We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel in portaria”
Review of Kritsa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kritsa Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Portaria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ithaca, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing hotel in portaria”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

my three friends and I stayed at this lovely hotel in Portaria last March. It is a very cozy hotel located in the heart of the village, right on the main square. The area is so beautiful and there are many things to do around (hiking, walking, skiing, etc..)
Just a short drive from Volos, and close to Makrinitsa.
The hotel itself was GREAT! the beds comfortable, clean room, and very friendly staff. The BEST part was the BREAKFAST!!! Huge buffet with the most fresh ingredients and all were homemade!
We will be back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    22
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
47
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
xr
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The place and people are wonderfull .
Breakfast is fine with big selection .
Dinner is the best possible way to know Greek kitchen .
If you take the H.B. plan -you have a great deal !!

Dan Gordon ,Israel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Greece focusing on Pelion area. Portaria and Kritsa were a great choice. Rooms are beautifully decorated with a homey feeling and the area has some really nice shops around. Owner is welcoming and restaurant is the best in the area. Already waiting for our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a porch, we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yonit_Harel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREECE&CYPRUS
Level 6 Contributor
1,551 reviews
314 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,964 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Although we did not have the opportunity to stay at the hotel this time, yet I asked the owner to show me around only to know what to expect when I return.

The rooms might not be that big but they have a style, charm and a warm ambience. They have an air of romance but also touches of the countryside. The whole package is dreamy.

I honestly wanted to extend our stay if I could but it was not possible, however we have already made a booking for spring so we shall be back. There is no way a guest not be satisfied. The rooms won’t disappoint you, but you won’t be disappointed with the cuisine of the restaurant and the people running this business either.

Service Impeccable, Cleanliness Top! Excellent value for money!
Wi Fi connection free.

Although we were not staying in the hotel, yet we came here for breakfast. The variety was big, and breakfast could fill you up till late afternoon. Fresh homemade pies, fresh orange juice, eggs, cakes, fruit, rice puddings, local honey and marmalades, different kinds of cereals and so much more, enough to satisfy the extremely demanding guest.

I could describe as “a precious gem”.

Thank you ladies for the high standards you offer. We shall surely be back. When we had to say goodbye it was hard and we knew that we left behind friends. See you soon!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the side of the restaurant with the plane trees and the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We visited Portaria in August 2013 and stayed at the Kritsa hotel based on good reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. The hotel has a lot of charm and decorated with a typical Greek "village" feel.

The rooms were cozy and clean. We had a suite-type room (two bedrooms) to accommodate our family of 5. The kids room had toys that made the kids feel welcome. They played with the toys and had fun. There was also a TV, but small and no programming in English (but the lack of English programming is actually true for every hotel we stayed at in Greece - so bring your iPads...)

The shower in the room was very small and uncomfortable (no tub). There was hardly a place to hang the shower head.

The breakfast had a good variety and was tasty - but go early, otherwise you'll be eating cold food.

The hotel's restaurant was very good - probably the best in Portaria. Had dinners there a few times and every dish was a success.

Room Tip: There are no elevators and the stairs are narrow - so if you have a problem climbing stairs, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have been coming to Portaria now for some years . The food and service here remain good, even though i noticed this summer that one of the competing tavernas has closed down. Recomended.We were not disapointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12SLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Kritsa Hotel. We had reserved a quad room for four adults. Upon arrival, the son of the owner gave us two separate rooms for the same price, indicating the quad was not adequate for four adults. This hotel is more like a bed and breakfast. The owners are ever present, offering warm, gracious Greek hospitality. The food is outstanding. The breakfast spread includes local, homemade delicacies, and the dinners, even with a limited menu, are wonderful. The hotel is housed in a very old building in the center of the small, beautiful, mountain town overlooking the city of Volos. Large pots of hydrangeas beautify the terrace outside the hotel. It is just an exquisite setting. The hotel is clean and well kept. If you are looking for a luxury hotel, this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for a charming, clean, homey place that offers all of the necessities for a comfortable stay, you have found it at the Kritsa Hotel. We cannot say enough about the service and hospitality we received.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portaria
0.1 mi away
Erofili Hotel
Erofili Hotel
#3 of 12 in Portaria
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Naoumidis Guest House
Naoumidis Guest House
#4 of 12 in Portaria
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Despotiko
Hotel Despotiko
#6 of 12 in Portaria
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelion Resort
Pelion Resort
#2 of 12 in Portaria
202 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Aegli
Hotel Aegli
#4 of 32 in Volos
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belina
Hotel Belina
#2 of 27 in Portaria
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kritsa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kritsa Hotel

Property: Kritsa Hotel
Address: Central Square Portarias, Portaria, Volos 370 11, Greece
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos > Portaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Portaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kritsa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kritsa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing