We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amanita revisit”
Review of Amanita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amanita
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tsagkarada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

It was our second time visiting this great guest house and, I have to say, we should be visiting more often, as it has the ability to putting you back on track with what is essential and beautiful in life. Hospitable, comforting and carefully decorated premises giving a traditional flair with good taste; being in the guesthouse makes you feel like home. A fresh unique experience every day, starting from the breakfast delights to the magic of the surroundings and the many possibilities for leisure activities on this beautiful sweet mountain. Oweners make sure that you are pampered in a district and professional, yet traditional way. A highly recommended experience all together!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KATathens2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 302 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our second stay at Amanita for one of its famous mushroom-hunting weekends, and I must say it was even more enjoyable than the first as we now knew a few more things, thanks to the enthusiastic owner. The home-made breakfast, with many different marmelades, cheese-pies, cake, mushroom omelette, and a few more surprises was perfect, our room (Io) absolutely wonderful, very comfortable, with great views to the Aegean. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Amanita guesthouse is a real gem of Pelion mountain. We stayed in early July for 4 days while travelling as two young couples and had a great time. This is a seriously charming guesthouse with great décor, cozy atmosphere in the common areas, very nice terrace with amazing view at the sea and the surrounding area.
The hosts, Filaretos, Mariana and Nikos are very friendly, welcoming and willing to share their insight tips about the area, beaches, where to eat and what to do while staying there which is very helpful. We had the chance to go for mushroom hunting with Filaretos and even though at the end of the season, we were able to find some mushrooms and a delightful and tasty surprise: wild strawberries!
We stayed at “Aigaio” suite, which is wonderful, tastefully decorated and spacious.
The breakfast is a very special chapter: fresh juice, coffee, home made cakes, omelets with mushrooms, toasts, delicious marathopitakia (little pies with herbs) and other homemade pies, yoghurt with spoon sweets, fruits: highly recommended.
The location is also key, very close to some of the best beaches of the area and ideal for walking routes if you are into some physical exercise.
Overall it was a perfect choice for our summer vacation (combining perfectly mountain with sea) both Amanita guesthouse and Tsagarada village. We are looking forward to visiting again, especially for the “weekends’ experience” that they organize.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raniamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The area was fantastic, ideal for long walks and swimming. The hotel had very good facilities, was very clean and had great view to the see. The breakfast was absolutely amazing with great mushrooms omelet, fresh bread and cakes. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have heard from friends that there is a mushrooms experience weekend so we joined them.
The facilities of the small hotel were very good and the highlight was the breakfast with lots of home made delicacies like mushrooms omelette, various sweets, cakes etc. The mushroom safari was very good, our guide (owner of the hotel) Mr. Folaretos, with deep knowledge in botanology and mushrooms revealed to us all thew secrets in the first walk and then, the ones that wanted, joined a 4 wheel drive second safari, in the chess nut forest, where we found a lot of very nice and big mushrooms. In the afternoon, we had a mushrooms tasting experience accompanied by local wine, it was great for us and the children. The whole place is perfect for long weekends, including Tsagarada village, Mylpotamos nice beach & Mount Pelion in general.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iriskostas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at Amanita for two whole weeks in August 2012. We can not exaggerate in describing our heavenly time there. Filaretos, Mariana and Nik were warm, kind and helpful hosts, giving wonderful tips, delicious (huge and fresh!!) breakfast, always with a smile and with great patience. The room (Petrini Suite) was absolutely gorgeous. For us, Amanita was the perfect choice: it is located near the best beaches, restaurants and magnificent villages of Pelion, while it is peaceful, quiet home in the middle of the nature. We are looking forward to return to Amanita, missing the people and the place already.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yohay-and-Adi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

AMANITA is by far the best choice one has for staying in Tsaggarada in Pilio. It combines excellent accomodation together with a very intriguing mushroom hunting experience.
The host is brilliant, as, after the mushroom hunting on the mountain, he also organized an amazing evening with mushroom tastes, good wine and pleasant company.
I also need to note the fact that the breakfast is very original and by far exceeds what one expects from a standard hotel/BNB.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsagkarada
0.5 mi away
Maistra
Maistra
#3 of 6 in Tsagkarada
64 reviews
5.3 mi away
Aeolos Hotel
Aeolos Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chorefto
123 reviews
2.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Kentrikon
Boutique Hotel Kentrikon
#1 of 3 in Agios Ioannis
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Anovolios Boutique Hotel
Anovolios Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Agios Georgios Nilias
61 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Minelska Resort
Hotel Minelska Resort
#1 of 3 in Kala Nera
63 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Marabou
Hotel Marabou
#2 of 2 in Chorefto
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanita

Address: Tsagkarada 370 12, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Tsagkarada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tsagkarada
Price Range: $97 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanita 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMANITA is situated in a truly privileged location between mountain and sea on the eastern slopes of Mt. Pelion in the genteel village of Tsangarada in the Prefecture of Magnesia, Greece. Behind it soars Mt. Pelion, ancient home of the Centaurs; a mountain much sung of; a mountain where the trees cast deep shade and countless springs bubble forth. Gazing outwards from the Guesthouse one sees the blue of the Aegean Sea, spotted with the islands of Skiathos, Skopelos and Alonnissos. All around is the verdant countryside of Tsangarada with its renowned paths, centuries old trees, old stone fountains and bridges.AMANITA is a beautifully restored old mansion of the 19th century. The AMANITA Guesthouse consists of two buildings: the three-storey main house and a two-storey outhouse. We offer 6 accommodation options, 5 of which are located in the main house (2 suites consisting of 2 rooms, 1 three-bed room and 2 double rooms), and a self-contained, fully fitted 2-room apartment with its own kitchenette in the outhouse. The main house has two sitting areas, a breakfast room and a professional kitchen. We attach great importance to local cuisine. That's why our famous breakfast that we serve includes hand-kneaded bread, home-made jam and local specialities such as pies and herby omelettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Amanita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanita Greece/Tsagkarada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing