We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just what we were looking for”
Review of Birchwood B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birchwood B&B
Ranked #6 of 7 Kells B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our family of four stayed for four nights in authentic Irish hospitality. Our hosts took great care of us and fed us well. We were looking for something that was not a tourist place, but that would still have people who would look out for us and point us to the sights.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheila59774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Good morning Shiela.

We are pleased you enjoyed your visit, and glad to see you got home safely. Hopefully we will see you again on your next visit.

Best wishes to all.

Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

We had the downstairs room and it was very comfortable with a big badroom. The lady of the house was very friendly and breakfast was fine.
This lady is definitely to old to have a B&B. For instance : we stayed there for 4 nights and not once was our bed made, the litter bin was never emptied and the breakfast table showed signs of breakfasts from days ago !
On top of this the rooms were very expensive : 80 €/Night !!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Godelieve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katethehare, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

I wish you had told us at the time so we could have immediately checked and rectified your
complaints during the four days of your stay. We do our best to satisfy. Bedrooms used for
more than one night are made over, and tidied. If there was an oversight emptying a bin, we
apologise.

The dining room table is cleared and cleaned after each breakfast, with my wife or the
lady who helps us, are always going in and out. It was only a matter of mentioning any fault
you noticed.

We charge 70 Euro's for a double room, ensuite, including full breakfast. Your booking
was made through an agency. The agency charged you 40 Euro's for making a guaranteed
booking.

We do advise on our web site, that those wishing to find the best deal telephone Marie,
at 046 9240688

Marie Clarke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rubène S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kells hotels
1.8 mi away
Headfort Arms Hotel
Headfort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kells
676 reviews
1 mi away
Fourwinds Bed and Breakfast
6.2 mi away
Grangeclare Paddocks
Grangeclare Paddocks
#1 of 3 in Kells
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Tom Blake House
#3 of 7 in Kells
3 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood B&B

Address: 24/25 Balrath Wood, Kells A82 RK29, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kells
Price Range: $86 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birchwood Bed and Breakfast is a modern farmhouse, at Balrath, Kells, in the heart of county Meath, Ireland. Birchwood has five en-suite rooms, and one standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Birchwood B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing