We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit,so must be enjoying it”
Review of Hotel Despotiko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Despotiko
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Portaria
Certificate of Excellence
Naxos, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Second Visit,so must be enjoying it”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

It was highly reccomended to us 2 years ago and we tried it.We had the apartment for 4 with the 2 levels in the new building above the reception.It was marvelous.Very clean ,spacious and we had a nice view to Volos.All the stuff was very friendly ,smilling and ready to help you.
First of all ,Dimitris the manager.From the first time he welcomed us and he made us feeling like at home.All his advice,for lunch,dinner was excellent.Breakfast was rich .We tried horse riding.We had 5 nights stay,and really enjuyed it.So we decided to visit Despotiko again on January 2011.We had the same apartment.We saw a lot of people/tourists that we had met them the previous year.We are planning our nest trip!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonisefi2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris A, Manager at Hotel Despotiko, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your wonderful experience with other travellers on TripAdvisor.

I am thrilled that your stay was seamless and perfect in every way. We are committed to providing each and every guest with a wonderful and memorable experience and I am so pleased that was evident in your case.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With Kind Regards,

Dimitris Amountzias
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    64
    27
    16
    8
See reviews for
62
108
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Top service from Dimitris - receptionist/ manager! Almost 2 different hotels - old part grand and spacious - new part modern and slick - both excellent. Great breakfast - remember to ask for espresso coffee. A tough approach on the driveway - very narrow. Park at crossoads below or town square if in a large car or van.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris A, Manager at Hotel Despotiko, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

We look forward to your return, and in the meantime if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With Kind Regards,

Dimitris Amountzias
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We had a wonderful 2 night stay here before heading out to an Agean island via Volos.
The staff was hardworking and always pleasant. Dimtri was especially helpful with everything.
The lobby is modern and creatively decorated.

The rooms are clean and stylish and the beds were very comfortable. They even washed our van!

Dimitri recommended Kritsa and we ate there both nights we enjoyed it so much the first night.
They also had a playroom and highchairs!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swimmyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris A, Manager at Hotel Despotiko, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the trouble to share you experience with other travellers on TripAdvisor.

I am so pleased that you had a fabulous time at Despotiko. It truly is our aim to ensure that our esteemed guests are comfortable, and I am glad this was also the case for you.

We look forward to your return in the future.

Warm Regards,

Dimitris Amountzias
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

This hotel really made a good impression on me and my wife from the very beginning. Entering the beautiful lobby, we came across the very friendly manager of the hotel, who was ready to give us excellent guidelines and tips for our short stay in Portaria. He seemed and he was very eager to provide us with everything we may need during our stay.

We stayed at the superior suite. The room was super clean and cosy with an embedded fireplace and a large bathroom. The promised view at the Pagasitic Gulf wasn't as good as expected but all in all the scenery was fantastic.

In general it was a good experience and please if you visit Portaria and Despotiko DO NOT miss the nearby restaurant "Geusokratoras".

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmoisidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris A, Manager at Hotel Despotiko, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers on TripAdvisor.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to providing each and every guest with a wonderful and memorable experience and I am pleased that this was evident in your case.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With Kind Regards,

Dimitris Amountzias
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Stayed there for a weekend with my husband and 6 years old twins. The hotel lobby is really one of the most nicely and stylish decorated lobby's I 've ever visit. BEST OF : the idea with the woods floating above the bar !!! The owner is always there ready to help you with a big smile. Staff is friendly, helpfull and very kind to children.Our room 233, was not spacious ( this is the only problem I found) but was wonderfully decorated so it really did not matter. Had a stylish bathroom inside the room cleverly hidden with curtains and a mezzanine with a separate TV ( where children slept). Beds are big, comfortable and relaxing. And last but not least BREAKFAST is GREAT. Really looking forward to visit the hotel in the winter.

The only problem is that is not very spacious.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AYAGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris A, Manager at Hotel Despotiko, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your complimentary review.

I am thrilled that your stay was seamless and perfect in every way. We are committed to providing each and every guest with a memorable experience and I am pleased that this was evident in your case.

We look forward to welcoming back you and your family soon.

Warm Regards,

Dimitris Amountzias
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2010

My wife and me spent our short honeymoon at Despotiko Hotel in Portaria, we really enjoyed the cleanliness of our room, the good recommendations of the staff on region and restaurants and the decoration of our room and public areas.
Although it must be said that we had no reservation, once they found out we were there on honeymoon they brought us a bottle of champagne, fresh fruits and a few white roses, thank you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick_thessalonik2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris A, Manager at Hotel Despotiko, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your complimentary review.

I am so pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your stay tremendously.

Whatever the occasion, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Kind Regards,

Dimitris Amountzias
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens, greece
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Having travelled around Europe we must say that what we value the most in terms of hotel rating is consistency and professionalism on behalf of the hotel's management. Seeking for a kind-of boutique hotel in a traditional village such as Portaria, also means that we were willing to pay more in order to avoid unpleasant surprises that one may face in family-run, traditional lodgings in Greece.
Unfortunately, Despotiko didn't escape this"tradition". After having visited a very carefully designed website, where one sees photos of "Laura-Ashley"-like decorated rooms, in an old (famous) traditional mansion, offering "sea" view for an elevated price (compared to those with "mountain" view) we contacted the hotel and personally made the arrangements via telephone so as to secure the sea view, a fireplace and a larger room to spend a relaxing weekend. The manager reassured us (more than once) that we would “definitely adore” our room and requested -as is common in Greece- a deposit of the first night's charge (i.e 125 euros).
Well, in short, we were put in the newly build section of the hotel (not the mansion), where the rooms were "cute" but small and not at all like what we saw on the website, our "sea view" was the roof and chimney of the house opposite to our building and the fireplace would not work because the wood provided was dripping wet. What is worse, the manager seemed to think that everything was as it should be and that "sea view” equals "being able to partly glimpse the blue of the horizon on the one side of the opposite chimney using binoculars ".
Beyond that, the hotel offers a very modern but warmly decorated lobby with a fireplace, free wireless internet access which we found to be its strongest point. The staff seems untrained but the service comes with a smile so I guess it's ok. Breakfast is average, its weakest point being that they fail to keep the buffet food warm (and it is really a pity eating your fried eggs and bacon cold)!
To sum up, as we pointed out to the manager when checking out, it is a shame (not to mention stupid) having invested some serious money in renovating and building a boutique hotel in Portaria and think that it' s ok to fool your own customer because you have already secured the 125 euros deposit! This beautiful village has a number of better value hotels offering what they promise for relatively lower cost to the traveller.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eliAthens_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris A, Manager at Hotel Despotiko, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

I thank you for taking the time to share the experience you have had at Despotiko during your stay.

We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service; I am very disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay.

Kind Regards,

Dimitris Amountzias
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portaria
0.2 mi away
Erofili Hotel
Erofili Hotel
#3 of 12 in Portaria
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stevalia Hotel & Spa
Stevalia Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Portaria
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelion Resort
Pelion Resort
#2 of 12 in Portaria
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Xenia Palace
Xenia Palace
#5 of 12 in Portaria
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Naoumidis Guest House
Naoumidis Guest House
#4 of 12 in Portaria
70 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Aegli
Hotel Aegli
#5 of 32 in Volos
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Despotiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Despotiko

Property: Hotel Despotiko
Address: Pelion, Portaria, Volos 370 11, Greece
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos > Portaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Portaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Despotiko 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Despotiko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arhontiko Despotiko Hotel Portaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing