We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A genuine Greek taverna”
Review of Taverna Maritsa

Taverna Maritsa
Ranked #11 of 64 Restaurants in Pythagorion
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A genuine Greek taverna”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

A fisherman and his family runs this place, which is situated under the trees in an old garden. The specialty is fish and seafood, but they also serve excellent traditional greek cooking. The grill is outside and you can smell souvlaki and calamari roasting. Yum! We visited three times and the food and service were always the best.

PS: It is not on the harbor, but one street up, in Pythagoras Street.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susanneanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    71
    24
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Service a little unpredictable”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We attended this restaurant twice during our two weeks stay this month. On the first occasion we had two mushroom soups which were delicious followed by a mixed grill and a chicken a la crème both these dishes were good and a litre of house red is much cheaper than the harbourside at only 7.60euros. The total bill was 34 euros and good value. The service was a little slow but it was busy, one gripe I did have was waiting a long time to pay the bill and not receiving any change despite a lengthy wait, we decided to leave (I do like to decide what tip to give rather than a waiter decide).
Nevertheless we did return to sample the delicious mushroom soups and a couple of decent main courses and once bitten twice shy.........there was no repeat of the change mistake.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dyble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Family taverna”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was for us a good find. The family were very warm and welcoming even though they were very busy during the evening. We ordered the "dish of the day" which was lamb shank (for me) and bream for my husband. Both were delicious, it was the best shank I have ever eaten you could pull the meat apart with a spoon it was soooo tender.
The fish was fresh, sweet and wonderful. The local wine was to our taste and overall a splendid evening.
The following day we returned at lunchtime, as we were heading to the airport we had our luggage with us, which was no problem for them. Again we both ate the "dish of the day" which was a beef stew served in pot bowl - excellent. Very good value for money compared to many other places in Greece that we had eaten in our 3 weeks of travel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank T3482013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“too expensive for nothing...”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This tavern is very expensive. The food was very good but the service and the prices a big disappointment. You can have the same food in other restaurants in Pythagorio but for much lower prices.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AssManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Our second home”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Here we spent every morning and som evenings. Genuine greek food, moderate prices and a pleasent environment, cool under the roof of leaves. Run by a family, you feel at home.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ingbritt189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Maritsa also viewed

Pythagorion, Samos
 

Been to Taverna Maritsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing