We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel not worth the 4 stars”
Review of Portaria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portaria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Portaria
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Having checked out the website before booking our room I was expecting much more... so I was unpleasantly surprised to find out that in reality this hotel has an overall average feel to it. We stayed in a standard room which was small, looking dated, with 3 small windows facing at the back. The bathroom was ok. The room was probably clean but did not feel like it... I cannot pin it down to something in particular but I wouldn't rush back in a hurry.

We paid 75E/night (special arrangement as wedding guests) an ok price I guess for Greece in July. However I tend to find that this is a generalised standard room price for very average rooms around the country... not value for money.

The food was bland & uninspired.
The pool was small but functional.
The location is very pretty & the reception of the wedding was lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colourpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portaria1, Guest Relations Manager at Portaria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay. I was disappointed to read that you did not entirely happy with your stay and that you found your room was not what you were expecting.

I take your comments very seriously and I hope to establish the rooms that you are referring to and the staff members that were dealing with you.

I was happy that you found the service provided by banqueting team team was to your satisfaction and you enjoyed the wedding reception .

Thank you again for your review and I hope that you do re-consider and return to the hotel and see the improvements that have been made.

Yours sincerely,

Olga Tzima
Guest Relations
Portaria Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 221 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2011

Maybe the hotel with the worst value for money i have ever visited.
We paid 100 euros for a room that was just 4 walls and a bad view to the road.
All the people working in the hotel were unfriendly and guess what, the spa was closed for maintenance without having informd the guests.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kourkoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portaria1, Guest Relations Manager at Portaria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

Dear Kourkoulos

Thank you for your review. I was very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay and you found that our Hotel is not good value for money.
The hotel located on mountain and have some rooms with back view and the rest with front view. The prices of our hotel rooms fluctuate depending on the availability of rooms in the hotel and of course the room type. If you book early there are some fantastic offers that can be taken advantage of.
Althougth every guest can visit the hotel's official web site and can choose a variety of room types.
Also i would like to inform you that all rooms being renovated on 2009.
Despite this the behaviour and staff atidute issues are not acceptable and this will be addressed with the personnel team at the hotel.
I do apologise also that you have been not get infromed about Spa maintaince while you stay at the hotel.

We hope that you will return to the hotel again in the future and so you can see the changes and improvements that have been made to the hotel product.

Thank you again for your review.

Yous Sincerely

Olga Tzima
Guest Relations
Portaria Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Very nice hotel. The services weree good but the value of money could be better as we realised from other suites in the site

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kostas21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I thought that it was a waste of money.No front desk service.The facilities were not great.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank koutsouni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2007

The hotel is located just 5-10 minutes walk above the lovely village of Portaria. From most of the rooms you have a splendid view over the
bay and city of Volos which can be accessed only by car in about 30 minutes along a windy but scenic road. The hotel is divided into several houses with no central hallway. Therefore you have to walk along the parking site in front of the hotel in order to access the wellness area. Swimming pool and fitness room cost an extra charge of 15,- EUR per day and sauna another 10,- EUR per person on top. Therefore we never saw people using it and this seems to be intended.
We had a spacious junior suite with our own fire place. But when we lit the fire, the whole room was full of smoke despite a closed glas fire door. It seemed that others had the same problem since the room smelled already smoky on the day of our arrival.

The personnel at the reception seems not be prepared for foreigners even though they spoke English quite reasonably. Different people were not very helpful and we always had the impression that they were glad when we did not bother them with questions. One highlight was the breakfast with a wide variety of fruit, bread, cake, cereals,
cheese, omelette, sausages, fresh pressed orange juice, mountain tea etc.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank pesiwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Niki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theodorou_Hatzidakis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Portaria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded today
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
Thank Meltem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portaria hotels
0.3 mi away
Pelion Resort
Pelion Resort
#4 of 12 in Portaria
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Erofili Hotel
Erofili Hotel
#5 of 12 in Portaria
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Despotiko
Hotel Despotiko
#9 of 12 in Portaria
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stevalia Hotel & Spa
Stevalia Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Portaria
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valeni Boutique Hotel
Valeni Boutique Hotel
#8 of 12 in Portaria
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Xenia Palace
Xenia Palace
#6 of 12 in Portaria
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portaria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portaria Hotel

Address: Portaria, Volos 370 11, Greece
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos > Portaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Portaria
Price Range: $46 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portaria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portaria Hotel has been built to combine respect for the traditional architecture of Mt. Pelion with all modern comforts. It is located 12 km from Volos, 12 km from the Ski centre of Mt. Pelion and only 40 minutes away from the deep blue beaches of East Pelion: Agios Ioannis, Plaka and Papa Nero. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portaria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing