We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite experience!”
Review of Hotel Despotiko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Despotiko
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Portaria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

It's only been a week since we left and we are already looking forward to come back! It was a privillege for us to share our wedding day and christening of our son, with our friends and family in this hotel. Not only has the personel made it so pleasant for all of us but unforgetable too. Moreover the rooms in all four different buildings have a unique character offering magnificent view and all kind of utilities and services. I feel that the heart of Despotiko is the indispensable hotel manager who makes you feel like home and is always eager to help. He is the man who can make a wish happen..See you soon.............Despotiko!!!

Room Tip: The corner suite is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris A, Manager at Hotel Despotiko, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your glowing review.

I am delighted to hear that you found the hotel to be perfect in every way. We aim to provide the best service possible, going above and beyond our guests’ expectations.

We hope to welcome you back to Despotiko soon.

Warm Regards,

Dimitris Amountzias
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 227 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

it was our 2nd visit to the Despotitico Hotel. we stayed 4 nights and we loved evry minute of it. the roomes are very well designed, the view is breathtaking, the breakfast is very good, and the manger is very nice, helpful, and capable. last but not least the place is very clean. we would love to come again.

Room Tip: each room has its own character. they are all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyal g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris A, Manager at Hotel Despotiko, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Despotiko.

We pride ourselves in offering friendly and welcoming service and I hope you found this to be the case throughout the hotel.

I hope that you will return to Despotiko -for your third visit- soon and continue to enjoy all the hotel has to offer.

Warm Regards,

Dimitris Amountzias
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed at Despotiko for one night as a part of a wedding ceremony. The resort consists of 4 diffrent buldings accross a local traditional street. The best bulding to stay is the traditional 19 century Arxontiko which has been renovated without loosing anything of its old flavor. Hotel has a wonderful view to the sea, a great outdoor pool for the summer months and the rooms can be treated as a 5* accomodation type. Big plus for the resort is the personal treatment that is mainly because of the attitude of the general manager. He personally run all the special demands a customer may have. Just try him.

Just one little minus is the breakfast. It is just decent maybe because of the great expectations you may have as part of all the othe unique experience Despotiko can offer a client.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the old Arxontiko lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xpatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris A, Manager at Hotel Despotiko, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and positive review of our hotel.

We really appreciate it when our guests go the extra mile to acknowledge the customer service standards and attention to detail that we pride ourselves on. It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay and we can't wait to welcome you again to Despotiko on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Dimitris Amountzias
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This "luxury"hotel is situated amidts a lot of houses in the narrow streets of this nice mountain "village".All the close neighbours have dogs who bark continuousley during daytime, which is not very relaxing if you want to sit on the wimming pool....
The old part (just a few rooms) are in a classy old stylish building, apart from the "modern" wing of the hotel:ultra modern design in the lobby/bar/breakfast room. Breakfast is average for a luxury establishment: unfrozen bread, fried eggs cooked since long time and luke-warm , no freshly squeezed juice a.s.o.
Overal service, allthough being kind, is done by friendly staff without a professional "look" (uniform,)
No wifi in the rooms.
Very difficlut acces by (even small)car through extremely narrow steep streets, and hotel not well indicated.For dinner a 10' walk over de dark cobblestone streets is necessary to reach the center with a good choice of restaurants(try Kritsa's, !)
All by all, one would expect more from a "luxury" hotel at about 100€ in low season.

Room Tip: Try to book a room in the old building: stylish decoration and antique furniture (but no lift)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Being here for a night is all I regret for, wish I could stay more. The service was excellent, the room is superb and the chilling atmosphere unique, is one of the most relaxing modern and beautifully architecture places I have ever been. Well done guys!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyVrns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris A, Manager at Hotel Despotiko, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the trouble to share you experience with other travellers on TripAdvisor.

I am so pleased that you had a fabulous time at Despotiko. It truly is our aim to ensure that our esteemed guests are comfortable, and I am glad this was also the case for you.

We look forward to your return in the future.

Warm Regards,

Dimitris Amountzias
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Nice hotel with helpful staff but a horrible manager. We were 2 couples with 2 children and asked for superior rooms with city view on Volos. We called the hotel twice to confirm the reservation and when we arrived the manager showed us 2 small rooms with NO city view and just next to the noise of the pool. When we asked for the Volos view superior rooms he said that these are appropriate for us!!!! When we asked for other options or we'd rather leave he said that he has 2 rooms which are "smaller". The "smaller" rooms were much bigger than the original showed and with a great Volos view and pool view!!! Amazing amateur manager.
He criticized and made comments at the hotel staff (which was really helpful) in front of the clients and he was always complaining loudly to them (I've never seen that in any hotel!!!!)
Sorry but this hotel which has costed a lot for renew worths a real manager.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Spent a weekend this summer at Despotiko. We were given a family room, which is two levels with a double and 2 single beds. Room was very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated with great view over Volos. The only handicap is that because of the high roof- attic style, the airconditioning takes time to cool the upper level. The breakfast was fantastic, with a choice of local specialties. A bonus feature for the summer is the pool, which we made full use of during our short stay. Very relaxing atmosphere and very friendly staff ready to cater all your needs. A wedding reception took place on the Saturday evening but we were not disturbed at all. Well done Dimitris - the hotel manager who seems to be around all the time! Will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Portaria is better known as a autumn-winter destination due to its location near the ski resort at C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diver2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris A, Manager at Hotel Despotiko, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your review following your stay.

We were proud that you had chosen Hotel Despotiko for your visit to Portaria. We would like to thank you for your fantastic comments on the staff and the hotel. It was a pleasure to look after you and I have shared your great feedback with my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Dimitris Amountzias
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portaria
0.2 mi away
Erofili Hotel
Erofili Hotel
#5 of 12 in Portaria
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stevalia Hotel & Spa
Stevalia Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Portaria
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelion Resort
Pelion Resort
#3 of 12 in Portaria
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Xenia Palace
Xenia Palace
#8 of 12 in Portaria
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Naoumidis Guest House
Naoumidis Guest House
#4 of 12 in Portaria
73 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Aegli
Hotel Aegli
#3 of 33 in Volos
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Despotiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Despotiko

Address: Pelion, Portaria, Volos 370 11, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos > Portaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Portaria
Price Range: $65 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Despotiko 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Despotiko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arhontiko Despotiko Hotel Portaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing