We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury with a homey touch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Headfort Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
“Luxury with a homey touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Excellent accommodations', warm and friendly staff. The food is excellent as well as the service. Conveniently located in the heart of Kells which is centrally located to enjoy the many sites Ireland has to offer. I highly recommend the Headfort Arms Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Many thanks for your review of your stay at the Headfort Arms, it is great to know that you found the hotel as a great base to discover all of the attractions of the Boyne Valley, we really hope that you will return when next in the region, kind regards, Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    143
    40
    20
    14
See reviews for
121
180
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castlepollard, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Had our wedding here 14 may staff were very friendly and helpful food was great and our wedding planner joanne was just amazing to any future bride&groom out there i would highly recommend her she just brilliant makes you feel at ease.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sharonwww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Sharon, many thanks for taking the time to review your wedding experience at the Headfort, your feedback is so important to us and it has been shared with all of the team. Wishing you the very best for the future, we hope to see you back with us again soon, Kind Regards, Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Level Contributor
392 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

On a recommendation from our bus driver we went into the cafe Therese which is located in the hotel. The interior of the hotel is impressive in itself. The food is cafeteria style, yet very home cooked with care and taste. Our hot meal was turkey with dressing, mashed potatoes, mixed veggies, gravy and cranberry sauce. Almost as good as home. Prices are quite reasonable. Our meal less drinks was €20.00. Two small Cokes were €10.00. Very nice bar and lounge. It takes one back to a slower more peaceful time. We loved this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank TheWiseOldOwl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Many thanks for your review of lunch in Cafe THerese, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your experience and maybe next time you are in Ireland you might take the opportunity to stay in Kells and discover the Boyne Valley, Kind Regards, Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a very well run family hotel, situated in the middle of Kells town. Easy access to The Hedford Golf club and all heritage sights. The restaurant in the hotel Vanilla Pod is exelent and the bar next door The Keltic Bar is also very good.

Room Tip: all rooms are good and beds are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shergar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback of your stay at the Headfort, we are delighted to know that you found the hotel as a great base to discover the region and also as a golfing base, we hope that you will return on your next visit to Kells, Kind Regards, Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Just back from an enjoyable weekend of golf at Headfort with 10 friends. The hotel staff were friendly and the food was great, as was the service considering the fact that there was a wedding on each of our days and the hotel was very busy.
Would have given a higher rating but for the fact we ended up sharing 3 to room that was only built for two and it was very cramped As it turned out we did not have any golf clothes to dry but if we had I think it would have been very difficult. We were given a small refund which helped to pay for Friday's dinner so not a total loss.The hotel is also noisy even on the third floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear James, Many thanks for your review of your Golfing Weekend in COnjunction with Headfort Golf Club, we are glad to know that you enjoyed both food and hospitality. We apologise that your accommodation was tight, it was one of the busiest weekends of the year and we assure you that if you return that we can allocate you some of our family rooms or twin share only on your request. We did reflect it in your rate on the weekend and with regards to golfing laundry, we luckily have our own in house laundry and are only too happy to help golfers out on request, its part of our golfing service! We do hope to see you back again and if you would consider another golfing break or otherwise, please do contact myself driect and I will look after all of your requirements, Kind Regards,Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Had our wedding there on 4th may in hotel. Was amazing. Couldn't fault one thing from wedding planner to food.
Place is superb, food was amazing. Staff were excellent. Wedding planner joanne was excellent. Would highly recommend

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Stuart, Many thanks for taking the time to review your wedding experience here at the Headfort, it means alot to us that your wedding met all of your expectations and more and that all of your guests felt the same way, wishing you the very best for the future, thank you for choosing the Headfort! Kind Regards, Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We spent a weekend in the Hotel with 38 friends from the Erne Vintage Car Club. We had a fantastic stay in the Hotel from the moment we arrived.The staff were excellent ,the food was 5 star ,our rooms were spotlessly clean and the management were more than helpful to make our stay a wonderful weekend. Many thanks to Management and Staff .
Roy, Erne Vintage Car Club Enniskillen.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Roy, Many thanks to you and the Erne Vintage Car Club for reviewing your weekend with us in Kells, it was a pleasure to have you with us and I hope that you will consider us for a return visit in the near future, many thanks for your wonderful feedback, it is greatly appreciated, Kind Regards, Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kells
13.1 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
12.5 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
9.4 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
13.6 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
9.7 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Virginia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headfort Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headfort Arms Hotel

Property: Headfort Arms Hotel
Address: Headfort Place | Kells, Co.Meath, Ireland, Kells, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Headfort Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heritage Town Kells, the Duff family celebrate 40 years at the helm of one of Meath’s hospitality landmarks in the Heart of the Boyne Valley of Ireland. The hotel boasts 45 bespoke rooms, Headfort Spa Rooms, Vanilla Pod Award Winning Restaurant, Cafe Therese Casual Dining Cafe, Kelltic Bar Traditional Pub, Banquesting Facilities and beautiful gardens . Those years of commitment to excellence was recognized not only by its Gold Medal Award for Best Three-Star hotel Ireland, but also most recently at the Kells Chamber of Commerce Business Awards, when receiving the award of ‘Best Customer Service’in Business. ‘We were delighted with this award said Olivia, as it is thanks to all of our loyal team of staff who offer the Headfort welcome and service to our guests, old and new’. The Headfort is the life and sole of the Kells social scene. It offers so much to its visitors in it’s selection of outlets from the Award Winning Vanilla Pod Restaurant to the thriving Kelltic Bar and the Headfort Spa Rooms which focuses on using only Irish products. According to the Duff family, it’s not easy doing business at the moment, price competition is relentless and the customer has never had such choice but the Headfort is committed to providing value, supporting local producers and retaining the personal touch on every guest encounter. The hotel is delighted to report an upsurge in bookings for 2013, according to Vincent ‘the customer really wants the personal touch, the knowledge that you are there on their special day and that family run atmosphere, they have been and tasted the large branded chain hotels and we feel there is a return to good Irish hospitality and a guarantee of freshly prepared local food’ As a member of Irish Country Hotels, the 26 Independent hotel marketing group, the Headfort is one of only 26 hotels in Ireland and the first service industry in Ireland to receive the accreditation of being ‘Guaranteed Irish’. This is demonstrated in the hotels commitment to using local suppliers, employing local and using local and Irish produce at every opportunity. In this way the hotel serves as an even greater support to the local economy and there is no doubt that this is what the customer wants for the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Headfort Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing