We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Headfort Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We were big group there, and hotel management was very nice to do us special offer. Rooms are good size, clean and warm. Food is lovely too and of course location is nice + free wifi, secure carpark and lovely memories! :)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank ironia-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
There are newer reviews for Headfort Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 644 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

I was one of the hunting ladies who stayed last weekend November 2013. The staff were most welcoming and extremely accommodating as I had special requirements. They looked after us and our belongings to a high standard and I felt a very warm welcome. Would love to go back given the opportunity. Thanks to all xx

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahParryBOTSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My friend and I visited as part of the Side Saddle Hunting weekend and were very, very impressed. Very welcoming, cosy atmosphere, unbelievably comfy beds and generous breakfasts. We'll be back, for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuxedoPony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I cannot praise the hotel and the staff at the Headfort enough, the hotel is beautiful and feels very luxurious, the staff are incredibly welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food is top notch and we had the time of our lives. Will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

What can we say only that are time at the Headfort arms was just what we needed and more. On arriving the reception greeting was friendly and warm. Unfortunatly we stayed sat night and the night club was in full swing until at least 2.40 am . . . . wow no sleep for us!!!. We did complain we were offered to change rooms but at 2am we struggled on but accepted to change rooms the following day. Receptionist Caroline was so efficent in dealing with the situation a manner iv seldom experienced. Thank you caroline for everything we will be back but now no which room to ask for . . .wow it was just lovely and had a great sleep. the staff in all parts of the hotel were fantastic made our stay so relaxing and welcome. We had a few drinks in the bar with some bar food which was served and recommended by "Nadia",thank you. AAAAAAAAAAA now the vanilla pod what can we say the food service etc first class!!. So anyone out there that are thinking of a visit to the Headfort . .do it. Many thanks again from Tony and christine Rice.

Room Tip: First floor rooms 1, 2, 3 would be our choice. We only gave an average for sleep quality for the lit...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisbreslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We availed of the spa deal with afternoon tea and added an overnight stay. The staff are incredibly friendly & helpful, and while the spa is very small we enjoyed the treatments. Afternoon tea was very nice with loads & loads of tea refills .... the glass of bubbly was also appreciated. We ate dinner in the lovely Keltic bar which is so cozy & the food was wonderful. I have been back to eat in the bar several times to eat & have never been disappointed and here again the staff are great.
Our room was lovely, modern, bright & clean & the amenities were from the terrific Handmade Soap Company.
I would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieH001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Just in the door home and had to write a review straight away. This hotel was fabulous, my friend and I booked with the grab one voucher and were very impressed from the moment we arrived. We got a very friendly welcome when we walked through the door from the lovely receptionist Suzanne. Our room was gorgeous, spacious and immaculate, the bottle of bubbly waiting in our room was just perfect!! We had a delicious meal in the vanilla pod restaurant, one of the nicest meals I`ve had, with gorgeous bottle of pinot grigio. We had a great nights sleep and a fab breakfast the next morning. I really can`t say how much I liked this hotel, we most definitely will be back, worth the long journey from cork. Thanks for the great hospitality!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emzcally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your really positive feedback, I will pass on to our team, we hope that you will make the trip back from Cork in the future again (now that we're only 2.5hours with motorway!), there are always events happening and so much to see in the area so please contact us and we will organise a package for you, kindest regards Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kells
13.1 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
12.5 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
23.4 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
649 reviews
9.7 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia
572 reviews
12.5 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headfort Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headfort Arms Hotel

Address: Headfort Place, Kells, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Price Range: $114 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Headfort Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heritage Town Kells, the Duff family celebrate 40 years at the helm of one of Meath’s hospitality landmarks in the Heart of the Boyne Valley of Ireland. The hotel boasts 45 bespoke rooms, Headfort Spa Rooms, Vanilla Pod Award Winning Restaurant, Cafe Therese Casual Dining Cafe, Kelltic Bar Traditional Pub, Banquesting Facilities and beautiful gardens . Those years of commitment to excellence was recognized not only by its Gold Medal Award for Best Three-Star hotel Ireland, but also most recently at the Kells Chamber of Commerce Business Awards, when receiving the award of ‘Best Customer Service’in Business. ‘We were delighted with this award said Olivia, as it is thanks to all of our loyal team of staff who offer the Headfort welcome and service to our guests, old and new’. The Headfort is the life and sole of the Kells social scene. It offers so much to its visitors in it’s selection of outlets from the Award Winning Vanilla Pod Restaurant to the thriving Kelltic Bar and the Headfort Spa Rooms which focuses on using only Irish products. According to the Duff family, it’s not easy doing business at the moment, price competition is relentless and the customer has never had such choice but the Headfort is committed to providing value, supporting local producers and retaining the personal touch on every guest encounter. The hotel is delighted to report an upsurge in bookings for 2013, according to Vincent ‘the customer really wants the personal touch, the knowledge that you are there on their special day and that family run atmosphere, they have been and tasted the large branded chain hotels and we feel there is a return to good Irish hospitality and a guarantee of freshly prepared local food’ As a member of Irish Country Hotels, the 26 Independent hotel marketing group, the Headfort is one of only 26 hotels in Ireland and the first service industry in Ireland to receive the accreditation of being ‘Guaranteed Irish’. This is demonstrated in the hotels commitment to using local suppliers, employing local and using local and Irish produce at every opportunity. In this way the hotel serves as an even greater support to the local economy and there is no doubt that this is what the customer wants for the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Headfort Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing