We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Headfort Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Highly impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We booked a night at this hotel through a Grabone deal. As soon as we walked in we were made to feel very welcome. Our deal included a meal in the Vanilla Pod restaurant and it was first class. The staff were very helpful & friendly e.g. they provided a heater when we left our bedroom window open, returning to a freezing room after dinner! I would highly recommend this hotel as somewhere for a quick getaway from the hustle & bustle of Dublin

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracie2400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Many thanks for your great feedback, it is hugely appreciated. We would love the oportunity to Welcome you back in the future, keep an eye on our website for specials, kind regards,
Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    143
    40
    20
    14
See reviews for
121
180
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I went to the Hotel on Friday 8/11/13 for a Hen Weekend, and what a weekend. The Hotel was lovely, food great, and staff excellent. All we had to do was book in and the staff did the rest. They organised everything and we all agreed it was a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Maura, many thanks for your positive review, it is greatly appreciated. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the Weekend with us, we hope to see you back again in the future, Kind Regards Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed 1night here on a grab one deal for 99 euro. From the minute we arrived in the hotel the staff are brilliant, so helpful. Nothing is to much trouble for them and they are so friendly. We had a room on the 2nd floor away from the front so you don't hear the music from the club belting out. The room was spacious , spotlessly clean, the furniture could do with a little update but nothing major , in the deal was a bottle of sparkly which was in the room when we arrived.very nice touch.We had a meal booked in the vanilla pod restaurant as part of the deal. It was a busy evening for the staff but they were brilliant. My husband had the soup for starters which was tomato and basil homemade and it was delish. I had the perri perri prawns which were gorgeous. Mains hubby had the steak which was cooked to perfection, I had the duck which was amazing, desert was maltezer cheesecake for my other half and apple pie and ice cream for me, again all homemade. Followed by Irish coffee to finish. The wine we ordered with the meal was bluish black which was a perfect choice and absolutly delish. After we went into the bar where they had a singer on, and very good he was to. The bar is a very relaxed place and finished the evening off brilliant. We had a great nights sleep with no noise disturbance at all. We paid the extra 10euro to have out breakfast in the room the following morning. Well worth it. Everything you need to start the day . All in all this was a great overnight stay and fantastic value for money even on a grab one deal. We will be back here definatly. I have to try the spa treatment next !! Thankyou again to all the staff for making us feel so welcome.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gorgebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review, it is hugely appreciated. We are glad to know that you had a relaxing stay with us while sampling all areas of the hotel, we hope to welcome you back in the future, Kind Regards Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kells, Meath, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had our wedding reception at the hotel on Friday the 1/11/13 and it was a wonderful night.

We were having a small family wedding but this did not change the level of service that was delivered.

For weeks beforehand Jo met with us to discuss the various aspects of the reception especially as I am vegan and so had very particular ideas as to what I wanted to eat. Jo also gave us some ideas in terms of what to do for the night for entertainment etc.

A particularly lovely touch was that Jo arranged to have candles lit in the reception for both our late mothers and my aunt, who unfortunately passed away before our wedding.

The food was amazing and the service top notch despite the staff being very busy with a number of functions that night.

One of the bridesmaids thought she had been given the bridal suite by accident because her room was so stunning!

We couldn't recommend the Headfort Arms more highly for an extra special wedding and will return for our first anniversary.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Catherine, thank you for the wonderful feedback , it has been passed onto Joanne and all the team! We are delighted that we met your expectations and more on your really special day with us. Thank you so much for choosing the Headfort and we wish you all the very best in your married life, Kindest Regards Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We booked this hotel on a bit of a whim just to get a night away not too far from Dublin. When booking we were offered the option of upgrading to a suite for €30. We decided to book it as a bit of a treat and we were not disappointed!!

The room featured a king size bed (with loads of throw pillows and a very comfortable mattress), flat screen tv, tea making facilities, vanity desk, divan couch and table and chairs.

Double doors then led into a large bathroom with rainforest style walk-in shower, his'n'hers sinks, and the real treat- a huge jacuzzi tub with flatscreen TV!

Breakfast the next day was tasty and we were greeted by cheery staff who seemed more than happy to serve us.

The only reasons I took off one point was because the WIFI did not work in our room, which was frustrating as we had brought the laptop.

The other reason was that the lady working on reception could not recommend another restaurant to me besides the Vanilla Pod, the restaurant attached to the hotel. Perhaps staff are not allowed to recommend other restaurants. This irked me slightly because after a quick drive through the town we came across a restaurant called The Bective which offered a more varied menu for a good price.

Finally- our room was very hot, with radiators on full blast. We had the air-con on all night, and did not have the best night's sleep.

All in all though, a lovely clean hotel at a great price!

Room Tip: We had the Taylor Suite which I would highly recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice feedback, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed the comfort of an upgrade! We hope to welcome you back in the future, Kind Regards Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I hate to give this hotel less than a 4, but what can I do? The hotel is very nice, and the staff is excellent. But the night we stayed there there was a party with a band downstairs, either in the hotel or in the bar next door, it really doesn't matter. They played from about 9 until about 1 in the morning.

I think it was a big celebration about a local team that had won a championship, and the hotel sponsored them. Whatever the reason, we could hear the band through ear plugs, so that is loud. I'm sure most nights there would be perfect, but not this night.

Room Tip: Ask if they are going to have music played late at night, obviously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eneely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Many thanks for your valued feedback! We were disappointed to learn that you failed to have a restful night with us. Although there is absolutely no excuse, you were unfortunately here the night that Gaeil Colmcille, our local Football Team (which we are the Main Sponsor) won the County Intermediate Final for the first time in decades so it was probably one of the biggest party nights that our whole town has experienced in a very very long time and an exception on all fronts. Nonetheless, that does not justify the fact that you did not enjoy your sleep until after 1am. We would love to have you back and offer you a quiet room which we have available at all times regardless of functions in the house, there are quiet pockets on request! Thank you for the positive feedback on our staff and premises which was appreciated, we hope that you will return to Kells, kind regards Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Recent visits to both the hotel and Spa were top class. The spa is the best I have attended for treatments including Massage.Facials and Reflexology. Nikki and staff are brilliant at their jobs and very friendly. My friends on a recent visit were very impressed.

The Hotel itself can take pride in every member of staff from reception to the waiting staff. One of our group is a celiac and the chef outdone himself with the food for her. [Thank you}

We will be back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyD215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely feedback, we are delighted to know that you and your friends have sampled various areas of the hotel and enjoyed it, we have passed your comments on to Nikki in the Spa also, kind regards Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kells
13.1 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
12.5 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
9.4 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
13.6 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
9.7 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Virginia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headfort Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headfort Arms Hotel

Property: Headfort Arms Hotel
Address: Headfort Place | Kells, Co.Meath, Ireland, Kells, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Headfort Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heritage Town Kells, the Duff family celebrate 40 years at the helm of one of Meath’s hospitality landmarks in the Heart of the Boyne Valley of Ireland. The hotel boasts 45 bespoke rooms, Headfort Spa Rooms, Vanilla Pod Award Winning Restaurant, Cafe Therese Casual Dining Cafe, Kelltic Bar Traditional Pub, Banquesting Facilities and beautiful gardens . Those years of commitment to excellence was recognized not only by its Gold Medal Award for Best Three-Star hotel Ireland, but also most recently at the Kells Chamber of Commerce Business Awards, when receiving the award of ‘Best Customer Service’in Business. ‘We were delighted with this award said Olivia, as it is thanks to all of our loyal team of staff who offer the Headfort welcome and service to our guests, old and new’. The Headfort is the life and sole of the Kells social scene. It offers so much to its visitors in it’s selection of outlets from the Award Winning Vanilla Pod Restaurant to the thriving Kelltic Bar and the Headfort Spa Rooms which focuses on using only Irish products. According to the Duff family, it’s not easy doing business at the moment, price competition is relentless and the customer has never had such choice but the Headfort is committed to providing value, supporting local producers and retaining the personal touch on every guest encounter. The hotel is delighted to report an upsurge in bookings for 2013, according to Vincent ‘the customer really wants the personal touch, the knowledge that you are there on their special day and that family run atmosphere, they have been and tasted the large branded chain hotels and we feel there is a return to good Irish hospitality and a guarantee of freshly prepared local food’ As a member of Irish Country Hotels, the 26 Independent hotel marketing group, the Headfort is one of only 26 hotels in Ireland and the first service industry in Ireland to receive the accreditation of being ‘Guaranteed Irish’. This is demonstrated in the hotels commitment to using local suppliers, employing local and using local and Irish produce at every opportunity. In this way the hotel serves as an even greater support to the local economy and there is no doubt that this is what the customer wants for the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Headfort Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing