hen weedend in the headfort arms it was amazing . all the staff were so friendly and helpfull . food was fabulous. we had the causey farm package we could not fault one thing we would highly recommend the headford arms.
Maggie Dempsey

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Maggie, huge thankyou to you and your group for the wonderful feedback on your weekend stay with us, we hope to see you return to the Headfort in the near future again, don't forget we have lots of other wonderful unique and fun packages too! Kind regards, Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 654 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed 1 night with my partner and my parents had a room as well. The place was nice and reception staff were friendly. The sunday carvery was delicious and our waitress Nadia was more than helpful. Nadia went out of her way to make sure we all had what we needed, what a lovely girl! They had live music later in, perfect for the older crowd.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Zowie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Zowie, Many thanks for your feedback on your recent weekend stay with your parents. We appreciate the feedback and hope that you will be back to us in the near future, Kind Regards, Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

My husband and I had an overnight stay at the Headfort Arms Hotel in May. Reception and restaurant/bar/cafe staff were very friendly. Parking was free and secure at the back of the hotel.
Rooms were large, clean and warm (it was a wintry day) with a mix of ok and tired furniture. A good size bathroom. The first room we checked in to was great - for about 10 minutes - and then the high pitched air conditioning(?) of the neighbouring property kicked in. It was intolerable so we asked for another room. We were given a slightly smaller room on the opposite side of the corridor. This too was noisy but as the noise was a lower pitch and there were no other rooms available we stayed the night. We slept fitfully.
We ate at the hotel in the evening and enjoyed our meal and breakfast too was substantial and enjoyable.
We wouldn't go back to stay though because the hotel can't guarantee a quiet night's sleep.

Room Tip: Try the back. Both sides were very noisy with air conditioners on neighbouring roofs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Catherine, Many thanks for your constructive feedback of your stay with us in Kells. It is very important to us to listen to all types of feedback in order to improve. We are sorry to learn that you did not have a restful sleep with us. The air conditioning unit which was from the kitchens has now been fixed thanks to your review and I only regret that we couldn't have recitified the situation while you were with us. We would welcome the opportunity to have you return as we can allocate a quiet room for you and we would very much like to welcome you back to Kells on your next visit, if you would consider it, please contact me directly at the hotel and we will arrange it for you. Thank you for your very positive comments on dinner and breakfast which were appreciated, kind regards, Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

booked into the hotel and advised staff that i was pregnant when booking and not staying where the wedding venue was as I needed a good night sleep. They didn't tell me at all about the band playing till 02.30 in the morning. Advised the staff the next day of the horrible night sleep I had, to be fair the staff where lovely but I was advised not to stay at this hotel at all on a Saturday night as the night club was at one end and the band at the other! I did ring the front desk at 01.00 am but there wasn't anything they could do. Also are bed was a pull down bed from the wall with no end and very sharp edges at the end, death trap during the night was there are no bed side table lights at all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank behappy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Many thanks for your review which is taken on board critically amongst the team here. We appreciate your feedback. I have spoken to the member of front desk whom spoke with you and what was meant by her comments was that Saaturday nights can be party focused and very lively at the hotel often with weddings. With that said, there is no excuse for a restless night and we only regret that we didn't have another room to move you to on the night being totally full. We would welcome the opportunity to have you back and we can allocate you a quiet room with pleasure, if you would like to contact me directly that would be my pleasure to arrange. Wishing you the very best of luck with your new arrival, kind regards,
Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed overnight with a group of friends. We have only positive comments to make. Mary at reception gave a real "Irish" welcome. Its the sort of place we had in abundance before we lost the run of ourselves. Vanilla restaurant has great staff, again welcoming, friendly and they had no bother being flexible with some of us having dinner, and more tea, and more just drinks at the same table. The sort of stuff one had forgotten could happen in hotels. The food surpassed or expectations too, and was great. This has the feel of a family run hotel and is all the better for it. It was such a hit we have all agreed to come back and stay for a break and explore the great sights in the area next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RamblingOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Many thanks for your review which has been passed to all of our team here and was warmly received, espeically by Mary who was kindly mentionned in your review! it is great to know that our family run approach is felt by the guest and we really look forward to having you back to the Headfort in the near future, we would be delighted to offer you one of our great all inclusive packages on return, Kind Regards,
Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Having previously stopped for dinner in this hotel numerous times over the years whilst travelling up north I never knew the function room or seen the beautiful garden out back - truly is a hidden treasure.
Wedding planner joanne (I think the name was) was brilliant and all staff extremely attentive.
The only negative comment I would have is the wedding party price was €30 more expensive than if it was booked online directly which is disappointing as it would usually be the other way around for weddings. That been said it wouldn't put me off visiting again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Molliec22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Mollie, many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us whilst attending a function at the hotel, it was great to have our gardens mentionned and we are trying our best at present to spread the word about what you title 'Our Secret Garden' as it is such a haven and a great venue for a BBQ or relaxation! With regard your room rate, our Wedding rate is indeed a preferential rate and offered to those attending weddings at the hotel so there must have been a discrepancy with a third party site, apologies for this and we will always honour a preferential rate for a function guest once on an attendee list. We hope to see you back again soon at the Headfort, kind regards, Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Travelled to Headfort arms from Belfast, great family run hotel, lovely staff and hotel, such great value on Grab one offer, afternoon tea is unbelievable, class public areas and bar, brilliant breakfast, would recommend to anyone going to the area, a touch of class, many thanks, Belfast traveller.

Room Tip: Our room at the back of the hotel was lovely, not much of a view, but much rather have a lovely clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DAVIDMCKEOWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Mr Mc Keown, many thanks for reviewing your recent stay at the Headfort Arms, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time in Kells and that it represented great value, your feedback is very important to us and the team, we hope that you will travel from Belfast again soon for a return visit, Kind Regards, Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kells
12.5 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
13.1 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
9.4 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,555 reviews
9.7 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia
574 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headfort Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headfort Arms Hotel

Address: Headfort Place, Kells, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Price Range: $94 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Headfort Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heritage Town Kells, the Duff family celebrate 40 years at the helm of one of Meath’s hospitality landmarks in the Heart of the Boyne Valley of Ireland. The hotel boasts 45 bespoke rooms, Headfort Spa Rooms, Vanilla Pod Award Winning Restaurant, Cafe Therese Casual Dining Cafe, Kelltic Bar Traditional Pub, Banquesting Facilities and beautiful gardens . Those years of commitment to excellence was recognized not only by its Gold Medal Award for Best Three-Star hotel Ireland, but also most recently at the Kells Chamber of Commerce Business Awards, when receiving the award of ‘Best Customer Service’in Business. ‘We were delighted with this award said Olivia, as it is thanks to all of our loyal team of staff who offer the Headfort welcome and service to our guests, old and new’. The Headfort is the life and sole of the Kells social scene. It offers so much to its visitors in it’s selection of outlets from the Award Winning Vanilla Pod Restaurant to the thriving Kelltic Bar and the Headfort Spa Rooms which focuses on using only Irish products. According to the Duff family, it’s not easy doing business at the moment, price competition is relentless and the customer has never had such choice but the Headfort is committed to providing value, supporting local producers and retaining the personal touch on every guest encounter. The hotel is delighted to report an upsurge in bookings for 2013, according to Vincent ‘the customer really wants the personal touch, the knowledge that you are there on their special day and that family run atmosphere, they have been and tasted the large branded chain hotels and we feel there is a return to good Irish hospitality and a guarantee of freshly prepared local food’ As a member of Irish Country Hotels, the 26 Independent hotel marketing group, the Headfort is one of only 26 hotels in Ireland and the first service industry in Ireland to receive the accreditation of being ‘Guaranteed Irish’. This is demonstrated in the hotels commitment to using local suppliers, employing local and using local and Irish produce at every opportunity. In this way the hotel serves as an even greater support to the local economy and there is no doubt that this is what the customer wants for the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Headfort Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing