We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveler rating
5
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
2
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 7 of 7 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The positives here are the wonderful standard of the accommodation. We stayed in the lodged and it could not be better. The size of the rooms, the wonderful showers and the awesome beds are unreal. We had three little kids with us and they had lots of room in the lodge to explore.

The hotel food was lovely and we ordered room service to the lodge a few times which was great.

The beach is on the doorstep and is lovely. We loved the buckets and spades given to us by the staff. Everyone on the staff here was great. They went above and beyond in trying to make us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

It is a golf focused kind of place. I don't play golf but that aside there was enough to do here. Most of the attractions outside the resort are a short (30mins) drive but very easy to get to. With little kids you spend more time in the hotel than on the road.

My only gripe would be that they could expand the range of attractions for families with small kids, the playground is lovely, but is clearly an afterthought. The library could do with a few board games. That is small enough stuff as we would love to come back here and recommend it highly for someone looking for luxury in west Clare.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank A40commute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I took a group of 12 golfers to Doonbeg as part of a celebration tour of the great courses of South West Ireland. We stayed at Doonbeg as it was convenient for the courses we were playing, i.e Doonbeg itself and Lahinch.
For the price we were paying, we didn't expect a whole lot from the accommodation. How wrong we were. The four bedroom cottage was absolutely first class. The quality was faultless in every respect. We had a large sitting room with a fire and TV, and really everything we could have possibly wanted. We took breakfast in the hotel, and I was sumptious and scrumptious, with great service and a view to die for.
On top this, there was a 24 hour shuttlebus to take us to local bars and restaurants, or even to the hotel, although this was only a short walk away. Any feeling of being trapped on the resort and forced to "eat in" was thus completely removed. Keith, Christine and everyone else were exceptionally helpful and friendly. We kept on waiting for the catch but it never came.
Many members of our tour rated the Doonbeg course above its older rivals, Ballybunion and Lahinch, and that is praise indeed if you like links golf. The setting is stunning, the conditioning and design of the course are fantastic. I even enjoyed it when I was playing badly , and any golfer will tell you that means it must be good.
I haven't mentioned the spa or pool as we didn't use them. I bet they are great though.
So well done everyone at Doonbeg, and many thanks. We are all busy recommending you to everyone we know.

Room Tip: Nice to have a view of the golf course and the dunes from your room in the cottages. The view over the back is not so good, although not bad either.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews