We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Charming”
Review of St Stefano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Stefano Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tsagkarada
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Absolutely Charming”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed at the St. Stefano for our honeymoon and couldn't have been happier. The "half board" meal arrangment was new to us and we were a bit leery - but the staff was so impeccable and amazing our worries were unfounded and we quickly fell into a great routine. You will not, bar none, find better staff service anywhere in Greece. Possibly anywhere in Europe! The rooms are neat, cozy and clean - very modern as well. The hotel lobby is gorgeous and the dining area makes you feel like you're in an old fashioned British boarding school - also in a cozy, fun way. If you're unsatisifed, ask Costa and he will fix it for you! In addition, you can't beat the views - one of the most beautiful areas we've seen.

Room Tip: The second floor is better for views - make sure you ask for a balcony that can see the water, if po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    2
    8
    9
See reviews for
8
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed a week in August 2011. The room was perfect. The Food very good and diverse, and very nice helpful staff too. The gardens behind the building could be better cleaned and prepared for a gathering during the summer between the guests. If you don't have car, no problem, you can walk, do hitchhiking, and take the early buses. A must: go walk in the woods to at least taxiarches, beautiful place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

After a long drive up a mountain to the hotel we were advised we had to pay 35 euro per person per day for food. This was a big dent in our budget and i had morning sickness during this trip and it wasn't like i was able to just eat whatever someone decided to feed me. The breakfast was the same thing each day. Dinner was nice but we had no choice in what we had to eat. Each morning we had to call down to the desk and let them know we needed hot water and if we spent all day at the beach and wanted hot water for a shower again we had to call and let them know. we were the only guest in the hotel and they made sure not to be put out because we were there! The lights in the hall outside of out room were always turned off we had to turn them on to see to walk down the stairs! Our shower leaked when we arrived and they told us it had to dry before they could fix it and then after some demanding we were moved to a room that had a working shower. Our view was blocked from the trees and we were told that the floor above us was closed. This hotel was clean and im sure it would have been better if we were not the only guest. There are some really nice pubs near by with great food and the beaches are amazing!

Room Tip: stay on the top floor for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Me and my wife spent a week here. The hotel is new and our room was spacious, clean and the furniture had a modern design and was in a great condition. Common area were very nicely decorated. From our balcony we could see the sea on the right over the tree tops and the mountain on the left. The staff was very friendly and they tried to make our stay very pleasant.
The hotel is located near the main road, very close to Tsagarada center. There are nice restaurants and pubs near by. The beaches are not so close but there's no problem if you have a car. The wonderful beach (imho) of Milopotamos is at 7-8 km away and Fakistra beach is 4 km away on a pretty steep descent. We made the trips even twice a day and it worth it.

And now the cons:
We knew that there was a mandatory half-board but we expected buffet (as other reviews suggested) but instead we had fixed menu. There was no choice if you didn't like the food served. They would improvise some low quality food like boiled chicken with mash potatoes made from potatoes flakes. Breakfast was dull. The same thing every day. And all that for "only" 35 euro per day per person.

One day we asked for a cold breakfast to go at 7am (breakfast started at 7:30). The manager said it was not possible. (!?) He offered coffee and cookies instead. This was very disappointing. How hard could it be to boil a few eggs and make some cold sandwiches and you can do it the night before while the kitchen staff is still there. This should not be a problem for a hotel with such high standards. This never happened to us before, anywhere we went. One of the staff (Costa) was incredible nice and just before we walked out the door he came with a small bag with toast with ham & cheese.

Also the rooms didn't had a safe deposit box and there was no alternatives at the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the last floor have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank horatiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed here with my husband for a weekend. Luckily the good reviews we read were right on.
The hotel is decorated very tastefully, we enjoyed every part . Our room was big & clean, the bathroom brand new, with nice furnishings & a large shower with a glass door (finally no shower curtain!). Nice balcony with a semi-sea view. It was very satisfying that what we saw in the hotel's website photos was exactly what we found.
The hotel staff were all extremely friendly & helpful, from the kitchen staff all the way up to the hotel manager. We felt very comfortable staying here.
The breakfast buffet was adequate, there were very few things missing.
Our only complaint was that there wasn't a fireplace in the room. This of course was not a big deal since we stayed during a summer weekend, but it would make a difference if we were planning to visit again in winter.
All in all, a very nice place to stay in Tsagarada!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRIEDA_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and looked after. Our room was spacious and well-appointed. The bed was clean and very comfortable. The shower room was a little on the small side, but there was always piping hot water. We had a lovely view of the coast from our window.
We stayed on a half-board basis. The evening meals were excellent, with plenty of variety through the week, and top quality Greek food beautifully prepared. The service was warm and friendly. There was a wide choice of options for breakfast, served with a similar high standard of service.
Gaitanos, the manager, was always present and approachable. His concern that guests should be comfortable and relaxed set the tone for the hotel's service. My wife and I have no hesitation in recommending a stay here.
As for the area, you do need a car. But within a few minutes drive there are beautiful mountains and villages, as well as several quiet, beautiful beaches. The tourist industry is low-key, and appears to be targetted mainly at the Greeks themselves. There are plenty of authentic tavernas, museums and other points of interest close by.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank konrad45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genk, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

This was the first time we stayed on the Greec mainland. Loving the Greec culture and food we have let us surprise by the area of Pillion. The hotel is situated almost in the centre of the Pillion peninsula, which allows you to get everywhere by car.
The hotel itself is magnificent and ist staff reflects that aswell. After a daytrip, they welcome you with that typical Greec warm hart, which is also seen with the local people.
Good trip adivise, excellent Greec food, clean rooms, nothing is too much to ask for.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoBrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsagkarada
0.0 mi away
Amanita
Amanita
#1 of 6 in Tsagkarada
285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anovolios Boutique Hotel
Anovolios Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Agios Georgios Nilias
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manthos Blue Hotel
Manthos Blue Hotel
#3 of 3 in Agios Ioannis
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aeolos Hotel
Aeolos Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chorefto
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leda Village Resort
Leda Village Resort
#1 of 2 in Chorto
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Stefano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Stefano Hotel

Property: St Stefano Hotel
Address: Tsagkarada 37012, Greece
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Tsagkarada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tsagkarada
Hotel Class:3 star — St Stefano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your St Stefano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Stefano Hotel Greece/Tsagkarada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing