We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“headfort arms hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Headfort Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“headfort arms hotel”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

my husband and myself really enjoyed our stay here, the staff are really pleasent and friendly .the food and rooms are excellent .we will definitly go back and would recommend a break away here.as its not very far from dublin it is really easy to get to

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredafitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia D, Manager at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments, we're delighted to know that you enjoyed the hen weekend with us, nice to know that the little touches were noticed too! We hope to welcome you back in the future, we have recently launched a new Salsa and Cocktail package so we might see you back for a different theme! Kindest regards Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    149
    41
    20
    14
See reviews for
129
187
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Was there with 3 friends for a spa night. The hotel seemed nice enough on arrival and the staff were nice.
We had 3 treatments in the spa which was lovely and relaxing and great value. The nightclub was good craic and also the pub belonging to the hotel.
The reason why I gave it only 3 stars was because there were alot of hen parties there and unfortunately we didn't get a wink of sleep because of them.
Security was rang many times and even though they called to the hens rooms, it didn't make any difference. We still got no sleep. I feel that there needs to be something done about having out of control loud parties. If the hotel can't control them well then hen parties shouldn't be allowed. The hotel is very old and the walls paper thin so that didn't help either.
But the rooms were really nice, spa was excellent and the breakfast was great too :-)

Room Tip: Better off on the top floor as we could hear everyone above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Never one to write a review but I felt I must after spending a weekend with my partner. I could not speak a bad word about the staff, they were genuinely friendly and helpful no matter what the request. The food in the restaurant was top notch, and it looks the part too. The room was perfect and had a beautiful newly refurbished bathroom with a stand alone shower and a big bath.
Thank you to all the staff for making our weekend stress free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
614 reviews
285 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our stay was really a stay of two halves. The evening on arrival had its problems. The morning on our departure showed an Irish country hotel at its best.

I had a bath when we arrived, and the only soap was supplied by a fixed liquid soap dispenser by the basin - distance to bath was about 8 feet and one just could not reach it from the bath. I mentioned this later to the receptionist, who was not concerned.

We had booked a dinner, B&B package, but when we arrived they told us we had to eat at 9. We had a long days travel behind us and no amount of pleading would alter the receptionists heart to allow us to eat earlier.

With the meal my wife ordered Panna Cotta, which was "off", but was offered creme brulee instead. The creme brulee turned out to be peanut butter ice-cream covered in a very thick layer of hard brulee.

Next morning all improved. The owner appeared while we were eating breakfast, and made her way magisterially round the room spreading charm and cheer as she went. We had a chat to some of the other guests, then walked round the town - OK Kells may not over "entertainment" but it is a charming Irish town, and to me, worth the visit.

In the end we left with our spirits uplifted. I would certainly stay here again, it was "real Ireland".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went down for a Hen party this weekend and had the best experience ever!
The deal was €159.00 for 2 night stay plus the activities in Causey Farm. The hotel looked after our group of 20 hen's as if we were royalty! The amount of food we got and the quality was fantastic, and the free cocktails and champagne helped to make it all that more enjoyable!

It really was outstanding given that the whole hotel was extremely busy, and the staff were all so friendly. A special thanks to Adele and Suzanne who made us feel right at home! I even had an emergency situation, where Suzanne came to the rescue and allowed me to use the computer at reception, great customer service!!

Plus, Vincent is an absolute gentleman and definitely can pull of a pair of pink wellies without any effort needed!! Overall, we all left happy and would recommend this package, hotel and location to all our friends and relatives!

If you have the opportunity, please go as it is definitely top notch in every area!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I recently spent couple nites at the Headfort Arms with my partner and I would like to say that it was a very pleasant experience, all the staff were soo friendly and polite, the place was spotlessly clean, and food in the lounge (pub grub) and also the restaurant was superb.

Thanks for making our valentines break a special one Headfort !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I was here for a hen weekend with a small group of girls, they have us 2 rooms on our own floor which obviously took away any noise problems and was just great for us feeling all together, the rooms were spotless, the bathrooms immaculate.

The staff were always friendly and couldn't do enough for us!

There was a spa, a gastro pub, a residents bar (open very late), a massive club and a choice of places to eat, all as part of the same establishment - kells is quite remote but we never had any need to leave so that was no problem!

They organised a day trip to causey farm which was great craic but I'll give them their own review.

This is the best value I have come across, when we first arranged and given the price I wasn't expecting the standard of food/drink/facilities but I was more than pleasantly surprised.

Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jje1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kells
13.1 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
12.5 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
12.5 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Virginia
557 reviews
9.4 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
635 reviews
23.4 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headfort Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headfort Arms Hotel

Property: Headfort Arms Hotel
Address: Headfort Place, Kells, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Headfort Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heritage Town Kells, the Duff family celebrate 40 years at the helm of one of Meath’s hospitality landmarks in the Heart of the Boyne Valley of Ireland. The hotel boasts 45 bespoke rooms, Headfort Spa Rooms, Vanilla Pod Award Winning Restaurant, Cafe Therese Casual Dining Cafe, Kelltic Bar Traditional Pub, Banquesting Facilities and beautiful gardens . Those years of commitment to excellence was recognized not only by its Gold Medal Award for Best Three-Star hotel Ireland, but also most recently at the Kells Chamber of Commerce Business Awards, when receiving the award of ‘Best Customer Service’in Business. ‘We were delighted with this award said Olivia, as it is thanks to all of our loyal team of staff who offer the Headfort welcome and service to our guests, old and new’. The Headfort is the life and sole of the Kells social scene. It offers so much to its visitors in it’s selection of outlets from the Award Winning Vanilla Pod Restaurant to the thriving Kelltic Bar and the Headfort Spa Rooms which focuses on using only Irish products. According to the Duff family, it’s not easy doing business at the moment, price competition is relentless and the customer has never had such choice but the Headfort is committed to providing value, supporting local producers and retaining the personal touch on every guest encounter. The hotel is delighted to report an upsurge in bookings for 2013, according to Vincent ‘the customer really wants the personal touch, the knowledge that you are there on their special day and that family run atmosphere, they have been and tasted the large branded chain hotels and we feel there is a return to good Irish hospitality and a guarantee of freshly prepared local food’ As a member of Irish Country Hotels, the 26 Independent hotel marketing group, the Headfort is one of only 26 hotels in Ireland and the first service industry in Ireland to receive the accreditation of being ‘Guaranteed Irish’. This is demonstrated in the hotels commitment to using local suppliers, employing local and using local and Irish produce at every opportunity. In this way the hotel serves as an even greater support to the local economy and there is no doubt that this is what the customer wants for the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Headfort Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing