We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect family vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amanita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amanita
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tsagkarada
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect family vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

A gorgeous place, located in the beutiful and charming part of the mountain with a awesome sea view.
we stayed there with our two kids (age 2 and 6 years), and enjoyed every minute of it.
Mr Filaretos, the owner of Amanita, is a special person, friendly, and kind.
we appreciated the the great hospitality and delicious breakfasts, made all by the owner.
Amanita is best place we ever stayed.
We certainly come again.
Thank you, and see you soon!
Mali & Idan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Psimenos, Owner at Amanita, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Mali & Idan thank you for your so warm words.
I am looking forward to see you again.
Filaretos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
155
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Pilion and its caleidoscope of charming, fertile landscapes and villages well hidden high up on the mountain represent the magic scenery for the authentic archontiko in which Mr Philaretos decided to kindly share his genuine passion for food an the pureness of the neighbourhood with his undoubtedly many many satisfied and lucky guests. He is doing a really great job, and we were more than lucky to have been his guests during a too short 3-night stay at the beginning of the automn season. We'll never forget the most exquisite breakfasts ever tasted, 'our' perfect and comfortable appartment, the kind misses housekeeper who brought us sweets and fruit in the evening, our great dinners at aleka restaurant just nearby an the overall 'magic' of the place! Best experience ever!!! Poli kalo, evcharisto poli ke kali chronia! Yassas!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SergeDefresne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Psimenos, Owner at Amanita, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Serge Kali chronia to you and to your friends!
Thank you very much for your warm words.
I am looking forward to see you again.
Filaretos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We visited Amanita in the winter, enchanted by the pictures on the internet. The suites exemplify truth in advertising. The main building is a restored mansion, surrounded by the lush and wonderfully raw nature of Pelion.

The hospitality we received was excellent. The proprietor is in love with the flora of the area and we had delicious breakfasts comprising of in-house and locally made jams and breads. He also organized a great trek through the unique village and the slope of the mountain to the beach.

All in all, a wonderful stay! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AL0PIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Psimenos, Owner at Amanita, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your so warm words. I feel ........ a bit like Japanese after this! hahaha!
I am looking forward to see you again! Tsagarada is beautiful at the Spring.

Filaretos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife to be wanted to have our destination wedding in a pittoresque and romantic setting in Greece on the sea shore. We found Tsagarada and accomodation at Amanita. We rented the entire building for 5 days. I honestly can say that it was more than a dream that came true.

The view, the nature, the landscapes are absolutely gorgeous. Mr Filaretos, the owner of Amanita was more than kind to help us organize the weddind, recommend the best places to eat and to visit. Each morning we had the Greek Breakfast at Amanita which was delicious.

The sea view is awesome and the combination of sea and high hills is beautiful. I definitely recommend Amanita.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nopcea-Francisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Psimenos, Owner at Amanita, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Fransisc thank you for your warm words. Your wedding was memorable. All my best to you and your wife.
I am looking forward to see you again.
Filaretos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Amanita hotel is great for taking some time to relax in the beautiful nature of Greece. Located in the beautiful Tsagkarada you MUST go sightseeing or to the beach.

Amanita offers you everything you want: a quiet environment, great food, great service!

I recommended it 100%

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domnulnopcea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Psimenos, Owner at Amanita, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
thank you very much.
This wedding was memorable.
Filaretos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We chose the Amanita based on the reviews on TA. I am pleased to say that we were not disappointed. The guest house is located near to the village which is an excellent base if you are interested in doing any walking. The Amanita was a little hard to find as we arrived late at night but we received some helpful directions in the village. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Filaretos and his wife, the owners.

The house is beautifully restored with a restrained elegance. Our room was one of the smaller ones but later in the week we were upgraded to one of the big suites which had 4 beds, a fireplace and a sea view. In any case, all the rooms have a great shower, a comfortable bed with quality bedding and lovely toiletries (Apvita). We fell asleep to the sound of crickets on the first night (there are insect screens on all the windows which is another great idea).

Breakfasts are huge, with home made breads, jams and a variety of Greek delicacies that Filaretos rustles up daily in the kitchen. Filaretos is on hand to help with advice and suggestions for any aspect of your stay and he is a real enthusiast for the local area. We were not staying at the right time to see mushrooms but if we had been we would definitely have liked to accompany him on a mushroom hunt. Our tip for eating out in Tsagkarada is the Aleka Taverna which had the best food of any restaurant we tried in the week.

All in all, the great attention to detail plus the courtesy and hospitality of the host put me in mind of experiences I have had in Japan - a country where if you have visited you will undoubtedly have experienced service of the highest standards.

If you are lucky with the weather the area is ideal for Autumnal walks through beautiful woods of beech and chestnut trees or down to one of the nearby beaches. On two occasions we had the beach entirely to ourselves as the season was officially over but the sea was still warm enough to swim (end Sept/early Oct).

We'd love to return to the area and the Amanita, perhaps in the Spring to see the wild flowers. A very relaxing stay: ideal if you are looking for peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea views are particularly nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Copper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Psimenos, Owner at Amanita, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
thank you very much for your so warm words. I feel .... a litle bit like a Japanese after this! hahaha.
I am looking forward to see you again. Tsagarada is beautiful at Spring.
Filaretos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Greece focusing on Pelion region. We chose to stay 2 nights with Fileratos and his family at their charming guest house. We have enjoyed every minute of our stay. Views were wonderful, location was unbeatable, a special and surprising breakfast and generous hosts. Could not ask for more. Thank you Filos, we will always remember Amanita.

Room Tip: Try one of the suites with the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yonit_Harel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Psimenos, Owner at Amanita, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Yonit thank you verry much.
We keep trying to do our best!
Filaretos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsagkarada
5.3 mi away
Aeolos Hotel
Aeolos Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chorefton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Kentrikon
Boutique Hotel Kentrikon
#2 of 3 in Agios Ioannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Minelska Resort
Hotel Minelska Resort
#1 of 3 in Kala Nera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Anovolios Boutique Hotel
Anovolios Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Agios Georgios Nilias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maistra
Maistra
#4 of 6 in Tsagkarada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amaltheia
Hotel Amaltheia
#5 of 6 in Tsagkarada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanita

Property: Amanita
Address: Tsagkarada 370 12, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Tsagkarada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tsagkarada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanita 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMANITA is situated in a truly privileged location between mountain and sea on the eastern slopes of Mt. Pelion in the genteel village of Tsangarada in the Prefecture of Magnesia, Greece. Behind it soars Mt. Pelion, ancient home of the Centaurs; a mountain much sung of; a mountain where the trees cast deep shade and countless springs bubble forth. Gazing outwards from the Guesthouse one sees the blue of the Aegean Sea, spotted with the islands of Skiathos, Skopelos and Alonnissos. All around is the verdant countryside of Tsangarada with its renowned paths, centuries old trees, old stone fountains and bridges.AMANITA is a beautifully restored old mansion of the 19th century. The AMANITA Guesthouse consists of two buildings: the three-storey main house and a two-storey outhouse. We offer 6 accommodation options, 5 of which are located in the main house (2 suites consisting of 2 rooms, 1 three-bed room and 2 double rooms), and a self-contained, fully fitted 2-room apartment with its own kitchenette in the outhouse. The main house has two sitting areas, a breakfast room and a professional kitchen. We attach great importance to local cuisine. That's why our famous breakfast that we serve includes hand-kneaded bread, home-made jam and local specialities such as pies and herby omelettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Amanita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanita Greece/Tsagkarada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing