We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Year Another Wonderful Holiday at Villa Anna”
Review of Villa Anna Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Anna Studios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just got back from Samos and enjoyed another perfect stay with Anna, Dimitris and Yannis and his new bride Aspa. Room again spotless and Anna andthe lovely maid cleaned it every day except Sunday. Clean sheets and towels changed regularly. Even toilet rolls are provided!
There were brand new air conditioning units this year (rented per stay locally) and ours kept the room at a very comfortable sleeping temperature at night. Yannis was telling us there are more improvements to come for next year, we will definitely be back for trip number 3 to find out more ( all things being equal).

Lots have already talked about the trip to the harbour area, all I can add that it was a very comfortable walk there and back for us. The street is well lit and the pavements most of the way are edged white.

It is, as mentioned by others, close to the airport, but for us the 8 to 10 planes that landed and took off most days were fun to watch and did not detract from the holiday at all.

The week we stayed there were no children staying so the pool area was very quiet and there were more than enough sunbeds every day we were at the pool. Pool was lovely and clean and warm, just the job to cool down as the temperatures were in the low 90'sF (33C + for the younger ones!)The pebbly beach was a short walk we spent some time there too and swam in the crystal clear waters. The snack shack on the beach has gone this year but where we were there was a cafe whose staff also controlled the sunbeds (€5 for a pair per day).

Yannis and Aspa made snacks for the journey home which we found very tasty and for what we had they were cheaper than the airport. A nice touch this year.

See you next year as long as it is available!!

Thanks to all the family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 183 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

I won't discuss the location as other reviewers have mentioned it. All I will say is that the location presented no problems or downside to our enjoyment of our holiday.

The rooms themselves are crisp, clean and very well kept. The newly installed aircon units were fantastic.

Everyone from Anna to the cleaner was friendly and pleasant and I couldn't recommend the accomodation enough.

Room Tip: We had room 16 on the upper level, if you want some shade I would go for a poolside room as they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prosperoproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Lets deal with the location first, yes it is very close to the airport but this was no problem for us there were very few flights each day of our stay and none were at night or early morning. The walk into town can take up to half an hour depending on your level of mobility and fitness. Personally I enjoyed the stroll which is on pavements and with good street lights, there is a bar about half way there and several small bars at the top end of the main road in, should you need a pit stop on the way to the harbour front.
These apartments are extremely well maintained and very clean, we did not hear any noise from the bar which was open from 10:00 pm to midnight. There are only 14 studios and the bar did not seem to attract very many people other than those staying at the studios, it was not a lively night club location, more just a dozen or so holiday makers enjoying a night cap and a few laughs. I would have no hesitation in staying here again if I were to revisit Samos

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which is on the ground floor and away from the bar area it also was cool without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here from 30th May to 13th June in Studio 12. Firstly the complex is spotless, very well kept, the pool area is lovely with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. The studios are equally clean, the maid is wonderful, plenty of nice clean towels and bedding, exceedingly well equipped for Greece with toaster, kettle, coffee maker etc. The two drawbacks we found are the noise and the location. All the studios overlook the pool/bar area - the bar is open during the day, closes at 6pm then re-opens at 10pm till midnight which creates a lot of noise - add this to the VERY noisy road (how the Greeks simply LOVE their two-stroke engines!) and it makes for sleepless nights. We had to have the windows open as it was very hot but the bonus there is that there are mozzie screens to keep out the wee beasties. Also we had the misfortune of concrete mixer at the next door studios going all day, every day for two weeks! The location is also an issue - it is a 20min walk into Pythagorian itself along the very busy main road. It does have a pavement (Greek style!) and street lights but it feels like a long walk when you're hot and/or tired.
Pythagorian itself is great, very beautiful especially at night around the harbour. We had nice meals in Maritsa and the Pegasus (about halfway between town and the apartments - cheap draft beer for when it's really hot!). Also if you love Pizza then Pepinos is really worth a shout theirs are excellent and very reasonable prices too. The bus service is OK, but a little restrictive if you want to stay late in Samos Town - last one back was 5pm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaAnna S, Manager at Villa Anna Studios, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

First of all, thank you for your review. We enjoyed your company for the two weeks. Your issues about noise, as far as we see, are beyond our control. First the cement mixer was based in an adjoining hotel and completely out of our control. We did although, request of the owner to put his workers not to work in anti-social hours, which they did and after a few days this work has finished. As for the 2 stroke engines, although we are set back from the main road (compared to other thomson's apartments) we will request of the local authorities to monitor traffic noise in this area. As about the distance to town, you have to bear in mind that in thomson's brochure and website it is mentioned as "an authentic greek base away from the centre of town". In addition to that, WE are the closest thomson's apartments to town. In other thomson's apartments, the pool bar closes later then midnight, but we consider midnight is a good time for the bar to close most of the time. That depends on the majority of the guests' wishes. I acknowledge your comments. Please say hello to your hubby (G). See you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Firstly a tip for those of you staying overnight at Gatwick the day before you fly and almost certainly therefore flying with Thomson, as this appears to be the only flight going directly to Samos since the Manchester one was stopped. Check your cases in the night before. We did and it was great. Not a single person in front of us at the check in desk. No heavy bags to lug to and from the hotel and the next morning straight to Departure after a lie in compared with those in the massive queue waiting to check in. People we sat next to on the plane who stayed at Gatwick overnight waited 90 minutes in the queue before being called forward as the flight time was approaching and didn’t even have time to buy water on the way to the departure gate.
Arrival at Villa Anna was a little disorganised as we were told we were the 3rd drop off and we were actually the 2nd one and couldn’t understand the driver’s announcement. It takes about 5 minutes from the airport as you are actually overlooking the run way but the rep did not travel with us. No-one was waiting for us so we found our own way down in a group of around 12 to 14 new guests until we were spotted by the owners and welcomed in.
The room was very nice and reasonably well equipped especially as we had no intention of self-catering. There is a modern toaster and a decent kettle. The beds are comfy and there are plenty of pillows. It lacks a bit of storage but not that bad and plenty of coat hangers for a change. The bathroom is fine but it gets very wet during a shower with no curtain but there is a floor towel that does the job and then dries pretty quickly on the balcony. Towels are in good nick and the maid is the best we have ever had on a Greek island. She even dries up if you happen to leave anything on the draining board. Plenty of power points and a very handy mozzie net that pulls down on the patio doors which is much needed when you go in late May early June. We were eaten alive despite every precaution possible apart from eating Marmite that is! Make sure you take sprays and plug ins as well as after bite.
Balconies are fine but you are over looked by neighbours and it lacks privacy especially if you are eating breakfast out there. Yanni the owner’s son is looking at putting up partitions to improve the situation but it won’t be this year. You can watch the planes landing and taking off and that is interesting but not quite so interesting at 6.30 or 7.00 in the morning when the first internal flight arrives! The previous comments don’t mention this much but they are a bit of a pain first thing even if you get used to them. There is also some road noise from the many mopeds and bikes that use the road outside so we often closed the bathroom window and door to improve this, but we are used to total quiet at night and it is not something that should put you off of staying here.
The pool area is fab and much of the time we had it to ourselves despite the place being fully occupied. The pool itself is warm and kept very clean and there are always plenty of beds, chairs and brollies. Food at the pool bar is very good too and not expensive. All the usual choices you would expect cooked fresh and available from 11.00 am to late afternoon.
However there is an unusual twist here not mentioned by other reviewers and that is that the bar closes at 6.00 pm and re-opens at 10.00 pm. Yanni and his lovely wife of only a few weeks, Aspa (short for Aspasia), work hard not only at the bar but also running an accountancy business in any spare time they get, so they close while guests go out to eat and then re-open when they get back. The drinks are cheap with most beers costing just 3 euros and wine the same. They also serve free nuts and crisps much of the evening and there is music on but nothing loud or disturbing. Yanni is a great guy and makes you very welcome with the odd free shot and a good sense of humour, his English is very good as is Aspa’s. They stay open until you are ready for bed.
The walk into town from here is longer than we expected and not for the unfit. My wife had a bad back for the first few days and it took us a good 30 minutes to walk in to town, although this did reduce as she improved and in truth it was a nice stroll in the end which we quite enjoyed. We did however think a taxi was a better option going back later on and at 5 euros worth every Cent. There are loads of places to eat and as has been said by so many before us we did not have a single bad meal. I have reviewed some of them separately but our favourites, in order of preference were Dionysos, on the right hand side towards the top of the main road down to the harbour, Symposium, Casa Di Roma, Irodian, Esperides and Pegasus (only half the walk as this is on the way down town just after the posh hotel on the right). Aphrodite was good as was the place opposite and we also enjoyed Poseidon to the left of the harbour.
The island itself is pretty and Green but the beaches are poor especially compared to Skiathos where we went last year. We hired a car for 2 days and that was enough to see what we wanted to. There are plenty of things to see that we didn’t bother with but ruins and caves are not really our thing. Pythagoria looked like the best of the resorts as far as we are concerned but it is all personal taste of course. The best beach was at Psili Amos.
The local supermarket lacks a lot of choice and Yanni now sells 6 large bottles of water for 3 euros after we suggested it, much better than carrying it in that heat. We preferred to do the majority of our shopping at one of the shops in town on the road down to the harbour after we had eaten, and then take it all back in the taxi, much easier and cheaper.
Overall we had a great time here and would certainly go back. There are faults but they do not outweigh the many good points and the Greeks are as friendly as ever especially Yanni and Aspa who were great hosts. Overall excellent value and well worth a visit in our opinion.

Room Tip: Everyone wants 18 but frankly it doesn't matter much. We preferred the upper floor but downstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank GrandadSouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Villa Anna Studios are a really nice place to stay, ( 3 miles from the airport ) The staff are really friendly and will bend over backwards to help you in anyway they can, and that includes Pasha the cleaner as well. There is a nice pool and a bar with snacks. Thomsons flag the villa's up in Pythagorion but its about a mile out of the town and the bus service is nearly non existent. ( walk 25 mins or taxi )There's a supermarket a short walk away and the beaches are all nearby, Pythagorion is a beautiful village with plenty shops bars and restaurants, and its not swamped with tourist's, The harbour is the prettiest harbour you'll ever see. Please be aware you will not find luxury and immaculately polished villages and towns, but you will find friendly genuine people in real working villages, and you will not be disappointed on your choice of holiday. My holiday was the 9th to the 16th of May 2013 with Thomsons the package for two of us was £600 and I consider the price a bargain. We loved every minute of our break here and will definitely return !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the first week of the season after booking a last min deal with thomsons! A great bargain at £180 for a week

On arrival we were greeted by the owners with a free welcome drink at the bar and given our rooms. I had emailed in advance and requested room 18 as I had read on here it was a good choice and it certainly was! As its on the end you only have one balcony to the left of you so you had a bit more privacy also it got the last of the evening sun! The rooms on the ground floor had access to the pool but didn't get much sun in the evening ! It was nice being able to pick lemons off the tree for ur g&t

The rooms were small and kept perfectly clean ! They were cleaned 3 times during the week. The air con wasn't switched on as it was early in the season but some nights it was warm so could have done with it a tip is to leave the bathroom window open to get a breeze through the room !
The self catering facilities were simple but had all you need !

One tip take some bug killer and mozzie repellent there were loads of bugs all over the island ! I never norm get bitten but had loads!

The owners were soooo friendly and helpful and make these apartments ! The bar was open lots and served Basic food! And the beer was cheap! There is a small reception area with hundreds of books so I wouldn't bother taking any with you as there was a great selection !
The pool area is lovely lots of sun loungers and umbrellas and yes the pool was cold but perfect for cooling down in after sunbathing

The location of the apartments was about 20 min walk to the harbour where the bars and restaurants are its all flat and well lit at night! The airports transfer was about 2 mins and you can see the airport from the balcony! There's only a couple of flights a day and no night flights so this didn't bother us! There's a supermarket 5 mins walk to the left which sold everything u would need.

The only disappointment was the beaches they were very pebbly ! I read on the Internet that samos had lots of sandy beaches well we only found 2 most are pebbles or shingle! The nearest beach is about 10 min walk , if you want a nice sandy beach then you have to go to pisili Amos it's about a 15 drive! Beautiful sand beach

We never had a bad meal all week we took tips from trip advisor and the number 1 we went to twice the food is amazing! We went to a great friendly bar on the marina every night called toms bar free wifi and a nice free shot !

We hired a jeep was €95 for 3 days as it was early in the season we played the company's off one another and we got a great deal!

The weather was perfect about 32 in the day and 23 at night! Sun all week though it rained the day we left yay !

All in all I would definitely return here and highly highly recommend it !

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank selsfield2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pythagorion hotels
0.1 mi away
Evelin Hotel
Evelin Hotel
#7 of 37 in Pythagorion
136 reviews
2.1 mi away
Proteas Blu Resort
Proteas Blu Resort
#2 of 37 in Pythagorion
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 37 in Pythagorion
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Doryssa Seaside Resort
#3 of 37 in Pythagorion
665 reviews
0 mi away
Penelope
Penelope
#16 of 37 in Pythagorion
18 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pythais Hotel
Pythais Hotel
#21 of 37 in Pythagorion
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Anna Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Anna Studios

Address: Pythagorion | Samos, Pythagorion 831 03, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Pythagorion
Price Range: $49 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Anna are family run studio apartments on the island of Samos which lies in the north-eastern Aegean Sea and is regarded as one of the most beautiful, unspoilt Greek islands.Set amidst a lush garden with palm trees and colourful flowers, Villa Anna features a good sized pool with a poolside bar. Its air-conditioned,well-equipped studios open out to private balconies or patios with pool or garden views. Located on the southeast of the island close to the small town of Pythagorion and Potokaki Beach makes it a convenient location with a short transfer from the airport and just a 12 minute walk to shops, bars and restaurants in Pythagorion with its beautiful harbour. Villa Anna in Samos is been recommended by many guests the past few years for the cleanliness, well-accommodated services and helpfulness-kindness of the stuff. Depending on the guests every week it can be a very peaceful resort or a late night attraction. Feel the vibes of Greek welcome-ness and friendliness and get the best out of your holiday with your loved ones, at Villa Anna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Anna Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Anna Studios Hotel Pythagorion
Villa Anna Studios Samos/Pythagorion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing