We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Evelin Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
$138
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kouros Bay Hotel(Pythagorion)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anthis Studios(Pythagorion)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Naftilos(Pythagorion)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Samos Sun Hotel(Pythagorion)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Penelope(Pythagorion)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Apollon(Pythagorion)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zefiros Beach Hotel(Pythagorion)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveler rating
73
44
13
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
44
13
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsair condifferent nationalitiessouvlakiminute walkplenty of hot waterfriendly hoteltwo weekslovely pool areaclose to the airportbooked this hotelcar hirealexandrareceptionnoiseislandpavementsunbeds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 136 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

just got back after a week here. The staff were amazing really friendly and helpful, great atmosphere at the pool bar, all different nationalities staying there English,Dutch,Norwegians,Italians just in the week we were there. The rooms were basic but clean,could have done with a toaster in the room and there was only one powerpoint but we managed.There is a decent hairdryer in the room. The food at the hotel is excellent whatever time of day you eat.
We hired a beach buggie for the week cost 235 euros, had an amazing time with it ,went all over the island in it. We also went on a day excursion "the best of samos" had a great time went to about 4 different locations, not too much time on the coach,lunch provided cost 45 euro well worth it. We tried lots of restaurants on the harbour front and they were all good, most have a special displayed on their board so we tried that, worked out well.
Despite being really close to the airport we didnt find it a problem and it really cuts down on tranfer time which is always a bonus.
All in all a really good holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anne_hollands2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

All though not located on the beach (ca 700 meter walk) Evelin offers a great atmosphere for Your holiday. Best staff and beatiful setting.
Must just say a big thank you for making my vacation excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Knut F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hotel Evelin is ideally placed to explore the beautiful, largely unspoiled island of Samos. The hotel is under five minutes transfer from the airport. There's a recommended car hire on site, allowing an easy way to access the whole island. Trips up into the mountain villages of Vourliotes and Manolates, provide an insight into Greek village life, as does the larger but still very traditional village of Kontakeika. The beaches of Lemonakia (stony but beautiful waters and taverna) and Psili Ammos (shallow, sandy, but can get crowded esp. on weekends) are easy to while away a lazy day. Driving is easy and the mountains not too much of a challenge.

Back to the hotel itself. This is a great place for people who enjoy the almost ubiquitous standards of Greek hospitality. Rooms cleaned daily, shower curtain and ''tray'', kettles on demand and anything else you may desire, the excellent staff at Evelin will endeavour to provide. From the extremely efficient and charming Alex on reception and her able deputy on night watch, through to the gang of 3, Anna, George and Betty are amiable, attentive and have an unobtrusive and natural flair for what Brits call ''customer service'', I'd say that all the staff, and the warmth and friendliness off the owners make your day, and ultimately make your holiday.

The nearby (3km) village of Chora/Hora also boasts a fabulous, traditional tavern Adonis. Up a side street, an appetite inducing walk, or 8 Euro taxi ride from Evelin, it's a great night out.

Pythagorio itself boasts excellent food, shops, mature therefore laid back cocktail bars, shops, post office, ATMs, jewellers, bakers, fish restaurants and traditional travernas with an international mix of travellers. While Evelin is a 25min easy stroll to town, if like me, you enjoy a ''sundowner'' before dinner, 10 Euros will get you to town and back effortlessly. Alternatively, have an extra hour on the balcony and enjoy the very acceptable food and friendly atmosphere at Evelin. This is a location which allows you to be as gregarious or insular as you chose, and is what I probably loved, and still love about Greece a quarter of a centuary on.

If there is a downside, it's flight availability (Gatwick\ Thompson only for packages) but as Scottish/ Cumbria travellers, we happily stuck an extra day on at either end of the holiday, and as the saying goes ''we're worth it!'' Please go to Samos and enjoy it all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank andrea w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have just had a wonderful week at the Evelin. The hotel is fairly simple but has everything you need, clean rooms with optional air conditioning, a pool with sunbeds, a poolside bar and restaurant that provides a good breakfast and simple Greek meals and snacks and last but not least outstanding staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them Anna, George and Betty always welcome you with a smile at the bar and Aexandra is so helpful at reception. My partner left her bag in a bar in town we were about to make the 25 minute walk back but Alexandra insisted on ringing the bar to ensure it was kept safely for us so that we could collect the following morning.
The hotel is about a 25 minute walk from the town and 15 minutes from the beach, there is a supermarket 150 metres away and next door is a very good cheap car hire. The Harbour and the Archaeological Museum are must see in the town as is the Eupalinus tunnel

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were able to pick up a last minute deal with Thomson's for seven nights at the Evelin Hotel. Though we would have preferred to be in Pythagorio proper, we had stayed at the nearby Villa Anna last June so knew that the 20 to 25 minute walk down to the harbour was tolerable for a week.
On arrival we received a warm welcome from the very friendly owners and were given an upstairs room at the back of the hotel. It had a good balcony with a (distant) sea view. Everything in the room worked properly and it was kept spotlessly clean due to being cleaned every day. Despite some comments to the contrary, we had no problems with noise from the nearby airport, and as we were at the rear of the hotel, sounds from the road were minimal. Mosquito’s didn't give us a problem though we did take precautions.
Since one of the reasons for our visit was to see friends that we'd made over the years on previous trips to Samos, we didn't spend as much time in the Evelin as it perhaps deserved.
We enjoyed breakfasts at the bar by the pool a couple of times, but spent our days and evenings elsewhere, so can't comment further. But judging from the reactions of our fellow guests, everyone seemed to have had a good time. Once again, I can't speak highly enough about the friendliness of both the owners and staff!
I was tempted to mark it down from 5 stars to 4 because of the distance between the hotel and Pythagorio itself but wouldn't be that unkind - though it can be quite a trek back late at night! Taxis are available near the harbour, but according to the locals, Greece's economic problems seem to have passed taxi drivers by because they'd recently raised their fares by 50%...
Finally, why do hotels like the Evelin need your support? Firstly, the main complaint we heard from our friends while we were there, was about the rise of "all inclusive" hotel resorts on Samos - though why anyone would wish to visit Greece and stay in "the compound" is totally beyond me. Secondly, the people of Greece need your support and are genuinely pleased to see visitors returning year after year. Finally, Thomson have already cut out their Manchester flight, they now have only one hard put upon rep for their 10 (?) properties on the island and I suspect they may be tempted to pull out of Pythagorio or even Samos completely – let’s hope not.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DaveE6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews