We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Proteas Blu Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Proteas Blu Resort
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Pythagorion
Certificate of Excellence
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Level Contributor
191 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“This is lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

To celebrate our first wedding anniversary, we decided to go to Samos. On this site we read that we should book room 300 (because very spacious with a very big terrace). When we entered the hotel, we got a refresment (= a non-alcoholic cocktail) and the staff at reception was very friendly. We asked if the suites were already available. The first was nearly finished and we asked if we could visit it. So we compaired room # 300 and the suite (with private pool). Room # 300 was old and had to be renovated. The hotel is renovating bit by bit all the rooms. And afterwards we had a look at the suite. We immediately fell in love with it, but they said it was not finished yet. So we proposed a deal: we named a price and asked if they would accept it and they did. So while we were enjoying our lunch, they prepared and finished the suite. This was really a stay never to forget! Everybody was so friendly and helpful, but not too pushy. They are upgrading the hotel to a full 5* hotel and they are succeeding. The manager is half Belgian/half Greek and we had a very good contact with him.
I would really recommed this hotel!

Room Tip: The suite with private pool is so good, but the renovated rooms are splendid as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBResort, Guest Relations Manager at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear MichB,

First of all we would like to congratulate you on your first wedding anniversary and wish you till your Diamond Celebration.

Thank you for selecting our Resort to be a part of this special moment in your lives.

We appreciate your fondness of our Front Office and Reservations Manager Alain and will convey your lovely comments to him on your behalf.

Should you visit us again in the future, you will have the opportunity to see the finished product of our rennovation project. This is a very exciting time for Proteas and we are glad you were a part of it as the first to enjoy our new suites.

We wish you a safe and happy summer.
Sea you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    126
    32
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
334
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently spent a week at Proteas Blu celebrating our silver wedding anniversary. When we arrived we found that we had been upgraded to our own suite with a dip pool and had been left a bottle of bubbly on ice and a plate of Greek delicacies. It was a great start to our holiday. The room had views across to Turkey and close to the swimming pool and hot tub. The only drawback was the walk up the hill every morning to the restaurant for breakfast. You could request a lift from the golf buggies to the top if you wished. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The Panaromic restaurant had wonderful views across to Turkey. There was plenty of food to choose from for breakfast and it was always well presented and fresh. I would not recommend walking into Pythagorio as local taxis only cost 5Euro. There were plenty of sun beds around the pool and private beach with no one leaving their towels on the beds and going out for the morning/afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBResort, Guest Relations Manager at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Irene,

Thank you for selecting Proteas Blu to celebrate your Silver anniversary.

It is truly a joy to see such a lovely review of our Resort and especially for such a special moment in your lives.

A wish of love and happiness from our staff and management and we hope your Gold anniversary is just as wonderful.

Sea you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terre haute, IN
Level Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This beautiful resort in Pythagorea has everything the resort seeker could ask for. The pool area is beautiful, with plenty of seagrass recliners, overlooking the Sea. The private beach is also well appointed, with lots of beach recliners and umbrellas. Several bars and restaurants ( although we ate in town most nights) beautiful breakfast area. The staff was not overly friendly, but the stay was pleasant nonetheless.

Room Tip: choose a bungalow if available. They have amazing sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susiespy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBResort, Guest Relations Manager at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Suziespy,

We here at Proteas Blu would like to thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to your holiday with us.

From your review we can see that you visited our restaurants and bars and we hope you enjoyed those too.

We do our best to provide professional service to the standard our guests would expect within the resort. For this reason we ask our staff to be attentive to all guests' needs, but also discreet and respectful of their privacy and peace.

Your feedback is valued and appreciated as it helps fellow travellers get an idea of our premises and hospitality. It is a pleasure to know we have provided the kind of holiday you were looking forward to.

It would be great to have you back again some time in the future.

Till then we wish you a warm and sunny summer.

Sea you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
131 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

this is an amazingly beautiful resort on the island of Samos Greece in the city of Pythagorio, the rooms are spacious but the beds could be bigger for added comfort, the secluded beach is well stocked with lounges and shady umbrellas, the pool and deck area are large and clean with plenty of places to lounge around all day, it is a steep climb from the beach to the dining room so be prepared, the free breakfasts include many options and the yougurt is to die for, however, given the current economy in Greece most places on this island have much cheaper prices for food than the resort so best to go off site for dinner

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 201pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBResort, Guest Relations Manager at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear 201pilot,

Thank you for your lovely feedback and for selecting our Resort as your holiday getaway.

We are glad you mentioned our rooms as it gives us the opportunity to let it be known, that Proteas Blu has been under a major rennovation since 2010. We began with our Adam and Eve Spa and our Beach and beach bar Cavo Pountes, continuing with our two gorgeous a la carte restaurants P2 Theory and Θαλαsea, and our Swimming pool face lift !!

This year we built 8 beautiful suites, fully equipped including a personal pool for each. Our Bungalows are next ,before we move to the main building. Our project takes place during the winter so as not to disturb the serene holidays we aim to provide our guests.

We do hope you visit us again in the future just to see the transformation. We are very excited !!

Thank you again for your review. It is much appreciated.

Wishing you a wonderful remainder to the summer.
Sea you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just got back from a 2 week holiday at Proteas Blu Resort.
This hotel is excellent with spectacular views wherever you are in the hotel.
The hotel is kept spotlessly clean, staff are attentive, food is excellent both breakfast and evening meals.
Lovely pool and pool area, and 2 private beaches with a very relaxing beach bar.
For those less able/walking difficulties both pool and beach are at the bottom of a very steep hill, nevertheless the hotel provides buggy transport both up and down should you require.
One thing lacking in this hotel was the absence of a mini market, where one could buy papers, toiletries etc. We had to go into Pythagorian to stock up.
We really enjoyed our holiday and Samos and the Proteas Blu lived up to our expectations

Room Tip: All rooms have spectacular views. Imagine the ones in the front near the pool and beach would be les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gilly1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBResort, Guest Relations Manager at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Gilly1205,

Thank you for visiting us at Proteas Blu.

It was a joy to read such a wonderful review as your experience, is an example of the experience we wish all our guests to have.

We here at the Resort do our very best to provide the perfect accomodation and service to our visitors, from the beginning of their holiday to the end and aim to improve constantly, to ensure we acheive just that.

It was lovely of you to mention our service standards and it pleases us to see you enjoyed our Panorama international restaurant, and you took advantage of our buggy service.

We hope you visit us again in the future.

Till then please accept our wishes for a safe and happy summer.

Sea you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

One's first sight of the hotel is one of awe with views across blue waters and islands in the distance. However one is also aware of the steepness of the site. The reception areas were spacious and clean but quite empty for the most part. Washrooms in public areas varied from good to no locks on doors and some not closing at all but all extremely clean.

The service offered by the staff was just what one would expect with a 5* rating....prompt and courteous. Buggies were on hand with willing staff to ferry you up and down the site or like us you could hire a car and use this on site as well as explore the island.
The pool is the resort's major asset with gorgeous comfy beds (with enough room for 4 people) set around the large pool on 3 sides and woven sunbeds on the other. With more shade in the area this would be my idea of heaven. Steps leading into the pool would make for an easier and more elegant way of entering/exiting the water. The jacuzzi was not available until 3 days before we left.
With great views across the bay to Turkey we enjoyed lunch at the pool restaurant on one occasion but otherwise we shopped at the local supermarket in Pythogorio and made our own sandwiches. The beach bar served a large selection of cocktails but went untested by us. A lovely place to sit and while away an afternoon or chill out after dinner.

We felt that some areas were not ready for the season with drapes not installed on the sundbeds although they may have been taken or blown down after a storm a few days prior to our arrival. The gardens were generally well maintained with just a few areas looking a bit neglected.

The breakfast menu is huge and there is something for everyone's taste; excellent. The food in the International Restaurant was buffet style but not enough simple grilled meats and fish which would have been appreciated. The main desserts tended to disappear early apart from the little sweet desserts and the icecream. No replacements for the larger gateaux which was strange as they were the most popular. The staff were great although language occasionally a barrier to requests. Dinner costs 25.50 euros which for me was rather expensive as I only eat one course. The à la carte restaurant was rarely used by anyone. The menu was quite uninspiring. The Greek night was good with a trio playing Greek music throughout the evening. For the fit there are dancing classes in the morning and you can dance along to the music during or after dinner in the evening. As we were on a B&B basis we chose to eat out 3 evenings. We would recommend 'Symposium' and 'Marista', just off the main street in Pythogorio.

The day before we left another storm hit the beach and sunbeds and several brollies were washed from their positions and the walkway to the pontoon was severely damaged. Guests arriving on theThursday would surely have felt that the beach was a bit of a let down. All in all the hotel is good, especially the service, but we got a good deal on price. I'm not sure that I would want to pay what is advertised as the 'full' price.

For the young and active the hotel and the island of Samos is a chance to experience Greek island life in a quiet and less commercial atmosphere than you would find on more popular islands....but don't tell everyone or it may change.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms maybe better than the bungalow rooms and more convenient for meals and use of the spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenfingers40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBResort, Guest Relations Manager at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Greenfingers40,

We would like to thank you for your lovely review. It is our aim here at Proteas Blu to provide our guests with as much comfort and serenity as possible and we consider the quietness of the premises a plus. It is a pleasure to know you have also enjoyed this.

You are correct in regards to the storm damage on the beach. Unfortunately the month of May was quite unstable weather wise and created a fair few problems to our outside areas. Its a shame you missed out on the completed look during the warmer months.

We would really appreciate more feedback on our a la Carte menu as you mentioned it wasn't inspiring. Our guests suggestions are sought after as we always look for any improvements that can make the resort even better. Your suggestions in regards to the pool and buffet have been noted.

From the mention of the steepness of the hill and regarding your tip at the end for convenient access to dinner, it comes to our understanding you did not use our Proteas blu buggy service.
This is most unfortunate as we do understand it can be a difficult walk up and have 2 buggies on the premises to transport our guests up and down the hill. Please take advantage of this service should you visit us again.

Thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our pool area. This area is newly rennovated and we wanted to provide a large relaxing chaise long lounge around it so the majority of our guests enjoy the surroundings.

Please be assured your wonderful feedback on our staffs' service will be passed on to our staff.

Your review overall was a pleasure to read. It would be great to have you visit us again some time in the future.

Till then we wish you a safe summer.

Sea you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel is beautiful. The staff are absolutely amazing. The pool and its bar/restaurant is stunning. The beach and beach bar are delightful.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and that was fine. Breakfast was ok. I couldn't quite figure out why the omelette chef seemed to disappear at peak times every morning but that didn't affect me so it was nothing more than an observation. Lunch at the pool bar was good - and in a delightful setting. the evening offerings weren't quite as inspiring. We ate in the al a carte restaurant once: it was ok but didn't bother again. One glance at the Panorama restaurant was enough - we aren't big on self service for dinner. We enjoyed the 20 minute stroll into Pythagoria in the evening to sample local restaurants so the hotel food wasn't a problem.

However, there were a couple of very obvious oversights. The gardens around the pool bar were just weeds: why when the gardens everywhere else were well cared for? There was no shower curtain or glass panel so no matter how careful we were the floor got wet - and slippery. I know, I slipped and fell. No damage done but it could have been serious.

One final comment. There were some cats and kittens around the hotel: not many but they weren't neutered. They were popular with guests so why doesn't the hotel get them neutered to keep numbers down in future? So simple and everyone, including the cats, would be happy.

Would I recommend this hotel? Yes, very definitely. It's so very nearly perfect.

Room Tip: All the rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamarTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBResort, Guest Relations Manager at Proteas Blu Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Tamartiger,

We would like to thank you for selecting our Resort for your holiday destination and appreciate all your lovely comments and suggestions.

Upon reading your review we thought it necessary to address the issues you have mentioned, as we find all feedback from our guests very valuable.

It is unfortunate you weren't as pleased with your cullinary experience at our gourmet restaurant ,as other guests have been. Was there something you would have prefferred that may have provided you with a better experience? We constantly renew our menus to provide our guests with a variety of flavours so we appreciate all suggestions.

In regards to the weeds around the pool area, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have two onsite gardeners that maintain the resort premises and have not had issues in the past so if our pool area was missed we apologise for this as we try to ensure all outside areas are as beautiful as our guests would expect them to be.

We avoid having curtains and glass panels in the bathroom for aesthetic reasons however, our housekeeping staff lays floor towels on the bathroom floor daily to avoid any accidents. We are not happy to hear you slipped.

Our little mascots here are the family of cats. We like them and our guests often like to play with them and give them a little snack. A Greek island without its cats really is missing something so we let them be and enjoy their natural life. There is a team on the island that nurtures kittens twice a year to keep numbers down although we do prefer nature in its own course.

Once again we would like to thank you for all your lovely comments and are glad your overall stay was a pleasent one and you enjoyed the island. It would be great to have you visit our Resort again.

Till then we would like to wish you a safe and happy summer.
Sea you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pythagorion
1.9 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Doryssa Seaside Resort
#3 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
8.1 mi away
Armonia Bay Hotel
Armonia Bay Hotel
#1 of 21 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Princessa Riviera Resort
Princessa Riviera Resort
#8 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
16.4 mi away
Samaina Inn Hotel
Samaina Inn Hotel
#1 of 9 in Karlovasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Proteas Blu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proteas Blu Resort

Property: Proteas Blu Resort
Address: Pountes | Samos I North Aegean, Pythagorion 831 03, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Pythagorion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pythagorion
#2 Family Hotel in Pythagorion
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pythagorion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Proteas Blu Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique environment to enjoy in magnificent scenery Laid back and experience stress free holidays. Proteas Blu Resort in a tranquility atmosphere shows character and inspires a sense of familiarity. After the warm welcome sense the friendliness of the people. Feel comfortable within "Proteas family" while taking part in numerous activities or by chilling and resting your mind. Accommodation facilities are wonderful and the food is superb. In PB you will have quality time...Actually the time will be all yours. Proteas Blu Resort is the most finest and luxurious beach front resort on the Island of Samos. Guest's accommodations looking to the sea are spread out on Mediterranean landscaped terraces situated on a naturally secluded bay having two private beaches. The unique architectural personality, the elegant accommodation and the tranquil setting offers majestic views of the blue marine seas surrounding the Aegean Islands and the Anatolian coasts. Together with the highly personalized and eminently friendly service satisfies the needs of the most distinguished traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Proteas Blu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Proteas Blu Hotel Pythagorion
Hotel Proteas Bay
Proteas Blu Resort Samos/Pythagorion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing