We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“holidays in Clare”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Doonbeg, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“holidays in Clare”
Reviewed February 17, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had the most lovely stay in the sandhills..we spent 3 nights there with my sisters family from Newcastle,UK.The house was really warm and cosy,when we arrived.Nuala welcomed us and we really loved the fresh scones and cookies.The house was perfectly stocked ,we did not lack a single thing in the house. Nuala had each and every bit sorted .Kids enjoyed the company of Bruno.He is a great Pet.He guided us to the beach.We cant wait to go back to Sandhills in the Summer

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2018
Thank you for that lovely review and delighted ye had a good holiday with us. Looking forward to having ye back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giocorria...
Lugano, Switzerland
1 review
“Our Christmas vacation”
Reviewed February 7, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

It has a very comfortable house with everything you need for staying comfortable. We had also a beautiful Christmas tree and the spectacular cookies made by Nuala.
A nice quite place next to the ocean and the trump’s golf club, a beautiful place where you taste typical Irish dishes. We enjoyed take a walk on the seaside and make a stop for a cup of black coffee and some sweet stuff.
We passed a very relaxing vacation on it. I enjoyed very much and also my family.
We hope to replicate as soon as possible may be on Easter time.
Thank for all it was a very good staying.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 8, 2018
Thank you for posting that great review. It was lovely having ye here over Christmas and look forward to meeting ye again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2017
Thank you for that lovely review - our 70th five bubble review! Glad ye had an enjoyable time here and hope to see you all again sometime. Nuala.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aims82
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wild Atlantic Coast”
Reviewed October 22, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We all had a fabulous stay at Sandhills. We were in Ireland for a family wedding & decided to extend our stay.

Sandhills is a fabulous place to stay to enjoy the wild Atlantic coast. Perfectly positioned with sea views.

Nuala (& Bruno the dog) welcomed us & showed us around the property... a perfect home from home, the best stocked place I have ever been to (lovely baked goods on arrival) literally everything you will ever need is available in the house, even Birthday candles, as we celebrated my mother in laws Birthday in the week.

The house is lovely & clean & our 2 year old felt right at home immediately, as there were toys & books galore in the lounge.
The swings & trampoline were also a big hit.

If we're ever in Ireland again we will definitely be booking this place again... just fab.

Top tip: Morriseys restaurant in Doonbeg village is a must... amazing food & lovely atmosphere... can't recommend the Hake highly enough... so much so we had it 3 times.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2017
Really appreciate that wonderful review. So pleased that you all had a memorable stay with us and we would be delighted to welcome ye back again any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous stay with a warm Irish welcome”
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Welcomed late afternoon to a fabulous setting and the roar of the sea from Doughmore Beach. Nuala met us straight away and welcomed us to our home for the next 7 days. Lovely baked muffins and eggs, milk, orange juice and butter in fridge to tied us over until we went to the shops. Everything that you need if ideal if you fly in from abroad she has thought of. Lovely and clean all the way around the house and the garden is magnificent and full of colour. Kids enjoyed going to look for fresh eggs in the morning and we loved the cucumber picked fresh from the garden. One garden from the back door with a washing line and games for the kids ideal for people with smaller ones and a huge other garden, great for the hurling, soccer or gaelic football or just running around. Ideally situated not too far from Kilkee, Kilrush and Ennis which we really enjoyed. I would definitely recommend Sandhills to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
Thank you so much for that lovely review and it was great having ye here with us. Hope our paths cross again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickyjk20...
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sandhills House is the BEST holiday home we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed July 7, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second stay at Sandhills House. Today is our last day and none of us want to go home :( We stayed for two weeks this year and have loved every minute of our stay. My husband and I and our two kids (Amelia, 11 and Darragh, 6) would not stay anywhere else. Sandhills House is more than a home from home. It is the home we would love to have. Nuala has simply thought of everything for families. No need to bring buckets and spades, wellies, windbreakers or even binoculaurs! For me the two biggest pluses at Sandhills are the dogs - Bruno, Bailey and Leo and the proximity to the fabulous Doughmore beach. We are booked in again for next year.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2017
Go raibh maith agat Vicky! Looking forward to welcoming ye back again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G K
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful home from home very close to a stunning beach”
Reviewed June 15, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We really loved Sandhills House! It's in a great location, close to lots of attractions in Clare and only a 5min walk to a beautiful beach - plenty more beaches nearby! Communication was simply fantastic with Nuala already telling us of local happenings and tide times before our arrival. Then we were greeted with scones and buns on arrival! The children loved the family dogs, the go kart, the goals and trampoline and collecting fresh eggs from the chicken coop. The garden is very private (as is the house!) and we would have loved to have our meals out on the picnic table, however, the weather was against us ... The house itself was equipped with everything you could think of and more - from a picnic rug and thermos flask to cotton buds and toys, childrens' and adult books to read etc, even condiments and tea and coffee, milk and butter were there for our use. We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to post that great review and we are looking forward to welcoming ye back again! Nuala.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing