We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for a 50th Wedding Anniversay Party”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kiltimagh
Certificate of Excellence
Mayo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect Hotel for a 50th Wedding Anniversay Party”
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Great helpful staff, lovely hotel, rooms brillant, great food, made sure that the party went off without a hitch.Would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariettaMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    63
    24
    16
    15
See reviews for
88
73
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We stayed in the honeymoon suite as a treat, lovely big room. Views not great but the staff, food, beauty salon were first class. Hubby availed of the hot tub/s. Hotel was quiet, we were there end June, but seemingly they cater more for functions than tourists, I can see why the function room was beautiful.
Knock Shrine and Ireland West Airport are within easy reach so would be a lovely stop over for any one going that way. It is only a short walk to the Village of Kiltimagh which has all its quaint shops and pubs.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arielsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Arrived at the end of a week's holidays in Eire, relaxed and happy. Check in fine and reception area was clean with helpful, friendly staff. However, when we went into our room it was as though someone had started to decorate and then been distracted, having painted the top half of the walls only. Then there is the bathroom. Whilst clean, there were cracked tiles. However, this pales into insignificance with the subsequent fiasco. On trying to book a table for dinner we were told that the restaurant was only open on Fri and Sat evenings - we hadn't been made aware of this previously - but were happy to have a bar meal. Bar staff were very keen to get us to eat before 21:00 - apparently there was to be a quiz night! cutting a long story short - dinner was rushed with 4 different people asking us either for our table or if they could join us at our table - so much for a romantic dinner for 2! We couldn't hear ourselves over the "bingo" style event. Breakfast the following morning also bizarre - I have never stayed in a hotel that serves instant coffee in coffee pots - actually that sums the whole experience of this hotel up - facade - as for if you are thinking of holding your wedding at this venue - DON'T - unless you want it to be memorable for the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caknights4086474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMN
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

We booked this hotel based on overall location and value. However, the specific location was pretty poor. Nothing at all to do in the immediate area. The hotel and rooms were okay, dinner in the "pub" (more of a bar) was okay but expensive, and breakfast was mediocre. What was really disturbing - NOTHING WORKED! The hotel is only 3 years old! Internet did not work in the rooms or at the workstation in the lobby (we were able to get online in the bar), the ice machine in the bar did not work so we couldn't have ice for drinks in our room, the vending machine did not work, some of the lights in the room did not work, card keys did not work, hand driers in the ladies room outside the bar did not work, etc. The list goes on and on. We very nearly checked out early, but our third night was "free", so we decided to stick it out. Also disturbing - if you went down to the bar (the only way to get online) or for any reason returned to your room after 9:00 p.m., the corridors were pitch dark! It was so dark that my dad stumbled down the stairs on the evening our card keys didn't work. Really disappointing, by far the worst place we stayed during our otherwise lovely 2-week trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

I attended a wedding at this hotel & also stayed 1 night. The hotel is lovely very clean & modern. The function room where the wedding was held was beautifully arranged a looked very elegant. The food & wine at the wedding was lovely & overall just a great day. Our room was spacious, clean & comfortable! We had a breakfast in bed the next day & also had a late check-out which was lovely. I would definately recommend this hotel to friends it was really nice :-)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cunga22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Great Staff. Very Nice rooms. Serious workout facility. Good restaurant. Two Big Hottubs. Close to Knock, our destination. Nothing to complain about here. Teens loved it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wicklow
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2009

My companion and I found the welcome extended by staff on arrival exceeded our expectations. Our request for a room at the rear of the hotel was acceded to without question as we did not want a room located near a function room. Complimentary newspapers added value to our experience as did the friendliness of staff throughout the restaurant, bar and housekeeping.

Due to cold weather, I requested the heating to be 'boosted'; this was done immediately, on the day of departure, having already eaten breakfast and left the dining room, staff politely complied with my request for a pot of tea when I returned to restuarant thirty minutes after it was supposed to have finished serving.

The setting was breath taking, there are many interesting attractions nearby and the towns of Castlebar, Knock & Westport are in a shor driving distance.

We found the hotel to be spotless, particularly the public conveniences despite the fact that there were 2 large functions being held while we were visiting. They were as clean last thing at night as they were first thing in the morning which is quite unusual in my experience.

Bedrooms were spacious, well appointed but plain, beds comfortable and all fixtures and fittings in pristine condition.
The only real downside, was that the bathrooms could have done with having larger towels and face flannels (there were none in our room).

The hotel is small (47 rooms) and this lends itself to giving an intimate atmoshphere, food in the restaurant was of a standard one would expect for a hotel in this category and was more than pleasing.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getawaywicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiltimagh
9.2 mi away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
705 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel
The Gateway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Swinford
136 reviews
23.1 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
853 reviews
22.7 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,042 reviews
17.3 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: Swinford Road | Kiltimagh, Kiltimagh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Kiltimagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kiltimagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Kiltimagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing