We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Headfort Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Certificate of Excellence
Navan, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Recent visits to both the hotel and Spa were top class. The spa is the best I have attended for treatments including Massage.Facials and Reflexology. Nikki and staff are brilliant at their jobs and very friendly. My friends on a recent visit were very impressed.

The Hotel itself can take pride in every member of staff from reception to the waiting staff. One of our group is a celiac and the chef outdone himself with the food for her. [Thank you}

We will be back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyD215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely feedback, we are delighted to know that you and your friends have sampled various areas of the hotel and enjoyed it, we have passed your comments on to Nikki in the Spa also, kind regards Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    152
    41
    21
    17
See reviews for
137
192
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

From the moment we met the wedding coordinator, we felt right at home in this hotel. Got married on 26th Sept, and everything went like a dream. On the day, it was raining as we left the church, so we decided to use the hotel garden rather than our original venue. The hotel had no problem fitting this in. everything after that was perfect. Food top notch. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Function Room was decorated perfectly. All family and friends also were highly praising of the staff and hotel calling it a hidden Gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazman_0079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Barry, thank you so much for taking the time to review your wedding day with us. We were delighted that you choose the Headfort to celebrate your wedding and it was such a pleasure to look after you both and your guests. We wish you and Laurie the very best for the future and we hope that we will see you again, Kind Regards, Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

myself and my husband got married 3rd october and to say they made things so easy for us is such an understatement. we've been organising our wedding from the UK and between edel and olivia they must've gotten dozens of emails off me about one thing or another and were always so obliging

unfortunately our 2 year old decided he was going to make a fuss right before we sat down to eat and i was panicking about things already being delayed due to one thing and another and was rushing to get in, they all kept me calm and told us not to worry everything was running on time everyone was ready and could wait, we forgot our son's wipes so they offered to buy some for us to keep us going, they really went the extra mile for us and to ensure we had a great day which we did. everyone has commented on how fantastic the food was and how friendly everyone was too i even had someone say they'd never been offered seconds at a wedding before!!

we can't thank everyone enough for how they treated us and made us feel like part of the family, it poured rain the whole day of our wedding but i didn't notice in the end after having such a wonderful stress free reception. thanks again to all the wonderful staff and especially edel and olivia.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ailbhe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Ailbhe, thank you so much for taking the time for reviewing your wedding day with us, it was such a pleasure to look after you and your families. Thank you for choosing the Headfort and we hope to welcome you back in the future, wishing you and Ben the very best in your future together, Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordanstown
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with 2 others on a golf package. We played both the Old and New Head fort courses and had dinner one evening in the hotel restaurant Vanilla Pod. This was an excellent package and very good value. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and beds comfortable. Food was excellent. Breakfast freshly cooked and good choice. Vanilla pod restaurant was really good and excellent value and the two evenings we ate there it was full. I would recommend this hotel and especially it's golf packages .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colinoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Colin, many thanks for taking the time to give such great feedback on your golfing weekend with us here at the Headfort! We enjoyed having your group for your two night all inclusive package and we sincerely hope that you will be back to us in the future, Kind Regards Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our first visit to Kells and therefore also to The Headfort. We had booked using a Grabone voucher for 2 nights BB and 1 evening meal. Overall we were happy. The room at the side of the hotel was ample in size, clean and suited us. Sadly the view from the window overlooked air conditioning units, piping and a flat roof. I was concerned that the air con units may have been noisy at night but they were ok.
The bar on our first night was poor. The staff were grand but there was a very strong smell of disinfectant which put me off my Guinness :(. No such problems the next day and we enjoyed several pints.
We thoroughly enjoyed our meal in the Vanilla Pod. The ribs were out of this world. So good I had them on night 2 also.
Breakfast was grand on both days and staff attentive and helpful.
Overall good value and we would stay again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel could be noisy due to traffic and man hole cover is still loose, making a clu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runwaychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay, we are happy to know that you were happy in general and we would love to see you back! Thank you for your constructive comments regarding your lounge experience, it is important to us to listen to all types of feedback, we hope that you will consider returning on another occasion, kind regards Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullagh, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

From first booking our wedding right up to the day itself our whole experience was made very easy and very pleasant.The professionalism of all the staff and especially the wedding planner are second to none. The day itself was magical.The food was amazing and plentiful.The staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for our guests.The attention to detail especially when it came to special requirements was incredible.The whole staff in particular our wedding planner made us feel like we were part of their family and wanted to make our wedding day as special as could be.For someone who didn't want to get married in this country but was talked into it,it was the most amazing day of our lives.We would very highly recommend this venue for any occasion you might have coming up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyByrne49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Tony, sincere thank you for taking the time to review your wedding day with us! We were delighted that you choose the Headfort for your special day and your wondeful comments have been passed onto all of the team, in particular Therese who looked after you from the outset, we hope that you won't be strangers and we wish you the very best for your future, Kind Regards Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Booked hotel and paid for in advance as attending friend's wedding nearby. Upon arrival between ceremony and reception I was asked if I was attending a function at the hotel. When I replied no I was told there was no room at the hotel due to a guest taken ill. (if i had replied yes I wonder if I would have been told the same thing). They knew this from 1pm that day, yet did not phone me to inform me and told me when I arrived at 4.40pm and in a hurry. they offered me a room in trim castle which is miles away. eventually they put us up in a B&B nearby and paid for a taxi one way to the venue.
I enquired about a refund for the €120 I paid for the room. I was told I would get a call back on Monday. I missed a call from the hotel on the Monday and I rang back on the Tuesday but the lady wasn't on duty. Since then I have heard nothing and no refund has been made to my card. the date I was supposed to stay was 20th September

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Carol, we sincerely regret that this situation came to pass regarding your reservation with us. Unfortunately, the situation on the day was unavoidable with a very sick guest in the house who had to be facilitated. However, there was no excuse for the administrative confusion that followed and we sincerely apologise for this. We did try on numerous occasions without success to call you in the follow up but I hope that the situation is now dealt with and again we apologise for the experience which is taken seriously on our behalf, yours sincerely, Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kells
13.1 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
12.5 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
23.4 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia
567 reviews
12.5 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
885 reviews
9.4 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headfort Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headfort Arms Hotel

Property: Headfort Arms Hotel
Address: Headfort Place, Kells, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Headfort Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heritage Town Kells, the Duff family celebrate 40 years at the helm of one of Meath’s hospitality landmarks in the Heart of the Boyne Valley of Ireland. The hotel boasts 45 bespoke rooms, Headfort Spa Rooms, Vanilla Pod Award Winning Restaurant, Cafe Therese Casual Dining Cafe, Kelltic Bar Traditional Pub, Banquesting Facilities and beautiful gardens . Those years of commitment to excellence was recognized not only by its Gold Medal Award for Best Three-Star hotel Ireland, but also most recently at the Kells Chamber of Commerce Business Awards, when receiving the award of ‘Best Customer Service’in Business. ‘We were delighted with this award said Olivia, as it is thanks to all of our loyal team of staff who offer the Headfort welcome and service to our guests, old and new’. The Headfort is the life and sole of the Kells social scene. It offers so much to its visitors in it’s selection of outlets from the Award Winning Vanilla Pod Restaurant to the thriving Kelltic Bar and the Headfort Spa Rooms which focuses on using only Irish products. According to the Duff family, it’s not easy doing business at the moment, price competition is relentless and the customer has never had such choice but the Headfort is committed to providing value, supporting local producers and retaining the personal touch on every guest encounter. The hotel is delighted to report an upsurge in bookings for 2013, according to Vincent ‘the customer really wants the personal touch, the knowledge that you are there on their special day and that family run atmosphere, they have been and tasted the large branded chain hotels and we feel there is a return to good Irish hospitality and a guarantee of freshly prepared local food’ As a member of Irish Country Hotels, the 26 Independent hotel marketing group, the Headfort is one of only 26 hotels in Ireland and the first service industry in Ireland to receive the accreditation of being ‘Guaranteed Irish’. This is demonstrated in the hotels commitment to using local suppliers, employing local and using local and Irish produce at every opportunity. In this way the hotel serves as an even greater support to the local economy and there is no doubt that this is what the customer wants for the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Headfort Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing