We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay but little minus points as well ”
Review of Club Dobogomajor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Club Dobogomajor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cserszegtomaj
Tuusula, Finland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice stay but little minus points as well ”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week in two bedroom apartment which was nice and spacious and also very clean. No problems with checking in, on fact the receptionist was very friendly and gave us all the info about car parking and facilities etc. However what he failed to tell us was the cost of the car parking, cleaning etc so this came as a total surprise to us when we checked out. I mean RCI is not the cheapest holiday option in general and one still has to pay extras in every location. Never mind, that didn't spoil our holiday. The kitchen lacks basic kitchenware such us frying pan and a kettle. Our friends bought a frying pan as they wanted to cook bacon in the mornings. One shouldn't have to buy kitchenware to a holiday apartment. One issue that annoyed us the most was the fact that the cleaners turned up every morning around 10 am the latest. Most mornings we were still having our breakfast and since we didn't speak Hungarian and the cleaners didn't speak English, we couldn't even ask them to come back later. One morning they turned up at 9.30 am and we had just started our breakfast. They took the rubbish and obviously tried to communicate with us about when to come back. However because of the language barrier we didn't reach any kind of understanding so the cleaners left looking quite pissed off and left our apartment without cleaning that day. And that's what we had to pay for! One day we discovered 'do not disturb' sign in our apartment (no idea why we didn't see it on our first day already) and started using that. The cleaners started from another apartments first and came to do our apartment after we had left. We didn't use the facilities that much as we spent majority of our time elsewhere. However we used the jacuzzi and saunas once and it was ok, nothing special. We ate on the restaurant twice and the biggest problem was that the menu was in Hungarian and German and we had to figure out from that what we were going to eat. Well, I could expect that in restaurants outside the hotel but I would definitely expect the hotel restaurant to have an English menu. We had to use google translator to translate the menu as the waitress on our first night didn't speak English at all. However despite of that, managed to get a delicious meal. On second time there was another waitress who spoke English, so she helped us with the menu. All in all our stay was pleasant, the weather was nice and springlike and we enjoyed the nearby towns and restaurants a lot. The location is good and there are lots of interesting places to visit in the areas nearby.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mintsi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    35
    27
    9
    1
See reviews for
50
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
691 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed for a week and the first problem was the checking in. We asked about where we could park and the receptionist was very unhelpful - we only found out part way through the week that our room key would raise the barrier into the large car park. The 2 bed apartment we had was fabulous - spacious, clean and very modern. We didnt use the pool, the gym was good and the restaurant was fine despite our orders being incorrect both times we went. Pizzas shouldn't be that hard to get right. As we were leaving early we checked ou the night before and despte being told we could just leave the keys in the morning, we then had to wait whilst someone checked our rooms!! THe surcharge of 20,000HUF for car parking, cleaning seems abit excessive but we didnt let it spoil our holiday!! All in all a lovely resort but customer service could do with a little improvement

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szentendre, Hungary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

In one word its ok. Good location, correct price, huge park arround the hotel. The outdoor swimmingpool is a bit small for a big hotel. The staff is not always kindly but i think the reason is that they work too much..there was one person in the check in and out point for at least 20 hours...however all in all its comfortable to spend there a few days in the summer!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kata S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Club_Dobogomajor, Manager at Club Dobogomajor, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Kata,

First of all let us thank you for sharing your experiences and opinion of our hotel!
We are sorry that you felt that the outdoor pool is too small for our hotel – our wellness part also includes the covered pool and saunas and a relaxation area where guests can enjoy silence.
We regret for the treatment of the front desk receptionist all necessary steps will be taken – and we do guarantee it is not going to happen again.

Wishing you are going to visit us again in the close future and leaving us with positive memories only!

Kindest regards,

Krisztina Nemeth
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

First, let me start with agreeing totally with OliverF's previous review "Good but could be better". This is more or less the same that I commented 2 years ago - not a sign of change since than.
This year we happened to go there through a vacation exchange company. My wife phoned them before the arrival, and she had been told that we would be staying in a cosy room in the main building.
At the reception we were given a key to a room 2 buildings further at the 2nd floor, where there was no elevator. This was disappointing, since my daughter is just a toddler, so we were with a pushchair. Complaining that it was a bad surprise, the chief receptionist shamelessly told us that "he has the right to modify any kind of bookings at any time", but "if this makes us happy, he will give us a room in the main building". We though he was kind, but in fact it immediately turned out that we were fooled.
The room we got was different from the original booking, right above the restaurant; so we could enjoy all the noise and the smell. This was especially nice with 3 kids, youngest one is only 1, so used to sleep right when it is a rush hour in the restaurant. And yes, we were told that there was no opportunity to change.
Finally I could talk to a really nice receptionist (let me name him: József Bánffy), who managed to book us over the next day to a different apartment. Despite that we had other adventures there with wasps and the noise of the pipes of filling the wellness pool, we felt lucky that we could get away from the room.

Room Tip: Definitely avoid choosing a room in the main building! Too noisy, especially if you stay above the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank norbert_elek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Club_Dobogomajor, Manager at Club Dobogomajor, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Elek,
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor! We hope that excluding the mentioned problem you had a pleasant holiday.
For guests booking via timeshare reservation systems we are forced to provide the given type of apartment. Our receptionist colleague did his best when he suggested you the apartment in the main building, as it is our mostly liked part of our hotel because of the closeness of the restaurant and the indoor swimming pool.
We are glad that finally you have received a helping hand and so you could move to an apartment where you felt more comfortable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Overall, the resort is good, with good and quite a few facilities. The staff are friendly and helpful. Me and my son really enjoyed ourselves. This was the second time I went here, the first time being 12 years ago. However, it feels like time stands still at this resort. It looks the same, probably nothing has changed and it felt a bit retro, keeping in mind all the new(er) and more modern hotels around Hungary (and the world). I believe it needs more to attract more visitors or for those visitors to return. I spoke to a few people and they all shared the same views.

- Out-door pool is not heated, not even the kid's pool is heated. The water was way too cold to spend more than 20-30 min in the pool. At least the kid's pool should be heated.
- The kid's playground is small and not really fulfilling other than for 2-3 year olds
- Not enough sunbeds for all guests, and certainly not enough mattresses for all sunbeds
- At 10 am, the pool area was almost empty but all sunbeds taken. This should be forbidden (I have been to hotels where towels were removed if left unattended before 10 am)
- No dark curtains in the rooms, which meant kids wake up way too early in the morning
- No air-condition
- Maintenance was so-so. One of the benches around the kid's pool is broken for the whole week and probably even longer
- Not enough luggage wagons

It is also outrageous to charge 15,000 Ft as RCI package. I pay maintenance fee at my own resort, paying an exchange fee to RCI when doing the exchange, so charging for carpark but above all for cleaning is a rip-off.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nastola, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The location is good near Heviz. The appartments are nothing special, but okay. The staff is really friendly as are all the hungarians. The indoor pool is small but the saunas were a nice suprise. There is plenty of good restaurants in Heviz. We went there as RCI guests and there was an extra fee of 15 000 HUF for "RCI package" (parking etc.). We didn't think, that this is the way RCI works... So that was a disappointment. We would highly recommend a car rental to get there. The place is not easy to reach without a car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaiviR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The club is in a lovely spot, well situated close to Heviz. The accommodation is a variety of cottages, apartments and hotel rooms, some of which are very pretty but there is no vehicular access to unload and load luggage. There are some hand carts available but as we were quite close to the car park (unit 801) we chose to carry the luggage. Our 2 bed cottage had 2 good size double rooms with plenty of storage space. The one bathroom was a shower room and there was a sink upstairs adjacent to the second bedroom. The living space is inadequate - no soft chairs to sit on, the only seats were the chairs at the dining table. Huge amount of space taken up with a closed heating 'fireplace' that only really effectively heated the space above it (stairs and landing outside bedroom). Kitchen is only advertised as 'partial' but that is being generous - four hob rings (one of which fused the entire unit every time we tried to use it) and a microwave and only 2 sharp knives, no kettle or veg peeler - self catering was interesting! Having said that all the restaurants we went to were very good value with excellent food so the message clearly is don't bother trying to self cater. There is a big Tesco a couple of miles away so shopping was not a problem. There did seem to be a problem with the electrics, numerous times we fused the unit by turning on (or off) the hob rings or using the microwave. Trip switch outside door so easy to reset ourselves but it obviously keeps happening as the trip switch box was unlocked. We seemed to be there before the season got going (1 to 6 June) so there was some work going on around the resort and the weather was not good enough to use the outdoor pool. Fitness suite is five bits of equipment in an airless, smelly room that is difficult to find and also houses the table tennis table. We went to play table tennis and it would have been virtually impossible for people to be using the fitness equipment at the same time - surely they could find a bigger, better space for both facilities? Check in staff were helpful, but we did an RCI exchange and were surprised to discover that RCI guests pay around £60 per week per party to be able to use the pool, sauna, wifi, facilities etc for 'free'. Wifi was patchy in the unit. It's a good base for exploring around Lake Balaton, we were there for 4/5 days and that was enough - the lack of comfortable seats in the unit really is a major downside.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CardiffWelshdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cserszegtomaj
0.9 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palace Heviz
Hotel Palace Heviz
#6 of 32 in Heviz
178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Aqua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kalma
Hotel Kalma
#15 of 32 in Heviz
23 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Aquamarin
Hotel Aquamarin
#12 of 32 in Heviz
59 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lotus Therme Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Dobogomajor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Dobogomajor

Property: Club Dobogomajor
Address: Hevizi ut 1., Cserszegtomaj 8372, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Zala County > Cserszegtomaj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cserszegtomaj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Dobogomajor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment hotel for families, wellness, spacious rooms for the family, between the Lake Balaton and Heviz Spacious apartments, large green area, plenty of entertaining and wellness opportunity, only a stone throw away from Heviz and the Lake Balaton - the Club Dobogomajor offers you the perfect place for a summer vatacion, active holiday or for a romantic getaway. Explore the Balaton area, play a round of tennis, expolre the land from the saddle of the bike or a horse, or just relax and enjoy the numerous wellness and beauty service sin the resort! Located five minutes both from downtown Heviz and the famous Thermal Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Dobogomajor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Dobogomajor Hotel Cserszegtomaj
Club Dobogomajor Hungary/Cserszegtomaj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing