We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem not to be missed!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pythagorion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santa Catherina Hotel
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Pythagorion
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

If you enjoy scenic walks or plan to rent a car or scooter on Samos (which you should anyway) this is a fantastic place. The rooms (really apartments) are huge and there's even a kitchen with an oven and all sorts of kitchen utilities. Most apartments have large balconys and the view is AMAZING! (Best in Samos).

The pool is really big and there's a gym. If you're into crossfit, the nearby hills provide an awesome workout.

Just ask the owner George if you need anything and he'll try to get it for you (like lobster :-). Maria who also works there takes great care of everyone and has a big heart! The authentic breakfast was a pleasure each day.

Wow!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erithano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
21
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I have visited Samos last July and we were recommended that we stayed at Santa Catherina. Everything was excellent. The hotel was easy to find, everybody was very friendly and ready to help us with any of our requests. The room was extremely clean and the pool area was wonderful. We both hope we will visit Samos again soon and stay at this exquisite hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed at the santa catherina for 2 weeks in september 2012,and found all the negatives comments to be valid.
Sheets and Towels werent changed for over 5 days until we complained and the floor was swept once in the fortnight.
Overall George lived up to his bad press.
Cannot blame the two girls as they were exploited to the hilt by the owner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank libbylots2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pythagorion hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have just returned from another week in SC (having first gone in July!) and had a brilliant time!We love the spacious rooms, stunning views and large pool. The staff are always friendly and helpfuland you can't beat the value for money! Car is advisable particularly as there are so many fantastic places to visit and it's not expensive.But you can easily walk down into town and the taxi is only 6 euros back.We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mevagissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

The hotel offers unbeatable views, peaceful setting and reasonable apartments cleanly wise, beds are comfortable enough. Air con only facilites
one bedroom.The sun loungers around the pool are back breaking as mattresses have been overlooked!! The pool snack bar is under staffed and almost redundant. This was a disappointment as
there s no shop to hand for refreshments and guests missed for the social side of a lively bar. As previously mentioned the hotel is souless but with a few obvious changes would be worth a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darcyfrankiebobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have just stayed at the santa catherina hotel for a week, The pool was always clean and Nelly and the other members of staff were always very sweet and helpful. George is a relly sweet man and is happy to take you into town and each night we got a lift back with him and never any fuss. The aprtments are basic but have all the tools you would need for selfcatering. They are very big rooms, bigger than some flats in england that I have seen. I would say the only promblem with it is that thompsons have misrespentated them, the hill on which the hotel is is massive and not a 20 min walk into town, more like 50 and everyone we spoke to there agreed and had we all know would of hired a car as this is a must have if not taking taxis, it is not 5 mins from the sea although you can see it with the lovely views. Its a very sleepy greek town which gives it its charm and the weather and food was to die for. We ate at geroges a few times and the staff are lovely. I would say if you want a peacful hoilday with not alot going on, this is perfect, you will need a car otherwise hiking boots would be recommended. The hoilday is what you make it, we have a good time but did feel restricted by the massive hill. There are no families that we saw other than ours so if your taking kids, I would look for anyother place with children, saying gergoe and his girls were very sweet towards my little one I think it was a little boarding for her, but she did have the little kids pool all to herself all week.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the top as we were kept awake by the nosie people upstairs, also ask for two pillo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My friends and I have just returned from a week's stay at Santa Catherina and we could not believe what a fantastic place this, and Samos, is. We experienced a warm and friendly welcome from Nelly and from there our holiday just got better and better. The reception to the hotel is stunning, clean and cool, and just beyond the balcony is the most amazing views imaginable! A fabulous hillscape with blue seas and Turkey just an arm's length away.
We were immediately shown to our room (23), again clean, and very spacious. Although not the most luxurious of accommodation, this is typical Greece and certainly met with expectations and with air con at only €5 a day and a safe at €10 a week, we had all we needed for a comfortable stay. The kitchen is equipped with everything you may need when self-catering and if food was required it could be purchased on site. In addition, George and his girls were more than willing to either take you to his tavern, bring the food to you or for a small charge, €3, take you in to Pythagoria. Drinks could be bought from the bar throughout the day and whilst there was not always someone right there, there was always someone close by to assist you as required.
The pool was clean and well maintained and there was always sunbeds available, the atmosphere was relaxed and just busy enough to create an atmosphere without being too loud. Sunbathing was a joy, the views alone were enough to keep you by the pool all day!
After eight hours sun, there was plenty to do by night, the stunning walk into town is downhill but very manageable. A path cuts thought the most difficult terrain and even those who find walking tricky would be able to manage much of the route. I would say get to the bottom of the path and on to the road before nightfall though as the short walk on the road can be a little hairy in the dark.
The vast number of tavernas in town were all incredible and we did not experience bad service or food in any of those that we tried, in fact, some of the best food that we have ever had was eaten on our holiday.
After dinner, and before cocktails, there are plenty of shops to keep you busy, especially jewellery shops which you can browse at your leisure without being hassled. At the end of your night there is time to grab a croissant from one of the 24/7 bakeries or pick up food for the next day. The mini-markets are open as late as you need them and taxis are freely available and will take you safely home for only €6.
I cannot say enough about how wonderful Santa Catherina and Samos is, from start to finish it was incredible and somewhere I can wholeheartedly recommend to anyone wanting a quiet, beautiful taste of untainted Greece.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nichola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pythagorion hotels
2.1 mi away
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Doryssa Seaside Resort
#3 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anastasia Village Hotel Apartments
1.3 mi away
Hotel Remezzo
Hotel Remezzo
#10 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#16 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.3 mi away
Samaina Hotel
Samaina Hotel
#9 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Polyxeni
Hotel Polyxeni
#13 of 38 in Pythagorion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Catherina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Catherina Hotel

Property: Santa Catherina Hotel
Address: Hill Side of East Pountas | Pythagorio Samos, Pythagorion 831 03, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Pythagorion
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Catherina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Santa Catherina Studios Hotel Pythagorion
Santa Catherina Hotel Samos/Pythagorion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing