We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Headfort Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Certificate of Excellence
Kells
1 review
“The Best”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Simply the best hotel I have stayed in
it has it all - an Irish bar, lounge bar, coffee shop and premium restaurant
all this with big bedrooms, the best bathroom I have seen and the low cost makes this hotel simply the best

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Richard, thank you so much for your really positive review, it keeps us all going here to know when we are doing things right! We are blessed with a great team of staff who are our best asset and we also endeavour to continuously reinvest in our product to offer a consistent experience, please do return and tell your friends!! Kindest regards and many thanks Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    146
    41
    20
    14
See reviews for
122
185
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Whilst on busines in Ireland, i stopped off in Kells and saw this roadside hotel. From the off, it was a pleasure to use this place. Friendly, helpful reception--lift to my room, which was not only discounted, but turned out to be a little gem! Beautifully clean and modern, it was virtually perfect for the travelling man [apart from a loose loo seat!] Even the ironing board was a self contained item of functioning genious! Tea/coffee making facillities, flat screen tv--free wi/fi--and sockets at table level for computer and phone charging. After a lovely evening meal and a stroll around the town, i returned feeling a little peckish. I had the desire for a bag of Malteasers [god knows why! ] I mentioned this to the receptionist, who immediately made a call and hey -presto--- a bag of malteasers appeared--nice touch! The same superb, friendly service at the ber. I causually mentioned i wanted a bottle of water to take to my room and the lady behind the bar said--'better to use the vending machine water on the second floor,at £1.00--rather than the glass bottles behind the bar at £2.90. Then, without me saying a word, she pops off and returns with two bottles for me without a second thought. Priceless! Off to my room--beaufifull sheets, well lit--even a little night light. Breakfast was quick with wonderful, smiley service.--Tiny grumble? The sausage, tomato and bacon had obviously been prepaired well before serving and were very dry. The sausage was inedible. A shame, because no one was in a rush to be served and there were plenty of staff on duty. That said--i would return in a heartbeat. It is how a hotel should be run. Well done everyone who works there!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swiftie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Many thanks for your great feedback and great detail on points of service, it's good to know that the little things which matter most were remembered during your stay. We are blessed with a great team of longstanding members of staff and we endeavour to spread that friendly warm culture to our younger members also. Thank you for your constructive feedback on breakfast, it is cooked all fresh to order so we will be looking into that to ensure that our Guaranteed Irish Breakfast is how it should be, thanks again for taking the time to write and I hope we see you back again soon, kind regards Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you are planning on staying in the Headford arms I would highly recommend you ask for a room away from the road as we stayed in room two and the noise had us awake from early, and as the room was so warm we needed the windows open.
I would also ask what entertainment is planned as we were kept away all night with that.
Also If you are arriving early in the day and if the sun is shining I would ask if there is a wedding on that day as if there is a wedding you can NOT enter the gardens, this made us have to sit in the bar or our room, as we walked around but there was not much else to do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tray k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Many thanks for your constructive review, it is really important to us to receive all types of feedback and learn where we can improve our product and service. We have made significant investment in triple glazing all rooms on the front of the hotel and they also all feature air conditioning so it is a shame that we didnt have a chance to demonstrate that to you rather than opening windows. We sincerely hope that you will return to us for a peaceful stay when allocating one of our many rooms at the rear of the building would be a pleasure. Also, we hope that you will appreciate that we reserve the gardens for wedding couples and their guests on the wedding day but instead we also a great outdoor courtyard setting serving food to cater for our guests adjoining our Kelltic Pub, again we would love you to experience this on return, kindest regards, Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Everything was pretty much perfect. Great Staff, Great Dinner, Great Breakfast, Great round of Golf for €108. Beat that! Ours was on the 3rd floor which was quiet I think but we did not get up to the room until 3am. Now, where's the asprin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevinrhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Many thanks for your very positive feedback, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your golfing break. We are also very fortunate to have wonderful local providers such as Headfort Golf Club who offer a first class golfing experience. We hope to see you again, keep an eye out for our great seasonal golfing packages, kind regards olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth Garden City
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

A perfect place to stay for touring the area. Warm welcome in a great atmosphere. Good size rooms great size bed.staff were really helpful. The breakfast was amazing all that you would want. We opted to eat in the "cafe" area just off the bar for our evening meal and had a great meal. This was really a find as Hotels go and we would really stay here again if in the area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ala1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

So we had no idea what to expect with this hotel but we were plesentry suppised! There was a big group of us and we all arrived a little early and the girls behind the reception got the names gave us the only room out of our group that were ready, we dropped our things and headed out. We all arrived and got our rooms. Once we were all ready we came down to the restaurant and they had a lovely table all ready for us the food was out of this world!! After the meal we had a couple of drinks and we had booked to go in to the club a couple of doors down. A member of staff from the hotel walk all of us down the street and right in to the club and led us to our booth! As if that wasn't good enough she stayed there for a while to make sure we were all ok which was great.
As to be expected 2 out of the 14 of us made it down for breakfast, we all met in the bar and had a couple of drinks and because we had missed breakfast they brought us a couple of platters of chicken wings, sausages and wedges and what I thought was brill was they brought the wedges because she remembered from the meal the night befor that there was a couple of vegys with us! We were not charged for these due to so many of us not making breakfast! if that does not impress you the fact that they done all of this with a massive smile on there faces was amazing!! Will totally be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We got 2 deals for this hotel, one B&B with 2 course dinner and one spa deal with afternoon tea. Both were excellent value. Lovely food and drinks, and friendly staff. The spa treatments were very relaxing, but the spa books up early, so book well in advance.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laineey_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kells
13.1 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
12.5 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
9.4 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
846 reviews
23.4 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,427 reviews
9.7 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Virginia
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headfort Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headfort Arms Hotel

Property: Headfort Arms Hotel
Address: Headfort Place | Kells, Co.Meath, Ireland, Kells, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Headfort Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heritage Town Kells, the Duff family celebrate 40 years at the helm of one of Meath’s hospitality landmarks in the Heart of the Boyne Valley of Ireland. The hotel boasts 45 bespoke rooms, Headfort Spa Rooms, Vanilla Pod Award Winning Restaurant, Cafe Therese Casual Dining Cafe, Kelltic Bar Traditional Pub, Banquesting Facilities and beautiful gardens . Those years of commitment to excellence was recognized not only by its Gold Medal Award for Best Three-Star hotel Ireland, but also most recently at the Kells Chamber of Commerce Business Awards, when receiving the award of ‘Best Customer Service’in Business. ‘We were delighted with this award said Olivia, as it is thanks to all of our loyal team of staff who offer the Headfort welcome and service to our guests, old and new’. The Headfort is the life and sole of the Kells social scene. It offers so much to its visitors in it’s selection of outlets from the Award Winning Vanilla Pod Restaurant to the thriving Kelltic Bar and the Headfort Spa Rooms which focuses on using only Irish products. According to the Duff family, it’s not easy doing business at the moment, price competition is relentless and the customer has never had such choice but the Headfort is committed to providing value, supporting local producers and retaining the personal touch on every guest encounter. The hotel is delighted to report an upsurge in bookings for 2013, according to Vincent ‘the customer really wants the personal touch, the knowledge that you are there on their special day and that family run atmosphere, they have been and tasted the large branded chain hotels and we feel there is a return to good Irish hospitality and a guarantee of freshly prepared local food’ As a member of Irish Country Hotels, the 26 Independent hotel marketing group, the Headfort is one of only 26 hotels in Ireland and the first service industry in Ireland to receive the accreditation of being ‘Guaranteed Irish’. This is demonstrated in the hotels commitment to using local suppliers, employing local and using local and Irish produce at every opportunity. In this way the hotel serves as an even greater support to the local economy and there is no doubt that this is what the customer wants for the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Headfort Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing