We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok if you like dog barking all around”
Review of Hotel Despotiko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Despotiko
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Portaria
Certificate of Excellence
belgique
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Ok if you like dog barking all around”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This "luxury"hotel is situated amidts a lot of houses in the narrow streets of this nice mountain "village".All the close neighbours have dogs who bark continuousley during daytime, which is not very relaxing if you want to sit on the wimming pool....
The old part (just a few rooms) are in a classy old stylish building, apart from the "modern" wing of the hotel:ultra modern design in the lobby/bar/breakfast room. Breakfast is average for a luxury establishment: unfrozen bread, fried eggs cooked since long time and luke-warm , no freshly squeezed juice a.s.o.
Overal service, allthough being kind, is done by friendly staff without a professional "look" (uniform,)
No wifi in the rooms.
Very difficlut acces by (even small)car through extremely narrow steep streets, and hotel not well indicated.For dinner a 10' walk over de dark cobblestone streets is necessary to reach the center with a good choice of restaurants(try Kritsa's, !)
All by all, one would expect more from a "luxury" hotel at about 100€ in low season.

Room Tip: Try to book a room in the old building: stylish decoration and antique furniture (but no lift)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    64
    27
    16
    8
See reviews for
62
108
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Being here for a night is all I regret for, wish I could stay more. The service was excellent, the room is superb and the chilling atmosphere unique, is one of the most relaxing modern and beautifully architecture places I have ever been. Well done guys!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyVrns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris A, Manager at Hotel Despotiko, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the trouble to share you experience with other travellers on TripAdvisor.

I am so pleased that you had a fabulous time at Despotiko. It truly is our aim to ensure that our esteemed guests are comfortable, and I am glad this was also the case for you.

We look forward to your return in the future.

Warm Regards,

Dimitris Amountzias
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Nice hotel with helpful staff but a horrible manager. We were 2 couples with 2 children and asked for superior rooms with city view on Volos. We called the hotel twice to confirm the reservation and when we arrived the manager showed us 2 small rooms with NO city view and just next to the noise of the pool. When we asked for the Volos view superior rooms he said that these are appropriate for us!!!! When we asked for other options or we'd rather leave he said that he has 2 rooms which are "smaller". The "smaller" rooms were much bigger than the original showed and with a great Volos view and pool view!!! Amazing amateur manager.
He criticized and made comments at the hotel staff (which was really helpful) in front of the clients and he was always complaining loudly to them (I've never seen that in any hotel!!!!)
Sorry but this hotel which has costed a lot for renew worths a real manager.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Spent a weekend this summer at Despotiko. We were given a family room, which is two levels with a double and 2 single beds. Room was very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated with great view over Volos. The only handicap is that because of the high roof- attic style, the airconditioning takes time to cool the upper level. The breakfast was fantastic, with a choice of local specialties. A bonus feature for the summer is the pool, which we made full use of during our short stay. Very relaxing atmosphere and very friendly staff ready to cater all your needs. A wedding reception took place on the Saturday evening but we were not disturbed at all. Well done Dimitris - the hotel manager who seems to be around all the time! Will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Portaria is better known as a autumn-winter destination due to its location near the ski resort at C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diver2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris A, Manager at Hotel Despotiko, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your review following your stay.

We were proud that you had chosen Hotel Despotiko for your visit to Portaria. We would like to thank you for your fantastic comments on the staff and the hotel. It was a pleasure to look after you and I have shared your great feedback with my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Dimitris Amountzias
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Portaria is a graphic village in the Pilion region of Greece. It is a two km walk from another pretty village, Makrynitsa. Both are cool in the Summer months and especially lovely in the evenings.

Despotiko has great management. Demetris, the Manager goes out of his way to keep everyone happy and always with a smile on his face. I would suggest looking at all three buildings and then deciding on a room if it is at all possible. Every one is different, and each room in the Old Archontiko is also different. We were a group of nine and after some room changes we all ended up happy. The road leading up to the hotel from the main road is narrow and cobbled but most cars seemed to go up and down just fine. We had some minor issues with our 9-seater so decided to park in the free village parking lot and walk down to the hotel, through the small village streets, a very pleasant walk indeed, especially after the kind of meals we were having!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank objective12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris A, Manager at Hotel Despotiko, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experience with other travellers on TripAdvisor.

I am so pleased that you and your friends had a fabulous time at Despotiko. It truly is our aim to ensure that our esteemed quests are comfortable, and I am glad that this was also the case for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,

Dimitris Amountzias
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have stayed at Despotiko Hotel in late July. It is a very nice hotel located in one of the nicest villages of Pelion; Portaria. We have stayed in a family room in the new building of the hotel. The room was very nice and comfortable. There was a separate level/ floor in the room for the children to sleep. This gives you a feeling of privacy. The bathroom was spacious and all the furniture was modern and cozy. There was even a fireplace in the room for those who want to visit the hotel in the winter. The only limitations of the room were the following: tv channels were not working, there is no place (ie there isn´t a small balcony) to put towels and swimsuits to dry, there is no coffee machine or kettle in the room. Breakfast was ok (not much of a variety but of good quality).

The hotel has great views of Volos. The place around the swimming pool is very nice but there are not many sun beds for the hotel guests to use.

The owner Mr Demetris is very friendly and very helpful giving us all the information we asked for. The rest of the staff is friendly too though the service could improve (maybe hire more staff during the busy months). Unfortunately the hotel does not offer food (apart from breakfast) thus we had to go out for lunch and dinner. It would be nice if we could have a snack by the pool and not have to go out in search of food.

The road that leads to the hotel is indeed very narrow (one car at a time). I hope that the owner´s efforts for the road to become one way will be successful. Fortunately there is parking space.

Overall the hotel is much recommended since it has its very own character, combining traditional with modern, friendly staff, great view and much more. A hidden little jewel in the heart of Portaria!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris A, Manager at Hotel Despotiko, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback from your recent stay with us.

I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your family stay at Despotiko as well as all the extra little touches in the room. I will be sharing your kind comments with my team, and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Dimitris Amountzias
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel is a very nice hotel in a beautiful place in the magical village of Portaria. The swimming pool is nice and the breakfast was good. The hotel is situated in a very old area and arriving to the hotel with a car is not an easy task... However- It's worth it!! Portaria is a very nice location with a good restaurants and very close to Makrinitzia (5 minuets by car).

Room Tip: We have stayed in a new buliding of the hotel and the rooms were in a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaya40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris A, Manager at Hotel Despotiko, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

I appreciate the time you have taken to write your brilliant review.

Thank you for your great description of our surrounding areas and highlighting what a brilliant location we have, I am sure your fellow travellers will appreciate your feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Dimitris Amountzias
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portaria
0.2 mi away
Erofili Hotel
Erofili Hotel
#3 of 12 in Portaria
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stevalia Hotel & Spa
Stevalia Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Portaria
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelion Resort
Pelion Resort
#2 of 12 in Portaria
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Xenia Palace
Xenia Palace
#6 of 12 in Portaria
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Naoumidis Guest House
Naoumidis Guest House
#4 of 12 in Portaria
69 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Aegli
Hotel Aegli
#4 of 32 in Volos
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Despotiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Despotiko

Property: Hotel Despotiko
Address: Pelion, Portaria, Volos 370 11, Greece
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos > Portaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Portaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Despotiko 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Despotiko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arhontiko Despotiko Hotel Portaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing