We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Hotel Despotiko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Despotiko
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Portaria
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is a very nice hotel in Portaria - Location is beatiful, and the hotel is very clean and modern )lobby is fantastic!).
Service is polite and with a smile. Rooms are on the small side, but nothing that you can't handle. They are clean and nice )akthough the air conditioning is weird and it's not very clear how to make it work).
Breakfast is of high quality, and the overall atmosphere is very nice.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank primitivepios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    65
    27
    16
    8
See reviews for
64
110
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I visited the hotel this winter with my girlfriend and we were both very satisfied.Luxurius and large rooms with very comfortable beds.Located in a very nice place but the access is a little tricky.The staff was friendly and polite.Breakfast was good.A very calm and relaxing atmosfere.For sure we would be visiting again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tzortzis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Taking a look at the hotel's site will give you the impression of a very nice hotel! The truth is that the hotel is in a very nice location and the building is a beautiful one BUT the rooms are too small and highly overpriced!!! 2 people can barely move in the room and the bathroom is like a hole... The service is bad and the people working there are far away from being professional plus they are kind of rude!!!! The only thing that is positive is the tavern next to the hotel which is excellent!!! So in general this hotel is NOT value for money!!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank katerina1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Yes the hotel as a venue is really beautiful! The buildings are most typical of local architecture and style but that's it.
Bearing in mind it's a renovated old building, be prepared for tricking noises and sounds so opt for a room on the highest possible floor . Again stemming from its old building legacy the rooms are quite small and the bathroom even so.
The lounge areas are trying to pose as a posh lounge of a hype hotel but the attempt is vulgar.
In terms of services provided... It's better to allow for professionals to cater for guests rather than bad tempered locals which apparently is the case.
Value for money being a rational choice guide Despotikon is NOT the case.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NikosKatsinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Very nice hotel. Located in the village of Portaria. Tricky road to get to the hotel by car and you need to be very careful driving. Nice, clean and spacious rooms. Brekfast was ok. Could be improved though. But did not matter to me that much. Friendly and very polite staff. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AchTsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed 3 nights (married couple with a 2yr old toddler and some friends) 27-30 December 2013. We have been many times in Pelion and Portaria. I personally find Pelion the best all-around and winter destination in Greece because it has everything: Mountain, sea, forests, skiing, activities, amazing view, excellent food and it is only 3 hours drive from Athens (2 from Thessaloniki).
The hotel is located very close to the square of Portaria but in order to go there you have to walk a considerable 300-400 metres, half of which uphill.
Despotikon hotel was better than expected. We stayed at the old (renovated) building, which means that it was more traditional and matching with Portaria village but without a lift. It also means that in order to go to the breakfast area (also lobby with fireplace and sofas) you have to walk 50 metres outside.
In my opinion, the breakfast was excellent. I had tasty omelette, fried eggs, delicious honey with yoghurt, mpougatsa (Greek traditional sweet cream pie topped with sugar and cinnamon) and nutella but there were many other things to eat. I would personally add scrambled eggs and fresh squeezed orange juice (it was commercial) to make it the best breakfast ever.
Sleep quality was also excellent (great mattresses and pillows). Cleanliness was very good with some room for improvement. The cleaning lady by mistake took a towel of our own that we used for the kid but it could happen everywhere (it was also white).
The indoors playroom for the kids was cold (we had to ask the reception to turn the heat on) and did not have many toys. As a result, most children were playing at the lobby, around the fireplace and next to the breakfast area, creating a lot of noise. Obviously, we did not use the outside pool because of the cold but I liked the fact that it was full and clean.
Opposite the hotel there is one of the best (but expensive) restaurants of the whole region: "Geusokratoras". Make sure you make a reservation before you go because it is very popular but very small.
The hotel has its own parking area (basement and outside) which could be a great advantage in Portaria if it wasn't for the access. In my opinion, the biggest problem of the hotel is the car access. The road that connects the hotel with the main road is very narrow and can be very dangerous in case of snow. This road is a 2-way road which makes it a real nightmare when two cars face each other in the middle of the road. This means that one of the two has to reverse for at least 50 metres, which can be a real driving skills challenge. The entrance to the parking is also steep and low or long cars (mine, a Passat CC is both) can easily damage the lower part of their chassis on their way in or out. When the parking is full with cars, as it happened in my case, you need to make a lot of maneuvering. I was unlucky enough while I was reversing not to see a staircase and I heavily damaged the front right door.
We payed 135 Euro per night for a superior room (we wanted it big enough to take a baby cot) and our friends 110 Euro per night for a standard room. I consider the price relatively high, even taking into account the peak Christmas period.
All in all a great hotel but next time I would try a different one, only because of the car access.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wisdom21R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice design interior and exterior modern-industrial-with traditional looks outside to fit the area. The 1st reception staff we met was unfriendly and unwelcoming, however other staff were. On breakfast u have to pay extra for cappuccino or espresso, apparently only filter coffee included in the, just adequate for such a hotel class breakfast, thi was rather dissapointing. No origin of breakfast products stated and especially not origin of honey (country and floral origin) as it is legislated now in Greece, so I dont know if what i am eating is Bulgarian honey (3€/kg) or Greek (5-15€/kg). One would expect MORE value for money and guest focused attitude, especially this era. Breakfast and reception attitude of SOME of the staff would suit more to a budget hotel. People setting the breakfast were apparently poorly trained as cuttlery was placed to tables by holding them from the front part (the one u put in your mouth) with bare hands.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PriestsDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portaria
0.2 mi away
Erofili Hotel
Erofili Hotel
#3 of 12 in Portaria
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stevalia Hotel & Spa
Stevalia Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Portaria
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Xenia Palace
Xenia Palace
#6 of 12 in Portaria
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pelion Resort
Pelion Resort
#2 of 12 in Portaria
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Naoumidis Guest House
Naoumidis Guest House
#4 of 12 in Portaria
70 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Aegli
Hotel Aegli
#4 of 32 in Volos
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Despotiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Despotiko

Property: Hotel Despotiko
Address: Pelion, Portaria, Volos 370 11, Greece
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos > Portaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Despotiko 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Despotiko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arhontiko Despotiko Hotel Portaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing